We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Washington
Nearby Hotels
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Washington A1M Southbound(Washington)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel(Washington)(Great Value!)
$70
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound(Washington)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$40
$38
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angel View Inn(Gateshead)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel(Sunderland)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel(Sunderland)(Great Value!)
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street(Chester-le-Street)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (855)
Filter reviews
855 results
Traveler rating
230
300
210
72
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
230
300
210
72
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspost housecoach tripwalk in showercoach partybar pricesexecutive roombuffet stylebreakfast was excellentroad noiserestaurant staffplenty of parkinggood nights sleepcomfy bedan overnight staytea and coffeeone night staynewcastle
Filter
Updating list...
504 - 509 of 855 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We used this hotel to visit relatives in Washington. Its a great place to stay. Quiet and rooms are functional and of a reasonable size. The food and drink may be expensive but we found a pub nearby that served a carvery and the beers were cheaper. It is also a good base if you want to visit The Metrocentre or Newcastle.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mackem987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Mackem987,

Thank you for taking the time out to post a review of your most recent stay on Tripadvisor.

We will always look to be as competitive as we can with regards to our food & beverage pricing and generally, our specials are well received owing to quality and price.

We hope to see you back in Washington in the very near future

Kind regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My friend and myself were on a coach tour who used this hotel.
Room was most comfortable with the usual tea coffee flat screen tv and immaculately clean.
The food was outstanding in quality and being buffet for the main course you could help yourself.
The staff were so friendly typically Geordies and went out of their way to be so helpful and worked extremely hard.
The bar prices were high but typical of this category hotel, but there is a Toby I think about 5 mins walk away.
The hotel is ideally convenient for the A1 Newcastle and the beauty of Northumberland, for the

shopaholics there is the Metro Centre 15 mins drive away.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for its excellent cuisine, and the management must be good hence the staff and visitors being happy.

Room Tip: The hotel is 6 storeys high all rooms must be good
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tirol94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Tirol94

Wow, what great feedback. The team are really pleased that we've exceeded your expectations and we hope to see you back in the very near future.

Happy Travelling!!

Kind regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

What a splendid experience this was. Checked in by a delightful young lady.Not only was she attentive and happy but also eager to ensure my stay was a good one.

The room was spacious ,In fact the bed was huge, room spotlessly clean and filled with little extras like free shower gel and shampoo not to mention the complimentary water and snack bar.

Breakfast was delicious ,service again excellent. Then there was check out. Swift and pleasurable .

Its been a while sine I have used this particular chain but being a business traveller who uses hotels 3 nights a week.This hotel will certainly get my future business.

Many thanks indeed

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesMcMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Whilst in Gateshead on business stayed in this Holiday Inn. The room was very clean and comfortable and had a nice firm bed. Had a few problems with my key card to the room wiping itself for some reason and the Internet not recognising my details, but the girls on reception sorted all the problems out quickly and pleasantly.
Ate in the restraunt on 3 occasions and found the food ok, really enjoyed the Aberdeen Angus burger but the Hunters chicken was decidedly average. Would happily stay here again if in the area.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I won a break at this hotel on Twitter and really enjoyed it. Our room was fairly large and comfortable and although bathroom looked a little tired it was fine. There seemed to be mainly business people staying here but then it is near services rather than tourist attractions.
Breakfast was very nice apart from the scrambled eggs which looked all dried up. The pancake maker was waiting on someone coming to fix it which was a shame but plenty of other food to eat. I think breakfast is quite expensive unless you book a deal which includes it. We got free Wifi as we are Gold Priority Club members. The staff were friendly and there wasn't any noise through the night. There is plenty of parking here.We visited Old Washington Hall, National Trust Property which is fairly near here and worth a visit. You can take a walk along the road as there is a pavement and a footpath will take you to the services, nowhere else to go really though. There is a Toby Carvery just down the road if you don't want to eat at the hotel or Burger King at the services. Would happily stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank sheils6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews