We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hosts!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Henley in Arden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Henley in Arden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

What a lovely establishment. We stayed here one night, in the Diamond Suite. This is a two room suite, one of the rooms being a large bathroom with claw foot bath. OK there is a bit of traffic noise as the suite is at the front of the pub on a busy-ish road, but the bed is so comfortable we were out like a light. You can't do much about traffic noise in a listed building - and what a beautiful building! The owners have made a great job of tastefully renovating this place. A good range of ales is complemented by the most wonderful tapas we have ever eaten. We arrived just as the chef was leaving but he nevertheless made us knocked us up some tapas. Our check-in was a little confusing due to some computer glitch - but it was soon sorted out. The breakfast the next morning was really delicious. This is where we met one of the owners who was very friendly and told us some of the interesting history of the pub/hotel. We loved the taps from the night before so much that we had booked lunch the following day - but we sadly had to cancel the lunch booking as we were still full from breakfast! All in all a really nice stay, highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you are a very light sleeper perhaps request a room off the main road. Or drink a few of the exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swedensm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 161 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

Turned up here at midday hoping for a sandwich. Looked averagely busy and walked past the chef looking pretty relaxed having a smoke by the back door. Got to the bar, tried to order a sandwich and a pint, only to be told "no food unless you have booked a table". Can't believe they couldn't have managed it, we were in the beer garden with the dog so weren't taking up any room in the half filled pub....poor customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Snaptravel-767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a lovely old building with plenty of character. The bar area is great with comfortable chairs and a real fire. The bedroom was big enough and comfortable apart from it being far too hot ( and no radiators were on), plus the toilet seat was broken, as was the toilet seat in two other rooms that friends were staying in. In the bedroom there was a restaurant menu with 2 courses for £13.95 and 3 courses for £19.95. There was plenty of choice and we were looking forward to our meal. When we went down for our dinner we were presented with 3 flimsy sheets of paper with bar meals, light bites and tapas. On asking for the proper menu we were told that was not in use anymore and was left in the rooms by mistake. We were really disappointed as the choice we were left with was soup for starters or nothing! I didn't want bangers and mash or a snack. There was a pie of the day, which was pork and I don't eat pork, although I could have had a choice of two other pork dishes! It was such a waste to have a lovely dining room and serving the same food as in the bar. We ended up with fish and chips, which was very good, but not a gourmet meal. For pudding we had two scoops of ice cream, which were so small we thought there was some mistake. On the second night we were dining with a group ( of strangers) and were expected to sit on a communal table. We refused to do this, and when confronted with the sheets of paper again found that the soup was - surprise, surprise, the same as the night before, and the pie of the day was, yes, pork!! The food on the second night was poor, I am sure it was because we were in a group, and the service was patronising. The following morning we went in for breakfast and sat at a table, only to be shepherded to the communal one! My friend ordered scrambled eggs, which she left as they were under cooked, as did everyone else who ordered them. I asked for sliced bread for my toast, and not the doorsteps we were given the day before, and the woman serving in the restaurant came over and rather aggressively said she would have to go to the shops for sliced bread and did I really want that!! I felt I had wandered into Fawlty Towers.

Room Tip: Be aware there is no lift and many stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DaphneYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have stayed in some top class hotels all over the midlands; mainly resort and spa hotels. We decided to stay in Henley-in-Arden. That's to all fellow reviewers for leading us to the White Swan. We had a lovely room (17), nice and cosy, the bar was right up our street, plenty on conversation, friendly locals, attentive staff (never had to wait for service even though the bar was packed). The restaurant again was again spot on. Well laid out; modern, cosy, with a good atmosphere. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs tell the reservations staff when you book. This hotel dates from 13...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonbill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Haven't stayed, but we've had a couple of really nice meals. I love the Thai curry. A big thumbs up to stocking Purity Ale as well. If you get a chance go when Shampoo are playing. They are almost a house band and always have a great gig.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Oj98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel a few years back and enjoyed it immensely. We've just come back from a trip into the Cotswolds and decided to pop into The White Swan for a drink on the way back. Lovely pub. Cosy with a truly great selection of real ales. A pleasure to return.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Marchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Four of us attended an event at this hotel and were pleasantly surprised of how friendly the owners and staff were, after reading some previous reviews!!
The hotel is a mixture of old and new and is really comfortable. The food is good and the owners laid on a lavish spread for the evening buffet -delicious.
The rooms were clean and the bathrooms were huge,
Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: It's a small village, so the road isn't noisy, so it doesn't matter where you sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sucgr_epsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henley in Arden
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Henley Hotel
Best Western Plus Henley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Henley in Arden
315 reviews
7.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,819 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ardencote
Ardencote
#1 of 1 in Claverdon
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,118 reviews
5.8 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,154 reviews
3.3 mi away
Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Address: 100 High Street, Henley in Arden B95 5BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Henley in Arden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Henley in Arden
Price Range: $99 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th Century, listed coaching inn in Henley-in-Arden at the heart of Shakespeare country. Six bedrooms and two Suites all tastefully refurbished in 2012. Free WiFi and a full English Breakfast is included in the price for a bed and breakfast stay. Our bar serves local ales and finest wines. Full lunch menu 12-3pm. Tapas available in the evening Mon-Sat 6-9pm. Sunday Lunch 12-3pm. For a great dining experience book STONEAGED Restaurant at The White Swan, offering stone baked pizza, stone bowl pasta and amazing lava stone steaks, Mon-Sat 6-9pm. Group bookings and functions catered for. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Henley In Arden, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing