We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in nicely warm decor”
Review of Matricardis - CLOSED

Matricardis
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
559 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
“Good food in nicely warm decor”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Ate here on a Monday night pretty early in the evening – the pub area to the front was busy the restaurant at the back was just us – so not a great atmosphere. Décor-wise though it is really nice, I liked the rich red tiles around the bar area and the wallpaper was pretty cool. The lights dim for atmosphere but seems they are on the blink as they did randomly increase and decrease in light at times.

The service was friendly and efficient while the food was good. The menu is very large which made me worry about the quality, but it was still good – we had pasta dishes and they were warming and filling without losing their taste in the way some heavier dishes can.

On a busy night it must be very nice indeed. The prices are a little high for some dishes but generally it was good value for money. I’d like to visit when it is busier but for my visit it was pretty good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bob_the_moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    47
    16
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Birthday celebration”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I visited matricardis for the first time on sat 28/09 ... I'd heard a lot about the place , and booked , 3 weeks prior to the event as we were a table of 8 to celebrate a birthday. ..... What can I say apart from the fact at least 4 of the party were looking forward to a nice steak , to be told " we don't have any steak " and then when we decided to order the wine , "sorry we've run out of Sauvignon blanc " ......, what kind of restaurant is this !!!!! One run on a budget obviously !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juneberry123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception Extraviganza!!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our wonderful friends had their wedding reception, both day and evening, at this restaurant and what a perfect choice! The front of the restaurant is a very inviting bar/coffee area and through a corridor is where the magic happens! There is another bar and main restaurant area that sat 60 guests as well as the bridal party. The French doors open onto a large garden with tables and chairs which was wonderful considering how hot the day was. The wonderful, hard working staff worked constantly serving drinks making sure everybody had what was needed!
And then the food arrived. OMG! The bride and grooms choice of chicken, beef wellington or fish and chips was remarkable! You could tell everybody was thinking the same by the expressions on peoples faces as they were eating. Don't get me started on desserts! Heaven with a spoon!
Tables were cleared away after speeches ready for the DJ and the 'drinking of champagne and dancing on tables' to begin (literally!)
Due to licensing laws anybody sitting outside at 11pm had to move indoors but this only made for more people dancing (on tables) and having an amazing time.
Superb venue for a wedding. Cannot wait to go there for a meal again!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tilly123cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Better than most of the local quality restaurants”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We are fortunate to have a number of good quality restaurants in our locality, but Matricadis is a notch up the scale.
It is unusual in that you walk into what seems like a normal -albiet posh pub bar, but then a long corridor leads you down to the restaurant and the rear garden area, complete with seating and shades.
The menu is just that little bit different but not in an eye brow raising way. A good atmosphere, reasonable prices and excellent service round off the experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeBaronRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect afternoon tea”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Perfect cuppa with warm Danish beautifully presented with a drizzle of raspberry coulis. Bliss on a wet and miserable afternoon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matricardis also viewed

Henley in Arden, Warwickshire
Henley in Arden, Warwickshire
 
Henley in Arden, Warwickshire
Henley in Arden, Warwickshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing