We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Dunchurch B&B and Inns
Eccleshall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stay here sometimes asour offices are close by. As a brand, Innkeepers Lodge do a good job of giving you the right things in the right way. In other words, if you stay in one of their pubs you know what you will get. Reasonably good food, good beer and very comfortable rooms. The Dun Cow is no exception as a pub and is always busy. The staff try and make residents feel welcome although as an almost regular, they could acknowledge that you have been a few times before. To be honest though, the breakfast does leave a little to be desired with tired pastries and limited choices on the continental options. That said, I have not experienced the cooked breakfast so need to reserve judgement. Great location in Dunchurch and well worth staying.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but some face the main road cross roads
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesNMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    51
    39
    15
    15
See reviews for
35
49
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights 9 & 10 April, having stayed there a couple of years ago. We were given the best room (10) but is was not suitable for my wife who has arthritis. The steps up and down to the bathroom did not have handrails. We then noticed that there was clothing in the room. Reception confirmed that the room had already been let and we were given Kestrels (3), which we had used before. The room was warm, with plenty of room, however the decor was tired. I had pre-ordered a table, so no problem this time in getting a meal. Service was slow. I had the rump steak, which was quite tough to eat. My wife had salmon, which was on a greasy base of beans. We didn't eat there on the second night. The complimentary breakfasts were the usual, but food was not replaced very quickly. Only half of the toaster worked and another guest said that on the previous day someone had burnt their toast, which has caused the toaster to malfunction.
Not up to the usual standard of inns.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmet999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upmin, Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at the Dun Cow through a last minute booking direct with the Inn Keepers Lodge site and we had a fabulous stay! Not only were the staff friendly and helpful but the building itself was rather unique. It had quirky corridors and rooms which, on a very cold few days in April, were all kept warm and cosy. The restaurant and bar areas were kept clean and very cosy again with no less than three open fires from 9 in the morning. Our room was cleaned and fresh towels left each day. The food was good, reasonably priced and we didn't feel the need to go elsewhere. We spent each day out visiting the local area, including Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwick, Daventry(all worth a half a days visit), Weedon Bec (a lovely village and canal walk with a great pub, The Kins Head, at a lock) to mention a few. All in all we would highly recommend the Dun Cow (we will be going back) for its staff and atmosphere, and its position in Warwickshire to visit some lovely places.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leggster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked a table for 8pm. Eventually seated at 9pm. Service was very slow. We had 2 courses and finished deserts just before 11pm. Over priced low quality food. Eton Mess priced at £5+ consisted of squirty cream, half a frozen strawberry and cheap meringue nests. Lamb Shank Pie was nice but consisted of about 5 pieces of lamb and a couple of spoons of mash served with garden peas. At £13+ not good value at all. Very disappointed and wont be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dunchurch hotels

Surrey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful and our room was very clean and above average size. Also, if you are lucky enough to get to eat in the restaurant you will not be disappointed. We, my husband and young daughter, stayed here as we were going to the Camping and Caravan show at the NEC. I will certainly stay again as I would like to explore the local area - the village has an interesting history. Look out for the adorable cat perched on the bench out front.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theoangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed here last weekend it was freezing cold in the room with no heating radiators on in corridor but not room got in the shower which was luke warm and found no shower gel in dispenser wouldn't stay there again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonboy748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a couple of nights whilst working in the area paying £62 b&b. Having read some of the other reviews, I have to agree with most of them.
The food in the bar is very good and reasonably priced, the rooms are adequate and as expected for the rate. Service is very slow with rarely more than one person actively serving on the bar. The breakfast included is poor, cold coffee, cereal, tinned fruit and some bread to toast.
The bathroom doorway in my room was very low, i'm 6'1" and nearly knocked myself out in the middle of the night!
I'd stay again because it offers what I need - free parking, free wifi, comfortable room and all at a good rate for the local area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsnsjone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunchurch
0.3 mi away
Dunchurch Park
Dunchurch Park
#1 of 2 in Dunchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
4.1 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#8 of 13 in Rugby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rugby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Rugby North (Newbold) Hotel
5.3 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
#1 of 1 in Easenhall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge
Address: | The Dun Cow, The Green, Dunchurch, Rugby CV22 6NJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby > Dunchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dunchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for some country village charm, this attractive lodge has it by the bucket-load. Offering some of the most welcoming accommodation in Warwickshire, it's a beautiful place to sit back and relax. It's also an ideal base for visiting Coventry and Leamington Spa.The lodge has 16 comfy en-suite rooms and a cosy pub with a crackling log-fire. So you're in just the right spot to tuck into heart-warming, seasonal food and well-kept cask ales.With its village green, stocks and historic features, Dunchurch has a fascinating heritage - mainly due it being an important staging post for hundreds of years. Notable visitors include Guy Fawkes, Princess Victoria, the poet Longfellow, the highwayman Dick Turpin and Winston Churchill.Now a designated conservation area, it's close to several popular attractions. Lose yourself in Coombe Country Park, take a tour of the famous Rugby school - birthplace of the eponymous game - or explore the 10 managed acres of Ryton Organic Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing