We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campanile Hotel Washington
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cheap and clean!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here to visit the Beamish museum. Really can't complain, £45 for one night, staff were friendly, room was clean, free wi-fi. Location was a bit out of the way but we had the car so was fine. 5 minutes to Beamish and 15 minutes into Newcastle. Check out is before 12pm which was nice, get a long lie for a change. Overall everything was fine!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieVirtue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    95
    98
    58
    34
See reviews for
44
120
27
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I am a young woman who stayed here with a friend, at first glance appears not too bad but we had 2 single beds put together as a double, the bathroom was dirty, walls had black marks all over, we could hear the people in the next room talking it was ridiculous. When I checked in the staff were miserable and couldn't wait to get rid of me. I got my key and went looking for my room, I accidentally walked past the door I should of went in so was wondering round when I found a door which was slightly open so I walked through it and next thing I know this man (I'm assuming he was the manager) came along shouting his head off, I apologised and he still kept going. I felt very intimidated and made me feel uncomfortable for the rest of my stay! Would never advise this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alishas6655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We didn't have a great stay at all because the bathroom wasn't cleaned and tiles are dirty and filthy need changing and refit. The bath got a bit of crack with bit small trying fit my legs in. The staff were helpful and food is ok anyway. I think the hotel need big refit in bathroom and bedroom

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

First time we decided to use this group of hotels. We were very impressed at the price per room per night. When we arrived, the receptionist couldn't have been more friendly. Nothing was to much trouble. We had booked a disabled double room and found the room very spacious for my electric wheelchair. The room was clean as was both the décor and the bed clothes. No pictures on the wall, if there had of been, the room we had, I would have been making a direct comparison with the Premier Lodge, but there wasn't, yet the rooms were half the price of that charged by Premier Lodge.
We had a preview of the menu in the bedroom and thought that the prices charged were extreme, NO NEED TO WORRY, when we went to the restaurant, there were quite a number of contractors there that were using the hotel. Each meal was served up as man sized portions and easily were worth the asking price. One suggestion I would make to Campanile is on the menu, list all what is given on the plate, not just the main ingredients. Not doing so, could put a lot of people off from visiting the restaurant.
Overall verdict, clean, helpful and enjoyable. What more do you want for a couple of nights stay. Highly recommended and great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank contactbreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Could expect a lot more from a budget hotel, rooms ok although rather small and not the cleanest. Went for something to eat in the restaurant and were told we couldn't eat until later as a party of 20 people were due in 45 minutes!! It was quite a drive to somewhere else if you didn't fancy a carvery at the pub down the road. A sign in the bathroom made me laugh 'Bath mat available at reception' I really cant get my head around that one! A towel did the job. Wish I'd taken some pictures as the ones on here are obviously out of date. Stayed in better places for a lot less money!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

great value, good breakfasts, perfect location for easy access to Beamish, Durham, Sunderland and Newcastle and we took the dogs with us - brilliant

Ideal for touring the north east - or for staying over if going to a football match - will definitely go back

Room Tip: Basic and not big rooms but clean and very functional
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityFan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2013

On my arrival at washington i was greeted by someone pretending being manager but didnt at all look like a manager he was quite abrupt at check in. I was expecting my experience to be as dull as my first impression however when i arrived in my bedroom although the room needed updating i cudnt find anything bad to say about the cleanliness and the tea and coffee facility provided me with a warm cuppa had dinner in the restaurant on the night time wich was lovely and the staff made me feel like i was at home. would i stay here again.... yes but management need training on good manners as they seem to have changed since last time lacking the french touch it used to have

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carl6586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#4 of 6 in Washington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
2.7 mi away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Angel View Inn
Angel View Inn
#13 of 20 in Gateshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
4.9 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Hotel Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Hotel Washington

Property: Campanile Hotel Washington
Address: District 5 Emerson Road, Washington NE37 1LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Hotel Washington 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep, relax or even do some work, enjoy the peace and quiet of our bedrooms. comfortable beds for a good night sleep, bathroom with shower bath and hair dryer, on site bistro restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Louvre hotels, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Campanile Hotel Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing