We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic atmosphere”
Review of The Black Swan

The Black Swan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are a traditional English Pub in Henley-in-Arden which serves good value for money meals in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Our aim is to maintain a traditional pub atmosphere supplemented by home cooked traditional pub food together with a selection of daily specials at reasonable prices. We also offer a good selection of beers and cask ales and wines. On a nice day sit outside on our patio area or in our riverside beer garden. We have a separate bar area which can be used for functions such as birthday parties, christenings, retirement parties, meetings or any other event for approx. 30 - 40 People. There is no extra charge for the room if food is ordered from one of our buffet menus. So next time you are passing through Henley in Arden on the way to Stratford-upon-Avon pop in and say hello. We are the first pub on the left as you come from Birmingham and the M40/M42 motorway and the last pub on the right if coming from Stratford upon Avon or Warwick.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were in the area for T20 finals day this weekend. Staying nearby we ventured in to Henley and came across the Black Swan. I believe the landlady is new to the pub, but what a first impression her and her excellent staff made. We stayed for some time and enjoyed the karaoke and the banter with the locals. A real treat to find a pub that has not been "gastrofied", where drinkers feel they can enjoy an evening without worrying anybody. We wish the couple well in the venture and we will be visiting next year on finals weekend for sure (so long as the pink shirted ones are still welcome) ‍♂️
Top marks- keep up the good work

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank giles732016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 199 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2019 via mobile

Went here for a drink and some food on a Friday night only to be told once we had arrived that they would not be serving food. Had to go somewhere else. Dated bar with heavy type music. Ok if you like that sort of thing.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Donk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2019

Seems a nice pub, with its own good size carpark. Their website says food served from 6pm - 9pm,as does their sign as you enter the pub. However when we asked for a menu at 6pm (having already bought drinks as we waited for 6pm),we were told they were not serving food.
So may be worth checking before you go if you definitely want to order food. Otherwise it is still a nice quiet pub for a drink.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Shell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2019

the food was excellent even though i would have loved a bit more all the food was delicious and freshly prepared . the service was excellent .
in terms of ambience ,it was a little informal with people at the bar to close for comfort but then again it is an old pub.
i would definitely go back but not sit next to the bar. gets a high recommendation from me

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2019 via mobile

Came for Sunday lunch and had a carvery. We were treated to a free starter and hot bread rolls. The food was absolutely perfect and locally sourced. There was no fat on any meat that they served. The vegetables were perfect and fresh.
The management even watched our baby for us when we went up for food
Great car park too.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Brummieboxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Swan also viewed

Henley in Arden, Warwickshire
Henley in Arden, Warwickshire
 
Lowsonford, Henley in Arden
Henley in Arden, Warwickshire
 
Henley in Arden, Warwickshire
Welford on Avon, Stratford-upon-Avon
 

Been to The Black Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing