We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely fantastic”
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Dunchurch B&B and Inns
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

myself,partner,sister and brother in law stayed here for 2 nights recently as we were attending a family wedding.our room was a good size facing the front,it had tea and coffee facilities,decent size bathroom and was clean and had character,the staff were friendly and there was plenty of choice of the buffet breakfast.we did have an evening meal there which i found a bit pricey for what it was but enjoyed it.it's in the centre of the village of dunchurch which is extremely pretty,lots of cottages with thatched roofs.i would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhian29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    53
    40
    15
    15
See reviews for
36
49
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moliets et Maa
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Have recently stayed at this hotel and enjoyed good food and lovely spacious bedroom. Staff were very friendly and there was an adequate choice on the buffet breakfast. Hotel situated in the centre of Dunchurch, which is a beautiful country village, very quaint, with thatched roofs etc. Saw the black and white house where Guy Fawkes is believed to have plotted his scheme to blow up the Houses of Parliament. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

It's a Mitchells and Butlers' "Innkeeper's Lodge".
http://www.mbplc.com/ourbrands/

An attractive former coaching inn with a large car park at a traffic light junction in the attractive and historical village of Dunchurch, near and south of Rugby.
We chose it because it was an overnight stop on a route between Lancashire and NE Essex/Suffolk..
Easily found from leaving junction 1 of the M6 even after negotiating Rugby.

Very busy with people eating, drinking at the bar(where else?) and waiting for service.
There is a signed booking-in hatch at the little office room next to the kitchen area access.
We did have to wait with luggage until one of the waiting staff got another member of waiting staff to sign us in.
Rather impersonal and production of debit card.
No welcome and just asked if we were eating in.
Some managerial hotelier non-waiting presence would be usual in hospitality trained staff.

Our room was spacious and comfortable.
IKL used to have armchairs in rooms until recently, but they disappeared with the toiletries so bring all that wash stuff.
Towelling was adequate.

The en-suite shower was walk-in and very effective..
There is no ventilation in that WC/shower room and the one sash window does not open.
It is painted shut.
Yes, there are safety constraints, but it would help. Odours and steam?

The bedroom has secondary glazing, but we wanted fresh air so left the sash window partially open. Yes, this one opened.
Despite being at a junction on the Daventry road, traffic was light in the early hours and we slept soundly in a comfortable bed.

Minor niggles.
Excellent TV did not receive any BBC channels until the following morning.. Transmitter or premises' antenna connections?
The free Cloud WiFi could not access the internet most of our short visit.
Connectivity remains a Cloud issue. Luckily this was not essential to us.

Breakfast was, thankfully, typical of the better IKL "inns" and proper coffee dispensers. Cooked breakfast options at a price.

Very good room at a very reasonable price.
If only we had been aware of IKL bargain offers a day later which were even cheaper.
We cancelled our dinner reservation in pique and ate in another better place in the village.
The very busy and large eating area is the local draw.
Industrial catering and great value.

Finally and of national significance, there is a wall-mounted reference in the bar to the fact that Guy Gibson, VC, knew the Dun Cow, when visiting his brother who lived nearby.
We still mourn RAF Bomber Command aircrew losses.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Like a lot of other reviews, this establishment was the best for meals, all home cooked. The only problem is that most of the staff was young teenagers who don't really care if your there or not. It's not often we had a pudding but on one occasion we thought why not so we ordered and waited, and waited and waited, still no pudding so we went to pay and leave not a question of sorry, r well there loss, we won't be back. Shame such a shame to let such a nice place go like this

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I went for lunch yesterday with my sister and mum.
I ordered drinks at the bar while they went to find a table and immediately noticed that the customer side of the bar (particularly under the edge) was dirty and sticky.
When I joined my mum and sister at the table, that too was dirty and sticky.
So was the menu.
We left without finishing our drinks.
I intended to send a message to the management this morning but they don't publish an email address.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dunchurch hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

A pretty average roadside hotel that looks quite nice from the outside. Standard interior to the pub and dining area coated with the usual palette of neutral satin paints. Decent range of well looked after real ales. Its very busy and you are always waiting for the staff, be it at the bar, checking in or ordering food. Passable rooms with all the facilities you can expect at the price, and a rather good shower. Bed a bit uncomfortable, why I never worked out, but I think it was the rigid pillows. In need of a bit of TLC and maintenance, with loose fittings and bumps and scrapes on the walls. Food is the standard Mitchells & Butlers offering, pretty much what you would expect to find on any pub menu up and down the land. The star was the French Onion Soup, which was rich, hearty and satisfying. The problem though was the inefficient staff - you waited to be seated, wait to give an order, with for the food, wait for the bill and wait to pay. We got very fed up! I'd stay there again, but if it was busy, I'd probably eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph_Warrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Northants
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed here after a friends wedding in Dunchurch. The room we were given was generous in size (room 2), however the location of the room was bad. It was right next to the traffic lights junction on the main road through the village so the traffic noise was horrendous. The continental breakfast had a good selection of cereals, fruits, pastries etc but the staff were less than enthusiastic!

Cannot comment on the pub food as we did not eat there besides breakfast.

Overall, for a budget stay it served its purpose but this is not somewhere I would stay for a holiday or nice weekend away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilmisspurple86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunchurch
0.3 mi away
Dunchurch Park
Dunchurch Park
#1 of 2 in Dunchurch
525 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Dunchurch
Travelodge Rugby Dunchurch
#1 of 1 in Thurlaston
74 reviews
1.7 mi away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#6 of 13 in Rugby
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Central
2.9 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#11 of 13 in Rugby
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge
Address: | The Dun Cow, The Green, Dunchurch, Rugby CV22 6NJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby > Dunchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dunchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for some country village charm, this attractive lodge has it by the bucket-load. Offering some of the most welcoming accommodation in Warwickshire, it's a beautiful place to sit back and relax. It's also an ideal base for visiting Coventry and Leamington Spa.The lodge has 16 comfy en-suite rooms and a cosy pub with a crackling log-fire. So you're in just the right spot to tuck into heart-warming, seasonal food and well-kept cask ales.With its village green, stocks and historic features, Dunchurch has a fascinating heritage - mainly due it being an important staging post for hundreds of years. Notable visitors include Guy Fawkes, Princess Victoria, the poet Longfellow, the highwayman Dick Turpin and Winston Churchill.Now a designated conservation area, it's close to several popular attractions. Lose yourself in Coombe Country Park, take a tour of the famous Rugby school - birthplace of the eponymous game - or explore the 10 managed acres of Ryton Organic Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing