We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and pleasant place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlecote
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We did a 5 day/4 night stay her at the beginning of June. It was a very quiet hotel set out in the countryside. I want to stress how quiet it was even during the night and probably the best nights sleep we had on our 3 week stay in Europe. The breakfast was really good except one issue (see note below about scrambled eggs)and I loved all the different choices.

It was only 10 minutes to Stratford (there is a bus stop right outside the hotel) and about 10 minutes to Warwick Castle.
Some things that need to be improved....there was no nightly entertainment and there is nothing to do where the hotel is located, the evening menu (3 courses were included) was a little same old same old.....a lot of mash potatoes or even mashed new potatoes...the portions were also not so big. The scrambled egg at breakfast...well not really sure exactly what that was as it didn't look like scrambled egg and it certainly didn't taste like scrambled egg ( we just chose poached or fried from then on).

All in all it was a clean, quiet hotel, the rooms were spacious (and we're used to American hotel rooms) and all the hotel staff were very attentive.
I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the block across the parking lot and it seemed really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Many thanks for your Kind comments of your recent stay, As I have previously said we are so luck to be situated right beside the main bus route to Coventry, Stratford Upon Avon and Leamington Spa , as well as being Directly Across The road from National Trust Charlecote House and Park. We hope that, if you are visiting the UK again that you will pay us a return visit
Kind regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

618 - 624 of 873 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

We booked this hotel as a last minute get away. Didn't know what to expect as the price was very reasonable. From the moment we got we were pleasantly surprised. It had everything we could have hoped for. Set in lovely grounds with a beautiful park right opposite. The evening meal was outstanding value for money and the perfect place for a relaxing break away from home. We will definitely recommend it to friends or family and hoping to go back again before the end of summer this year.ideal for couples wanting a peaceful break.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Wow what a fantastic review of your recent weekend stay, myself and the team are so pleased that we met your expectations and that you shall be returning at the end of the Summer. It is always nice to read, that we have made your stay a memorable one for all the right reasons
We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on a Dinner Bed & Breakfast basis. The Table D'Hote menu was very poor but an allowance of £3 Starter £6 Main and £3 Dessert was made if one chose A La Carte instead. However what ruined the stay for me was the excessive noise of the music? belted out through all mealtimes. The staff did turn the volume down when I requested them to do so but not to such an extent that I found it bearable. As the bedrooms are in different buildings there was not a problem at other times.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank HA922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnmcghee, Functions Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding yor recent stay with us at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel.
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the Half Board Menu, the vast majority of our guests stay with us on a Half Board basis and these guests are very happy with the quality and variety offered to them on this Menu. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our A La Carte Menu.
With regards to your comments regarding the music at the hotel, It was myself that you had asked to turn the music down. The music was turned down consideralbly and as a result could not be heard in some areas of the restaurant. Your table was located under one of the speakers and you were offered to move tables to a quieter part of the restaruant this offer was decilned.
We find that guests enjoy listening to backgriound music whilst dining with us. I feel that this creates the right atmosphere as opposed to dining in silence.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at this hotel , there were 10 adults and a baby for a family celebration , the hotel rooms are okay but in need of some decorating and modernising, but as a base it was ideal. We were half board in the hotel and the breakfast was amazing and the evening meals were fine , plenty of choice and the staff were extremely helpful and Dan in particular went the extra mile for us which was greatly appreciated and we would certainly all use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sadie1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thnkas for the review of your recent stay at The Charlecote Pheasant, We are glad that you enjoyed your break, and Dan sends on his best regards and thanks you for your kind comments

Kind regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great Hotel , Good clean rooms in all areas , Helpful stall willing to help with directions and places to see close to Stratford and Warwick.
If you like walking or old houses Charlecote Manor is a must. ( N T )

Room Tip: all good but you can aways up grade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMARTIES_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay , I and all the team are pleased that you enjoyed your break with us and we all agree that NT Charlecote Park is well worth a visit. Hope to welcome you back soon. Regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

my husband booked this hotel as a 60th birthday present for me , he booked a premier room and a gift package for me ,it was one of the best hotels we have stayed in ,I cannot fault any thing about the hotel or staff every thing was 5 star ,all the staff were so friendly and so polite and helpful ,hotel was very clean .and the food was excellent ,I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Many thanks for writing such a glowing review, I and all the staff are so pleased that you enjoyed your special birthday with us, anmd I hope that it wont be too long till you return . Kind Regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visited this restaurant for lunch after walking around Charlecote Hall. The had a very varied menu at reasonable prices. I had a bacon and brie baguette which was excellent. My husband had the beefburger. Both meals were served and presented very well and were delicious. So glad we stopped here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Alwaysway51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank you for your review of your Lunch Stop here at The Charlecote Pheasant, we are very fortunate to be located right across the road fron NT Charlecote Park and and our Peacfull and Tranquil setttings make it the perfect place for Lunch. Im glad you both enjoyed your Lunch and we hope to see you again. Kind regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlecote
2.9 mi away
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall...
#1 of 1 in Wellesbourne Hastings
2,822 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
917 reviews
4 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
5.2 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,577 reviews
7.3 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

Address: Nr Stratford-Upon-Avon, Charlecote CV35 9EW, England (Formerly Coast & Country Charlecote Pheasant Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Charlecote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlecote
Price Range: $61 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in the delightful village of Charlecote, opposite the village church, historic Charlecote House and Deer Park. Those wishing to adventure a little further, The Charlecote Pheasant is just minutes from the historic towns of Stratford upon Avon, Warwick and Leamington Spa. The hotel offers charm and character combined with fantastic new facilities. The Charlecote Pheasant has 69 bedrooms with some beautifully appointed superior and premier rooms.The Charlecote Restaurant with its original solid beams and other features adds to the overall character to offer an informal dining experience. The hotel Bar and Lounge offers a relaxing retreat to read or enjoy an afternoon tea. The Hotel has 4 acres of landscaped grounds to provide a lovely rural feel, sit out in and enjoy a refreshing drink. For the more active there is a tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Charlecote Pheasant
Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing