We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will help if the place is filled.”
Review of The Avon Pub & Restaurant - CLOSED

The Avon Pub & Restaurant
Price range: $3 - $27
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a family run pub / restaurant serving Brasserie style food we prepare on the premises. We have a bar where you can enjoy a drink by the fire or move into the restaurant to have a cosy supper. We currently close on a Sunday evening and all day Monday and our opening hours the rest of the week are 10.30am until 3pm then open again at 6pm serving food until 9pm and closing at 11pm. We welcome dogs in the bar but ask they are kept on a lead. Muddy boots to be left at the front door please!
Banbury
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Will help if the place is filled.”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I have reviewed the Avon before but commentated that 'it has changed so many times' one couldn't offer a constructive comment. I can now.
I have visited twice on similar occasions, namely, dropped in, needing food.
On both occasions the host, Giuseppe Di Piassa was only too pleased to oblige. The first time, the quickly prepared pasta was welcome. However the second time with a crowd of funeral attendees, the service was understandably frought. We got some basic pasta but the wine @£12 a bottle was undrinkable and this was unacceptable. I did take the bottle home so as not too offend, but my drain did accept it! Joe, at £40 for 2, sorry, but won't be visiting again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Terence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    12
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best pasta & italian food”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Joe's pasta is simply the best I've eaten. Tasty sauces, generous portions and served with a smile. The restaurant has had a make over and is delightful. My partner had the veal which was also excellent.
Joe is very accommodating & will also whip up a tasty take away pasta which is a godsend when you don't fancy cooking.
Well worth a try!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AvonDasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great makeover”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Not only does Joe continue to provide excellent nosh at very competitive prices, he's also given the tired old restaurant a fantastic fresh new Italian look!
Well worth a try if you're looking for something a bit less ordinary in a pub meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 999Mollyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
173 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“The focal point of the village.”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This delightful pub in Avon Dassett has had a chequered time during the past couple of years, but new host Giuseppe, known locally as Joe, is making an excellent effort to again make this the focal point of the village.
There is always a warm welcome, and a good selection of beers and wines is offered. The restaurant is now decked out just like a traditional Italian trattoria, with a menu consisting of various authentic dishes. All delicious and fairly priced
Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Dassett, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“New Italian”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

A delightful meal in the new Italian restaurant - we had lovely fresh salmon fishcake starter and very tasty grills of lamb and chicken as well as Joe's recommendations and company to give the evening that real Italian atmosphere

I can throroughly recommend the meals in the restaurant - go give it a try!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SallyandT0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Avon Pub & Restaurant also viewed

Fenny Compton, Warwickshire
 
Fenny Compton, Warwickshire
Northend, Warwickshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Warmington, Warwickshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing