We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house in a lovely village”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxury Hot Tub Full Size Snooker Table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
44 reviews
Luxury Hot Tub
Full Size Snooker Table
Stunning Dining Room
Wonderful Gardens
Large Drawing Room
4 Poster King Size Suite
Luxury King Size Suite
Farm House Kitchen
Reception Room
Gallery Landing
Twin Bedroom
Ashleigh House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
12 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 25
Henley in Arden, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sparkle19...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely house in a lovely village”
Reviewed May 1, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I booked Ashley House for an 18th birthday and extended family get together. Wasn't disappointed. This house is massive - you can't tell how big from the pictures. Our groups age ranged from 1 year old to 70 and it suited everyone. We had to keep an extra eye on little ones on the stairs but I doubt a safety gate wide enough for the stairs exists. Other than that we had no problems with security or safety. Decor was ok and house was very clean. Was really surprised at how well stocked the kitchen is - you name it, it was there. Walk to the village is around 30 mins at a steady pace. Only thing that let us down was the weather. Although a little pricey it was a special occasion and well worth pushing the boat out! Thanks to Antonia and the staff

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianewA82...
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“NOT Narnia….BUT….you could perhaps find a Lion a Witch and a Wardrobe”
Reviewed January 11, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Charming BIG ole house. Had the pleasure of celebrating with all my family in one place and believe me that’s not easy. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfy. The bathrooms were plenty and the facilities fit for our purpose. There was enough room so everyone could do their own thing and also sit and break bread and wine together. (so to speak)

This is a Marvellous Character House,Lovely views throughout. If I wanted to write a book and collect ideas, this is the place to do it. The children were fascinated by all the different places they could hide and it did remind you of the house in The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe. Yes it could do with a little update in some areas, but as reiterated by other reviewers, who wants to go somewhere with the kids where your frightened of touching anything.

if you want a 5* hotel with mod-cons and room service plus NO character then perhaps your not right for the house.

Its a well weathered house with a friendly vibe and a relaxed atmosphere and we couldn’t have wanted more, but if we did, we felt safe in the hands of the management if need be.

I do hope we get the opportunity to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrissyd0...
Shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mrs ”
Reviewed January 10, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Wow!!!! Just spent the weekend end here with our whole family for a 90th birthday celebration.
Firstly I have read the reviews on here regarding the security and safety and I can say we had no problems what so ever ! Security was fantastic everything worked, safety we had in excess of 20 people in this house from 2-90 and we had no issues whatsoever !

People have complained about the decor and stated that things need updating, in my opinion the this is not a brand new house or the ritz and has large groups of people staying here on a regular basis so of course things are going to get worn and broken but we were there to spend time altogether as a family not inspect the decor of the house and furnishings, that said I loved the house, rooms were spacious, beautifully arranged and really clean.
There was everything we needed from utensils, pots and pans to 3 cookers lots of fridge and freezer space and glasses galore!
Having a table large enough for us all to sit down to eat together was an extra special treat!
The snooker room was constantly in use as was the piano room!

Bedrooms were all made up and really comfortable, with plenty of them!
The lounge was spacious enough for big groups of us to sit together and even have a little dance.....
Gardens and views are beautiful although wasted on us as it was too cold to sit out for lengthy periods but it didn't stop us using the Hot Tub! Lovely touch!!!

Hide and seek was great we lost the children for hours !!!!
Little things like snacks left for the guests and some beautiful flowers from the owner for the birthday girl really made our stay here more enjoyable!

All in all by far the best weekend we have had together in a long time, wouldn't hesitate recommending this place for a family get together, function etc... Great value for money would love to go back In the summer!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola B
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great party house for large groups”
Reviewed December 20, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

House is a good size, with 11 bedrooms. It was perfect for our large group of mixed ages. Decor and furnishings are a little shabby, but it has everything you need and lots of space. Snooker table and hot tub are fun extras. Henley in Arden is a lovely village, with a few good pubs. Only problem we had was a really disgusting smell in the kitchen for the first day of our break; we couldn't find the cause, but on the 2nd day, it completely disappeared - possibly caused by damp when the house has been left empty?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and location
Liked least: Smell in the kitchen!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerryleeF...
fladbury
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed August 15, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Ashleigh House with a large group of friends on a stag weekend, very specious and finished to a high standard, snooker room was a brilliant addition to the weekend and complete with a hot tub!!! What more could you ask for ?

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brummiest...
birmingham england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Huge house. Perfect for parties”
Reviewed July 29, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We had a stag party of 15 stay for the weekend, and we all found the house to be exactly what we were looking for. Some of the other reviews complain of the fit and finish of the house, if you are comparing to a chic 5star hotel, then fair enough. If you're being picky, maybe the sofas are starting to look a little tired, and you have to use a 2nd white ball as a pink on the snooker table,... But if you want a large, functional house that you can actually relax in, without worrying about every little thing being damaged, this is the house for you.
Very well sound proofed, so some people could comfortably go to bed early without being disturbed by the party.
Excellent location, with the house being self catering, you're only ever 2 mins away from Henley high st. So plenty of shops, pubs, restaurants nearby.
Huge garden, we found it perfect to have a little kick around with a football.

All of our group would highly recommend Ashleigh house, and the staff at Shakespeare holidays are incredibly helpful...nothing is too much trouble for them.
Will definitely use again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inhappy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ashleigh House, Henley-in-Arden - Family celebration”
Reviewed July 17, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
5
people found this review helpful

My sister and I booked Ashleigh House in Henley-in-Arden, Warwickshire for a family celebration for July 2015. Following a poor review on Trip Advisor we were somewhat concerned regarding the safety of the property but decided to find out for ourselves on a forthcoming inspection visit. We found the adverse comments made by the previous reviewer to be well-founded.
We were told that the electrical 'tripping' was a regular occurrence and 'only to be expected with a house of this size' !
The fire escape was very dangerous with one tread broken which would be extremely hazardous in the event of a fire. We also found that one of the internal staircases had been blocked off from the public making emergency exiting even more difficult and hazardous.
Our concerns were not taken seriously by the Manager and we received no reassurance that these safety issues would be investigated and attended to. We felt that we had no option but to cancel our booking. Our deposit was eventually returned to us following our informing the Manager of our intention to go to the Small Claims Court.
We feel potential visitors should be made aware of these safety issues.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing