We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem”
Review of The Curry Republic

The Curry Republic
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A new Indian restaurant in Henley
Solihull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Curry Republic has the best Indian food in the Solihull area and is consistently very good. The menu offers a wide variety of dishes. The staff are very friendly and helpful and are always willing to discuss the menu options in detail and offer their advice. The poppadoms are always very fresh and I recommend the Junglee salad if you like hot and spicy food. We eat at Curry Republic 3-4 times a week and have taken friends and family and the food has always been fabulous. They have Cobra on draught and a good selection of wines. The restaurant is small so making a reservation would be advisable at weekends.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    37
    9
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I went to The Curry Republic on 27th Sep (2nd visit this month) and was really impressed. Points to highlight..........the staff are very attentive and friendly, food quality and presentation is very high, cleanliness good, wide choice of food, beer on draught rather than overpriced bottles, open plan kitchen on full view. I'd say the service was probably the best I've experienced for some time so well done. Even the chef came out to meet the customers at the end of the evening - a nice friendly touch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JCG67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“curry as I like it”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

A group of 7 went to this fab little curry house in Henley.
There is limited seating so booking is always a good idea - in fact on this occasion 2 of our party were believed to not be coming so we reduced our numbers. When they turned up the staff had to seat them elsewhere initially but after the starters, managed to re-arrange the seating so we could all be together.
The service is always excellent and considerate and the food is wonderful and very reasonably priced. Cosy, warm, fun, friendly and excellent food - what more can a person want?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saxyannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“No better no worse than the average”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Starting with the service, when we went the restaurant was quiet but soon started filling, it is not very big so 25 people would pack the place out. The waiters are very attentive and polite and we had some good conversations, the meals came in good time and was well presented.

The food was piping hot on hot plates and serving bowls, but that is where the standard fell, the food was a little bland and could have done with more salt and pepper to bring out the flavours. My wife was uninspired earning a 4/10 because of the food and 7/10 from me as I was impressed with the service and presentation.

Worth a visit and I suppose it depends what you have, the Seekh Kebabs were much larger than normal and felt handmade, although bland in taste. The Jalfrezi had some really, really hot chillies be warned, which overpowered the bland tasting dish! The lamb biryani was nice but the vegetable curry side was tiny.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MKHappyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Thoroughly enjoy the food as we order the "home cooked" meal which is ordered the day before, excellent value for money and very tasty food. Staff very friendly and accommodating

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lenmead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Curry Republic also viewed

Henley in Arden, Warwickshire
Henley in Arden, Warwickshire
 
Henley in Arden, Warwickshire
Henley in Arden, Warwickshire
 
Henley in Arden, Warwickshire
Henley in Arden, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Curry Republic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing