We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal central location for Stratford and Birmingham”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Henley in Arden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Henley in Arden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The White Swan was a great find in Henley in Arden, full of character, and everything was excellent, the room, the staff, the food it was really nice. We would definately use the hotel again when we are down in that part of the country.

Room Tip: An ideal locality, with lots of interesting places to visit within 20 miles. The room was clean and...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for The White Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 160 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

How do you follow a stunning exhibition of Henry Moore and August Rodin sculpture at Compton Verney (highly recommended, by the way)? Well the idea was to pop into Henley-in-Arden for a light lunch. The White Swan Hotel & Restaurant seemed to fit the bill with a modern, homely styling welcoming you inside this 16th Century coaching inn.

We were able to have just a starter in the restaurant, rather than at the bar and we opted for an asparagus and goat’s cheese salad and the baked camembert, both accompanied by a cheeky glass of red. The other diners around us were full on with their Sunday roasts (which include locally sourced beef and lamb). Not only was the food delicious but the staff were friendly and hospitable. Being a Sunday lunchtime, their Tapas menu wasn’t available, but it looked as if that would be the excuse to return.

Intrigued by the fact that parts of the White Swan date back 600 years, after lunch we asked if we could see the hotel rooms. We were shown 3 of the 8 bedrooms, all of which have been recently refurbished and all tastefully decorated, balancing the traditional quirkiness of the old building with a soft colour palette and modern day lifestyle.

Suitably impressed, we promised to return another day to sample the Tapas and headed off to our overnight destination about 10 miles down the road. Arriving there we were unimpressed with what was on offer and, having made our excuses, hurried back to The White Swan, arranging a room on route.

On arrival we were warmly welcomed (again), and shown up to The Diamond Suite. As 16th century buildings go, this room is more than spacious and comfortable. Even the en-suite bathroom is larger than most hotel rooms, with a free-standing traditional bath (yes, just like the Flake TV ad)and a large shower enclosure, all set in a House & Garden background of ceramic tiles.

I’d love to say that we spent the late afternoon strolling around Henley-in-Arden, but it was chucking it down outside, so we settled in to watch Paul Newman and Steve McQueen in that 1970s classic, The Towering Inferno – seeing how many of the actors we could name (OJ Simpson, Fred Astair, Faye Dunanway, Robert Wagner – seemed like a cast of 100s). We ventured out for a meal on Sunday evening and Henley-in-Arden has a good choice of cuisines to offer, all within a minute or so walk of the Hotel.

A peaceful night’s sleep on a very comfy bed at The White Swan was followed by a hearty breakfast – with a choice of full English or something lighter. Managers Nigel and Maria were both on hand when we checked out and both keen to check that our stay had fulfilled our expectations, and it had.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonboylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I love the beautiful small town of Henley in Arden. The White Swan was an amazing hotel. We were checked in late but were none the less given a warm welcome and beautiful rooms that I would say have just been completely refurbished with a beautiful modern bathroom. After a lovely breakfast the manager offered to give us a little tour of the hotel and gave us some of the history. We thought that the staff was very warm and friendly. We would recommend this hotel, and we would definitely return. The free parking is always a plus.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed walking around the whole town, which is just beautiful.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shallbru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We booked here to stay as we decided to have a night without the kids! When we checked in we were shown to our room, and we were asked if we had been told that we had to be in by midnight when we booked, my hubby and I exchanged glances and laughed but then realised she was serious! She then told us that if we asked 'permission' from the manager we may be allowed out a little bit later -but as we were in Henley everywhere would be closed by then anyway. We went up the Black Swan that evening, they had live entertainment on and it was great fun, the manager told us that the bar there closed at 11.50pm I therefore had to ring the White Swan and ask if we could stay out until 12.30, to be fair they agreed but made it clear that we shouldn't be any later than that, I felt like a child and it was very humiliating.

I do have to say that out room was lovely and breakfast was great and the staff we met were helpful and friendly, lets face it they don't make the rules they are just charged with enforcing them!- if you don't intend on staying out late its a perfect place to stay, but next time we go to Henley we'll stay at The Best Western up the road!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 71SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Called in for lunch here on Saturday. Busy , so not many tables available and had to sit near door. Could hear other diners saying how cold it was. When table became free round other side moved - even colder! Food took ages to come - no apology. Pork chops I had were swimming in mustardy greasy sauce. Mentioned several times to staff it was cold - they made no response. Didn't think it was worth commenting about food. Won't be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank boothyuk72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is a recently renovated pub/hotel which has a "local" feel to it. We stayed just one night in the Diamond Suite. A friendly welcome from the managers before being shown to our traditionally furnished room with a large, very modern bathroom which had the "wow" factor. We didn't eat at the restaurant but used the bar which has young friendly staff and a lively atmosphere with a great selection of beers on tap.Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and was excellent. One comment - we would have liked an easy chair in the room. Free parking. Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yarrow1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I recently stayed here whilst on a business conference and was excited when looking at the website. Upon arrival, I was very impressed by the look of the pub and the suite I stayed in was beautiful. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was out of this world. Unfortunately, the people let this pub/ hotel down. They were downright extremely rude and unfriendly. It should also be noted that this hotel has a curfew... In your rooms by midnight or a charge of £10 per hour is incurred. Guests are not provided with a front door key so you are effectively locked in until breakfast! Upon asking if I could purchase a bottle of wine to enjoy in my room after midnight, I was told no because I'd spill it in the recently refurbished room and was further insulted by being advised they weren't a b&b in Blackpool. Very unreasonable in view of the hot drink making facilities in my room (ie: surely people are just as capable of spilling coffee.)
The breakfast was lovely- full English cooked to perfection however it came served with sour faces from the people running this place. Would not stay here again - manners and a smile cost nothing.

Visited January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MichelleandSteve831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henley in Arden
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Henley Hotel
Best Western Plus Henley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Henley in Arden
312 reviews
7.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,774 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ardencote
Ardencote
#1 of 1 in Claverdon
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,102 reviews
5.8 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,136 reviews
3.3 mi away
Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Address: 100 High Street, Henley in Arden B95 5BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Henley in Arden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Henley in Arden
Price Range: $101 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th Century, listed coaching inn in Henley-in-Arden at the heart of Shakespeare country. Six bedrooms and two Suites all tastefully refurbished in 2012. Free WiFi and a full English Breakfast is included in the price for a bed and breakfast stay. Our bar serves local ales and finest wines. Full lunch menu 12-3pm. Tapas available in the evening Mon-Sat 6-9pm. Sunday Lunch 12-3pm. For a great dining experience book STONEAGED Restaurant at The White Swan, offering stone baked pizza, stone bowl pasta and amazing lava stone steaks, Mon-Sat 6-9pm. Group bookings and functions catered for. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Henley In Arden, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing