We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“....the Bulls Head in Meriden is worth the extra mile!!!”
Review of Bear Inn

Bear Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Berkswell
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“....the Bulls Head in Meriden is worth the extra mile!!!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Being newly resident in Berkswell, we are unfortunate that this is our local :-((.

We are lucky in that we can dine out 3-5x a week. We have eaten here once. The mussels were overcooked and bread stale. The staff were very 'corporate' i.e. they spoke the script- but with no real care behind it, more a case of ticking the boxes. Unfortunately, with so many nice eateries in the area you don't risk another visit.

On the rare occasion that we don't want to drive and let ourselves go a bit, we have a walk down for a few bevvies. I have been ignored by staff and management types whilst waiting to be served- though a regular had them
running to serve him-thats okay then!! I have also had the 'script', no recognition or banter or welcoming.

We also went in one Sunday at 2120. Only to find all the bar trays etc cleaned and stacked, the bar area being mopped and to all intents and purposes looked much like they were closing! How awkward did we feel 65 minutes before close time??!!

Needless to say, we spent our hard earned in the Bulls Head in Meriden last week-twice- at £250. And how nice and welcoming it is in there. Well worth the extra effort and paying a taxi for....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beerswilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Beerswilla,
Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise for service you received and for the food you were served at the Bear Inn. I have passed on your comments to our management team and have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    178
    91
    86
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be.”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Family outing for meal. Had an Australian friend with us so wanted to show the characterful place of The Bear in historic Berkswell. Found our own way to a table. Still not got drinks within 30 mins. Had to keep reminding staff. Waited further 30 mins for food. Some meals missing or late. Also missing was garlic bread side order. Reminded staff again so we got a tortilla dripped in garlic butter!! Eventually explained they had run out of bread?! NEVER going back to The Bear not matter how 'quaint' the place is!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank harryhalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear harryhalsall,

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise for service and food you have received at the Bear Inn. We have passed on your comments to our management team and have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food but not staff and service”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Visited Bear Inn last night looking forward to the usual friendly welcome with good food. Arrived 10 mins early and sat in lounge waiting for friends after being told/assured by staff that the rest of our party had not arrived. Sat for 30 mins still waiting for friends only then to see one of them leave the restaurant! Approached staff to ask why this mix up had occurred and was told "oh well you are all here now!" Then had same drinks brought to the table twice which was wrong order and asked by out waitress if we wanted to order our food only 5 mins after she had TAKEN OUR ORDER. Food arrived which was excellent as was the dessert but whole evening totally let down by the staff and their attitude. Not what I expect form a Chef and Brewer as wherever I am in country I Google the nearest Chef and Brewer as usually good food and service (especially The Fox inn in Worcester).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No longer the gem it once was...”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

It's such a shame that the Bear Inn is now owned by Chef & Brewer. Years ago it was a firm family favourite - it used to be such a lovely pub with consistently good food, a bustling atmosphere and great service. Not anymore...

The food is thoroughly unpleasant (standard Chef & Brewer menu), service slow, it's often understaffed, and overall has the distinct feel of a budget chain restaurant.

It's really sad to see the standards slip so drastically. The building is beautiful with many original features - it's just in desperate need of being revamped back to its original glory.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randall28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Randall28,

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise about the service at the Bear Inn. We have passed on your comments to our management team and have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ruined Christmas Lunch at Sky High Prices”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My family went to the Bear Inn for Christmas Lunch 2012. We were extremely disappointed. We arrived for our 2.30 booking to be told our table wasn't free as people were staying longer at their tables than expected. There was no where to sit, no complimentary drink offered even though the menu said there would be 'fizz' on arrival and we had to ask for chairs for our disabled parents who could not stand and wait. For the next hour we made several enquiries about our table. We were fed platitudes and seemed to be told lies about our table just being laid. After an hour we were ready to leave and asked to see the manager and ask for a refund. We were hurriedly shown to a table which was not laid properly and had the previous occupants cracker and napkin waste strewn over the floor. There was no table cloth, candle, crackers or wine glasses.

We asked for crackers and candle. The crackers arrived but no tablecloth or candle. The wine glasses came eventually. They were wet and the waitress said they just came out of the dishwasher.

Generally there was twenty to thirty minutes between courses. There was no table service for drinks, they got the drinks order wrong after waiting an age for it at the bar. We even had to go to the bar to get our wine

The food was inedible. The duck and sirloin was overlooked and tough. The turkey was dry, the veg not as advertised and undercooked. Synthetic cream on the trifle.

No-one appeared to have the mince pies as listed on the menu and we had to ask for our coffee.

All in all a dreadful experience and if we had had the choice we would not have paid but the meal was prepaid at £59.99 a head. A real rip off.

Throughout this ordeal we asked to see the manager four times, the manager did not respond at all.

We will not be going again, do not go here!

The Munn Party

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahMunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear SarahMunn,

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise for your recent experience to the Bear Inn. We have passed on your comments to our management team and have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Inn also viewed

Balsall Common, Solihull
Solihull, West Midlands
 
Solihull, West Midlands
Balsall Common, Solihull
 

Been to Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing