We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rubbish Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlecote
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rubbish Stay”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed at the Charlcote for a 4 day break with Shearings Holidays. Room was a little out-house separate from the main hotel area. The bedroom carpet was very grubby and loads of dust and cobwebs. The food was very disappointing, small portions and very little choice. Swimming Pool looked like it had not been used for a few years. Pool table out of order. No entertainment in the evenings except for a quiz night on Thursday. Greeted by a member of staff on arrival, but no one bothered to see us off.

Room Tip: Stay in Bay hotel not a coast and country
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddo e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Charlecote Pheasant, you were indeed welcomed by Densie the Deputy Maanger on your arrival and Indeed both She and I were on Duty all Week and never once did you raise any concerns with either of us or any other member of the team. The Pool table in the games room was awaitng a part tofor the coin box hence it being out of order. There is no Entertainment at our hotel however at selected Coast and Country Hotels they do have some enteertainment on selected evenings. I would suggest that our Bay Hotels collection would more suit your requirements. regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    278
    117
    48
    35
See reviews for
110
474
28
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Visited 18 Oct, checked in and went to room, public areas soiled, and looked unkept. The room had bits all over the floor, and all surfaces were coved in dust. We were shown 2 other rooms, both were no better.
Staff accepted the rooms were not up to standard. At this point we decided to leave and requested our money back. One note in its favour was the helpfulness of the staff. This hotel is in need of a total refurb.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterI786NX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
With regards to your review which you have posted in reply I would like to point out The first room you were not happy with we immediately offered another room again you were not happy stating it was dusty and grubby, The Duty Manager upgraded you to another room which you were still not happy with, and we even sent the Head Housekeeper and Duty Manager to speak with you, at this point you wanted a full refund, We gladly organised this for you, and found you an alternative Hotel, at substantially higher price, the cost of 1 nights stay was the cost of your weekend stay with us. We have spent substantial amounts in investment in the hotel and your comments, on needing a total refurb are unfounded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

the hotel staff were remarkable the accommodation tip top shame about the food not very palatable and why served in soup bowls?i have only given three stars as food is so important on holiday.Perhaps even a piano player could lighten up the evenings a bit just a little bit dull for us but must say the staff made up for all the moans

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roamer666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay t the Charlecote Pheasant, and I shall certainly make sure that the staff are aware of your comments. I am sorry that you did not find the "food Palatable" and shall investigate your comments with the Head Chef. Regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Have just spent a four night, self drive stay at this hotel. Imust say that I am ingeneral agreement with some of the previous reports regarding the qality of the food. With a little effort, it could be a lot better. Why does everything have to be served in soup plates? As to the organisation in the dining room, the supervisor really needs to learn the meaning of delegation. On at least two occasions during our stay, when going for Dinner at the pre-booked time, we were told that we would have to satnd and wait whilst he checked if he had enough tables for everyone, then proceeded to start relaying previously used tables whilst unoccupied waiting staff looked on.

However. in my opinion the greatest ommission as far as this hotel is concerned is, that it is not made clear in any brochure or internet description, that all of the bedrooms are in seperate blocks with no covered connection to the main block which houses the reception, bar and restaurant. We were fortunate that we did not have any rain at meal times during our stay,but one of the other guests put it nicely when they said they wouldn't like to be there in the winter when there could be snow on the ground. Another aspect of this arrangement was brought home to us when, on finishing dinner one evening and making our way to the main block to return to our room in the old farm house, an elderly lady followed us out asking if we minded her tagging along as she was on her own and it was rather dark. The foll;owing day I did a quick check and found at least four entrances into the hotel grounds. These may have been covered by CCTV but on dark nights these things do not work all that well.

Despite these comments, we enjoyed our stay and would return if the reports concerning food quality improved.

Bibeca

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bibeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay here, at The Charlecote Pheasant.With regards to your comments of having to stand and wait till a table became available, I shall look in to this ? the whole reason of booking a time for dinner is to prevent this.We are indeed a mini complex made up of several buildings which are separate from the main building. Our guest's safety is paramount and all walkways and outside areas have LED floodlights All CCTV cameras covering the outside work perfectly in the daytime and evening. Regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with friends for 4 nights in October - most impressed with the room, first floor at the rear of the "new block" - views over the tennis court and the gardens beyond - nice and quiet, only the birds to break the silence! The room was a good size with a nice bathroom (shower over the bath) - comfy bed and LOTS of storage - the flat screen TV was an unexpected bonus. All to a good standard (compared with other Shearings Hotels we have used) and very clean.
The Bar / Restaurant was quite comfortable and nicely presented - tables well spaced out and nicely laid up - even a local beer at the Bar
The breakfast was good - choice of cooked or continental - ample toast - and tea or coffee (sadly no option to upgrade from "instant" to "proper coffee" - no staff availabe we were told).
The evening meal however let them down badly - all I can say is that if you stay there, you MUST make sure you have a good lunch AND afternoon tea before you return to the hotel for the evening -- portions were small (meat seemed to be on ration) - and a most uninteresting selection of veg., with everything, including with fish and chips - Ive never have we had carrots and cauliflower with fish and chips!
An allowance was offered if you wanted to "upgrade" from the "inclusive" menu to their "a la carte" - we did this and tried the lamb shank with crushed new potatoes.... the lamb must have been a poor thing - no meat on its bones and the "crushed" potatoes were more like lumpy mash ("thats how we do it up here" we were informed) - the additional veg., was the same standard fare-- definately NOT worth the extra we paid for it.
The Hotel is well positioned for visiting Stratford upon Avon, Warwick Castle and the Cotswolds and we might well stay there again but its a shame they do not offer a bed and breakfast option....not recommended if you want a good evening meal!

Room Tip: rooms at the front of the new block overlook the carpark. Be aware that the bedrooms are in a separ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Many thanks for your review of your recent stay at The Charlecote Pheasant. Whilst on a whole it's nice to read that your enjoyed your visit however were not satisfied with the Food. I shall investigate your comments with the Head Chef.We offer a good Half Board Package with the choice to upgrade to Al a carte if you wish. I'm sorry that on this occassion it did not meet your expectations. Regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is the hotel in which we stayed during a coach trip. The tour company was Shearings which is not our first choice but after this stay, it will be our last (as in never). This is not a reflection on the coaches etc but their hotels.

I had to ask for the shower head to be cleaned as it was covered in brown slime and the back of the taps was filthy, The bedroom was, apart from this problem in the bathroom, very comfortable and roomy, lots of storage space, excellent hair drier, plus two comfortable chairs. The entrance hall to the bedrooms and the corridor had an unpleasant smell, reminiscent of pubs before smoking was banned - probably because smoking was allowed directly outside the entrance doors.

Breakfast was very good indeed, even did poached eggs well! Good selection of both cooked and uncooked food. Service good.

HOWEVER the same cannot be said about the evening meals! Or the service which was incredibly slow and often gave the appearance of total disinterest.. The standard of the food was, on average poor-acceptable, and on one occasion inedible. Beware the chef's "signature dish"! Watery vegetables, solid mashed potato, over-minted peas, overcooked fish..... Congratulations were due to the gentleman in charge of the restaurant floor as he did the work of three people and apologetically replaced the inedible meal and made sure it was taken off the menu. I think he was fully aware of just HOW things should be done but did not have the time to pass that knowledge on. He also checked the next day that everything was fine with out meal.

There was a residents games room but no darts for dart board and the pool table was out of order. An amusing quiz on our last night was spoilt by the microphone going in and out of service and the poor, very pleasant!, young man had to yell the questions out at the top of his voice!

All this was a terrible shame as this hotel looks beautiful, is situated in a beautiful area and is very convenient for lots of places of interest.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dinah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your very comprehensive review of your recent stay at The Charelcote Pheasant
Whilst I shall investigate your main comments I have said before on this site Myself and Deputy Manager where on Duty all week and not once where your concerns or dis-satisfaction made aware to us, Our guest enjoyment while staying with us is paramount,and if you read the various comments left from previous guest's you will see that are staff are always highly regarded. Regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We were self drives and found the hotel no problems. It is located only a short drive from Stratford-Upon-Avon and well located for other places like Warwick, Coventry and the Cotswolds. The hotel had a large free car park and is located right next door to the National Trusts Charlecote Park. There is a bus stop outside the hotel, we did not use the bus but I believe it ran an hourly service into Stratford and Warwick. The village of Charlecote is very pretty but only consists of the hotel, the National Trust property and a collection of houses.

Our room was large and quite modern. We had a comfy bed with a good size bathroom. Table & chairs and a small desk. Staying in lots of other Shearings hotels all of which had very tired rooms this was a welcome surprise. The room was also very clean and well kept by the chamber maid. It was not a premium room, just a standard one, I believe you can pay extra for a four poster bed etc. We had tea and coffee making facilities that were always topped up every day.

The bar and resturant were very nice and modern with good seating and decor. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The selection of food was good but the portions were quite mean and the veg quite bland all served with the smallest potatos I had ever seen! Also not the hotels fault but the bar prices were a rip off at £3.90 a pint! Breakfast had a good selection of hot and cold food with times being from 0800-1000 so if you wanted to sleep in this was handy. There was no entertainment in the evening apart from one night a quiz, we did not want any entertainment so this was good,

For what you pay, this hotel is nice and good value with good staff, nice rooms and reasonable food, but I think they could perhaps improve on some aspects. It is very well loacted and easy to find. For a short break in this area I would think about staying here again. But bring some crisps to eat in the evening after dinner as you may still be peckish!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caulkheadmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Many thanks for your review of your recent stay here at The Charlecote Pheasant. We are very pleased to read that we exceeded your expectations, and that you enjoyed your holiday with us.
We are very lucky to be situated directly across the road from NT Charlecote Park, and have a bust stop on our Door step, to take you to Stratford , Warwick or Leamington. Regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlecote
2.9 mi away
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall...
#1 of 1 in Wellesbourne Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#1 of 16 in Leamington Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

Property: The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
Address: Nr Stratford-Upon-Avon, Charlecote CV35 9EW, England (Formerly Coast & Country Charlecote Pheasant Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Charlecote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlecote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in the delightful village of Charlecote, opposite the village church, historic Charlecote House and Deer Park. Those wishing to adventure a little further, The Charlecote Pheasant is just minutes from the historic towns of Stratford upon Avon, Warwick and Leamington Spa. The hotel offers charm and character combined with fantastic new facilities. The Charlecote Pheasant has 69 bedrooms with some beautifully appointed superior and premier rooms.The Charlecote Restaurant with its original solid beams and other features adds to the overall character to offer an informal dining experience. The hotel Bar and Lounge offers a relaxing retreat to read or enjoy an afternoon tea. The Hotel has 4 acres of landscaped grounds to provide a lovely rural feel, sit out in and enjoy a refreshing drink. For the more active there is a tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Charlecote Pheasant
Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing