We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
Review of Dun Cow

Dun Cow
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in Dunchurch
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Dun Cow in Dunchurch is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Service is slow, ineffective and ignorant. Went for a quick meal and even though the restaurant area was fairly empty... Staff weren't doing anything or engaging with customers, we had to approach them to actually get a seat which is bizarre in a seated restaurant. Food is overpriced and had many items which weren't available.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    216
    189
    139
    97
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Visted on a Sunday evening. Not to busy. Menu was small and limited. Service was slow and lacked experience/training. Sent a side portion of onion rings back as they were greasy burnt and small. Overall just an average experience nothing special.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Smithy0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice one”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

An early evening meal was enjoyed by my partner and I. The food was good. Service was pleasant but I asked the waiter to get me a pint of bitter, it wasn't the best but that was my fault for not specifying one in particular. I would recommend this establishment

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCFISHER13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This pub/restaurant has a wonderful atmosphere the food is excellent there is only one drawback that there are not enough bar staff at busy times and food can mean a it of a wait which is a shame

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JLF1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vast improvement”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have been using the Dun Cow for a number of years now and have always had a positive experience . Until last year when we had an absolutely awful experience , mainly because the manager did not know how to handle a legitimate complaint .
We ventured back there last Friday and we could not believe the difference , what a difference a manager makes . We had a great experience from start to finish , the staff were friendly and attentive , the new manager was great and the food was excellent . Needless to say , we will be back ..

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dun Cow also viewed

 
Rugby, Warwickshire
Rugby, Warwickshire
 
Rugby, Warwickshire
Rugby, Warwickshire
 

Been to Dun Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing