We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient place for visiting Stratford upon Avon and the surrounding area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlecote
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very convenient place for visiting Stratford upon Avon and the surrounding area”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel was clean and reception staff helpful and pleasant. Rooms was big enough for two people for a short stay. The food and choices were very good. The downside was the queuing especially for breakfast. It took 20 minutes to get seated and get drinks and then a further wait for food . Anyone on a timetable would have to allow extra time to get out in the morning. Also there is no option to request extra tea or toast as waitresses do not come back to your table after delivering the hot food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandSwissfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us, and I shall certainly pass on your kind comments to the staff. With regards to "Queuing for Breakfast or Dinner" there is no need to Queue especially in the evening when you book your dinner time? Unfortunately at Breakfast if every one comes in at once, we do have to re- lay tables and there may be a short wait, however thre are plenty of comfortable seats to sit in the lounge area whilst your table is being prepared for you. Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    280
    117
    49
    36
See reviews for
110
479
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whittlesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Like most reviewers I only tend to read the most recent reviews !!!!
This is a 3 Start Shearings Hotel. Room 35 Ground level everywhere was clean & tidy.
No cigarette butts left all over. The main unit is reception, bar and restaurant.
Accommodation block seperate
The 3 night deal was Okay for the price paid (Just)
The let down may I say is the 'Portion Control' at meal times.
Most Shearings which we have stayed at have been Okay like School meals !!!!
This place is trying to be the Eton of School meals.....The quality was very good, the service was
very good but a few peas and carrots between two adults is a bit mean - you won't go hungry
but it borders on maximising profit?.
Yes we upgraded to the Al-La-Carte choice, but again this is at quite a premium.
On returning to the Cockoo in Alwalton Peterborough for an evening meal.....for a lot less money
the quality on par at 30% less cost.
So to sum up - All staff were very good indeed, the hotel is Okay, but please just ease up a little on the portion control and you'll be worth a 5*
Going back - maybe?

Room Tip: Like in Oliver Twist - Please Sir can I have some more?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyGerstner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Many thanks for your great review of your recent stay with us, and I shall certainly make sure all the staff are aware of your very Kind Comments. At Coast and Country Hotels we offer a very good and well priced Half board package, with the choice to upgrade to A la Carte with discounted prices for all guests staying on a Half board Package. I shall speak with our Head Chef regarding the Portion SIzes. Many thanks again Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Friday night was lovely, meal was lovely. We
Stayed in a standard room, the bed was the only good thing about (standard room), the bedroom need deep cleaning. We were so tired and wish we check the room before. My diatery need wasn't met and had to take my own breakfast on the last day. Some of the staff was lovely.Overall poor service.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joymarjoy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent weekend break with us. Your comments have been noted and I shall certainly investigate with the relevant team Leaders This is not the service that we pride ourselves in providing at The Charlecote Pheasant and if you had have spoken to one of the Duty Managers that weekend we would have rectified your complaints Straight Away. Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel was booked for me by someone else because we couldn`t get into the hotel where my meeting was.The room was fantastic. Out of the main building in what was probably a house within the grounds of the manor originally. The bedroom was a suite really with huge four poster bed,2 settees,large flat screen television, period wardrobe and a big (now a feature only) period fireplace!! All enhanced with modern recessed lighting. Bathroom again was amazing,twin baths,twin sinks big shower etc etc. Even had a large original fireplace in here!! (prob. another lounge back in the day).
Full English breakfast was the smallest portion iv`e ever had in a hotel!!..... but nice....could have eaten it twice!.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Hi Thank you for such a great review of your recent stay with us. Room 3 in the Farmhouse is actually our Bridal Suite and one of the most requested rooms in the Hotel. We are so pleased that, on your first visit to us ,you were allocated this room, and hopefull next time you visit you will be able to sample one of the other rooms in the Farmhouse. Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoltand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

just back from a fabulous weekend break at this hotel. great location 5 mins from stratford 10 mins from warwick and leamington on spa. stayed in standard room more than adequate. nice furniture and bathroom and king size bed. Food at dinner fine although service on friday night a bit brisk. breakfasts were first class. we have stayed at many shearings hotels and by far this was the very best. staff were great special thanks to Dan and Angelina who were a credit to their employer.

Room Tip: we stayed in a standard room on the first floor of the modern building which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ailie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Many thanks for writing such a great review of your recent weekend stay with us, I shall make sure all the staff are aware of your kind comments Especially Dan and Angelina. We hope it wont be too long till re- visit. Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just back from a weekend break at the Charlecote Pheasant, all the staff were really pleasant and helpful. Nice welcome at reception on arrival and we were soon in our rooms. We had upgraded our booking and stayed in the Farm building, our room was really fabulous with a four poster bed & worth the extra. The restaurant staff work so hard, the hotel was very busy but we never waited to be seated & the food quality & service were really good. I have a gluten free diet and was provided with gluten free bread & advised of menu options with no fuss.
The hotel has benefited from a refurbishment since our last visit and the bar & restaurant are now really modern with nice areas to sit & relax in and enjoy a drink.
Excellent value for money break & would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathHOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review of your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your weekend, and indeed like the changes made since your last visit. We cater for many types of dietary needs, and we were pleased to read that you were satisfied with the service you received, looking forward to welcoming you back to the Charlecote Pheasant Soon.
Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just had a weekend away visiting the fantastic Warwick Castle and stayed at the Charlecote Pheasant. The staff were extremely helpful, the room was clean and the bed comfortable and the food absolutely fine with excellent service from Hannah apart from everything we asked for "they had just run out of" including Baileys at the bar?! However it didn't spoil our enjoyment. The only downside for me was the awful smell, I am not sure if it is air freshners or cheap disinfectant but it reminded me of a Nursing Home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine2454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Many thanks for the review of your recent stay with us, I have passed on all your kind comments and Hannah sends her thanks. With regards to "running out of items that you would have liked" I apologise for this and shall certainly look into it. Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlecote
2.9 mi away
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall...
#1 of 1 in Wellesbourne Hastings
2,677 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,847 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,427 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,447 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

Property: The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
Address: Nr Stratford-Upon-Avon, Charlecote CV35 9EW, England (Formerly Coast & Country Charlecote Pheasant Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Charlecote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlecote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in the delightful village of Charlecote, opposite the village church, historic Charlecote House and Deer Park. Those wishing to adventure a little further, The Charlecote Pheasant is just minutes from the historic towns of Stratford upon Avon, Warwick and Leamington Spa. The hotel offers charm and character combined with fantastic new facilities. The Charlecote Pheasant has 69 bedrooms with some beautifully appointed superior and premier rooms.The Charlecote Restaurant with its original solid beams and other features adds to the overall character to offer an informal dining experience. The hotel Bar and Lounge offers a relaxing retreat to read or enjoy an afternoon tea. The Hotel has 4 acres of landscaped grounds to provide a lovely rural feel, sit out in and enjoy a refreshing drink. For the more active there is a tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Charlecote Pheasant
Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing