We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but nice”
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Dunchurch B&B and Inns
Norwich
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quirky but nice”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Don't expect level floors or immaculate paintwork, this is an old inn and it shows. I stayed at this Inn on the Jubilee Sunday when the restaurante and rooms were full to capacity. However we found the staff all very efficient and smilie, even at the end of such a busy day. We had room 1 which is very large, I could imagine it being quite cold in the winter. Lots of stairs and corridors to negotiate so perhaps not suitable for very elderly or disabled.The curtains could do with renewing but the shower room was nice, bright and clean, no obvious heating in the bathroom but maybe they have underfloor heating, certainly would need it later in the year. The TV was great and you are able to get free WiFi. We ate in the busy restaurante, good pub food, quickly prepared and nicely served so no complaints at all. However the continental breakfast was a little tired.Dunchurch is a charming town and we would have liked to have had the time to explore further.

Room Tip: Room 1 was large and good for a couple, although this is obviously for a family as there is a sofa b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    52
    39
    15
    15
See reviews for
36
49
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Checked into this hotel for a wedding near by. The pub / b&b is full of potential with a good menu and lovely surroundings. This is a place with an old world feel.

The room was nice enough with two small single beds, television and coffee facilities. The bathroom was gigantic but spoiled by the fact they filled it with a tiny bath and a tiny shower. There was no facilities for soap in the bath and the room was very cold even though it was summer. However the bed was comfortable and I slept well.

The food at lunch was decent and the service was very cheerful although they might want to have more staff on as it was busy. I ordered a prawn cocktail and calamari for my main as two starters and it was very tasty. They had an offer for free pimms online which we took advantage of.

Breakfast was poor as there was no-one to take our English cooked option for ages and when we approach someone they told us "they don't do breakfast". Our friends waited and eventually managed to get an order in but we made do with the continental and to be fair this was included in the price. The breakfast menu is everywhere in the room but no where in the restaurant.

Overall I would say the experience was average but it could be so much better. If you had to pin me down I would say if was the staff who appear to be very focused on each other but laid back in terms of customer service. You don't feel special but maybe that's the feel they are going for. Easily resolved if they wanted to with a "bye bye" or a "how was your stay ?" question.The only person to say bye bye to us was a customer.

Hope the feedback is useful , you have potentially a great place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I don't get why the Dun Cow is so popular for diners....

The food is the part-cooked and frozen type that you expect at a Harvester or Taybarns. Not fresh. But the prices don't reflect this.

The food is also cold. Not helped by the fact that the waiting staff walk around with it for ages trying to find the table that ordered it.

The service is appallingly slow - maybe this is why is always seems so busy? Every time I am there I always hear someone complaining to the staff about the wait. I only drink there nowadays.

The gents toilets are a disgrace. They say to judge a restaurant by the state of the toilets and if the Dun Cow toilets are any reflection of the kitchen, then Health and Safety should be called straight away. Dirty, smelly, broken....

The Dun Cow is a lovely building in a lovely village. Inside it has a good ambience and the drink prices are OK. They are trading on this and the fact that 'going to the Dun Cow' is perceived as a bit of a treat. Total let-down when you get there. What do they say about the restaurant trade - repeat business is everything.

It's such a shame that they fail so badly with the food offer. At some point enough people will simply stop going there to eat, like myself. The tipping point will be reached and the downward spiral will begin, if it already hasn't. So take this review as a shot across the bows Dun Cow and sort yourselves out....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulnkerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dunchurch hotels

Warwickshire
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Went for meal on Wednesday 28th March - had to wait ages for service even though table was booked, some of the vegetables were cold, and them had to wait for the bill ! Will not be going back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilloutWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
174 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We got an amazing deal and so I have to post an amazing outcome. We have stayed here before and paid 3 times as much as we did this time and may not (then) have posted a 5 star review??
But the hotel is definitely quirky.
It is several hundreds of years old.
The floors are warped.
The floorboards creak (So I was noted when I went for a wee in the night lol)
But the place has so much character, and the staff are so helpful that
I have to post a five star review ok?
The pillows were hard, but an amazing big screen TV.
An inclusive continental breakfast - Again maybe not the best, but for the money
it was OUTSTANDING value.
The meal in the evening was pub grub at its best (seperate review)
Thank you Dun Cow.
We will see if can repeat the offer?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Booked a table for 6 plus two 3 year olds for 12.30pm on Christmas Day.Waitress agreed our order at 12.35pm but we then waited 40 minutes for our starters to arrive. I know it was Christmas Day but this is totally unacceptable.I have eaten here many times and whilst the food is good it is always the same with service and it is about time the Manager got a grip of the problem because he is certain to loose business if this situation continues.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigal141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We were looking forward to our meal at the Dun Cow as it advertises and presents well. When we arrived, the restaurant was almost full, but we managed to secure a table. The menu offered a wide choice, at reasonable prices. However, on approaching the bar to order drinks, we found the bar was manned by only one harassed young lass who was both taking meal orders, together with taking and obtaining drinks orders, slowly, from a line up of patrons. There were other staff wandering around clearing tables, and delivering meals, but no one seemed to bother helping out the young lass. After waiting for some time, and observing how long it took to serve only one customer, we gave up.
So, unfortunately, we decided to give The Dun Cow a miss if this is what their service is like, and we found just across the road a great little pub, The Green Man, see forthcoming review.
However, we will return to the Dun Cow to give it another try, it may have just been an "off" day.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunchurch
0.3 mi away
Dunchurch Park
Dunchurch Park
#1 of 2 in Dunchurch
522 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Dunchurch
Travelodge Rugby Dunchurch
#1 of 1 in Thurlaston
67 reviews
1.7 mi away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#6 of 13 in Rugby
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#8 of 13 in Rugby
209 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge
Address: | The Dun Cow, The Green, Dunchurch, Rugby CV22 6NJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby > Dunchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dunchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for some country village charm, this attractive lodge has it by the bucket-load. Offering some of the most welcoming accommodation in Warwickshire, it's a beautiful place to sit back and relax. It's also an ideal base for visiting Coventry and Leamington Spa.The lodge has 16 comfy en-suite rooms and a cosy pub with a crackling log-fire. So you're in just the right spot to tuck into heart-warming, seasonal food and well-kept cask ales.With its village green, stocks and historic features, Dunchurch has a fascinating heritage - mainly due it being an important staging post for hundreds of years. Notable visitors include Guy Fawkes, Princess Victoria, the poet Longfellow, the highwayman Dick Turpin and Winston Churchill.Now a designated conservation area, it's close to several popular attractions. Lose yourself in Coombe Country Park, take a tour of the famous Rugby school - birthplace of the eponymous game - or explore the 10 managed acres of Ryton Organic Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing