We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and traditional with very good food”

The Fox and Hounds Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Fox and Hounds pub is listed as a hotel but not as a restaurant. As it only has three rooms and the food is wonderful.
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Cozy and traditional with very good food”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I took my better half to the Fox and Hounds for her birthday in late November.

I’ve typically got mixed feelings about the Cotswolds; despite living in one of the most expensive boroughs in London (Richmond), there are times when parts of the area feel just a bit too “OK YA” and posh caps in red corduroys for me. Close your eyes in some Cotswold pubs, listen to the voices, and you’d be forgiven for thinking you were in an upmarket Chelsea watering hole.

It was a big relief to discover that this was anything but one of those places. This is a pretty village blessed with a wholly unpretentious and genuinely friendly pub that has ‘traditional and charming’ down to a tee.

Our room for the night was a very good size and really reasonable money. Food was excellent – a big thanks to the chef for switching the menu from de-facto veggie option, risotto, and producing a truly excellent Thai veggie curry for the birthday girl. My steak and chips was also very good (and I’ve eaten a lot of that stuff!).

The evening only got better when we noticed Hartley. Who? Hartley - a very handsome Rex rabbit owned by a friendly local. He (Hartley that is) spent the entire evening sitting on the bar eating peanuts in such a relaxed manner that anyone would think a rabbit sitting nonchalantly on the bar of a busy pub is the most normal thing in the world. Apparently, he’s a regular. Given that our menagerie includes five rescue rabbits, you can imagine how chuffed we were.

Overall, the whole evening was one of those cosy, log fire, low lighting, good food and a great atmosphere nights when everything feels just right and, with a few drinks blurring out the usual boring considerations (e.g. how would we get to work?), you find yourself wondering if you really ought to up-sticks and move there tomorrow.

We left the next day, after a very good breakfast, with nothing but good things to say about the Fox and Hounds, its staff, the locals and, of course, Hartley.

Highly recommended.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nibbs1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    14
    0
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“One of the Best Meals in 2013 Set in a Typical Old English Tavern”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Had eaten a small taster meal earlier in year that was exceptionally good.
Decided to visit again I spend a lot of my time travelling and my home in S/France so I do appreciate great food cooked by great Chefs. This Pub has both (Also a really friendly & welcoming team)
The meal was truly fantastic and the best duck I have had this year. It was complimented by superb mash potatoes with bacon & spring onions and 2 veg that tasted incredibly.
What a great Chef and what great local produce. I always find it difficult to recommend a restaurant but this is one not to miss.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank golfer1157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old Country pub at its very best”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Last night we had a delicious evening meal in this delightful old pub, the atmosphere is perfect, busy and bubbling with friendly people - it doesnt get any better. Excellent menu with choices for everyone. Lamb tangine was better than in Morocco, lemon sole was to die for - an enormous fish cooked in lemon butter and the menfolk had partridge which was the best they had ever had - can thoroughly recommend the puds too - service was first class attentive and thoughtful - we will definately be back here again, just sad we hadnt been before !!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tavistock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
1 review
“Fantastic country pub with superb food”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Went there yesterday as halfway between us and parents-in law. Charming village pub. Landlady was so welcoming (tapas on bar to greet everyone). Her partner is the chef. Had the best roast pork I have ever tasted and that is saying something! Divine puddings. Bar full of local characters to liven up the atmosphere. Landlady said if we wanted a particular roast to call a few days before next visit and they would arrange it. All meat sourced locally and fresh homegrown vegetables. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, classic English village pub”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Had Sunday lunch at the Fox and Hounds and enjoyed it more than the Tripadvisor reviews had prepared us for! The eclectic menu allowed our group to choose from chilli with homemade tortilla chips, sea trout, peppered venison and rare roast sirloin of beef: no one was complaining! My venison medallions were in an aubergine, pine nuts and honey reduction, and the two were delicious together. Desserts featured a wicked chocolate pudding with marmalade ice cream, Eton Mess and a great homemade Bakewell Tart. Service was good, friendly but unhurried. Overall, the meal set a standard for other pubs to try to reach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkExton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox and Hounds Inn also viewed

Todenham, Cotswolds
Alveston, Stratford-upon-Avon
 
Alveston, Stratford-upon-Avon
Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon
 
Welford on Avon, Stratford-upon-Avon
Loxley, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Fox and Hounds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing