We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

An older-style Holiday Inn, in need of general updating and refurbishment (as echoed in a few other reviews on here). Room fairly small (double bed style) with minuscule bathroom but view from 4th floor is pretty good!
Food was quite good really, however the restaurant has NO atmosphere at all and feels like a school canteen with soft-furnishings. Breakfast in the morning is buffet-style and quite acceptable.

The room didn't seem to have any way of adjusting the temperature (apart from opening the window). I may have missed it if it did however!

The hotel requires more than 1 terminal at reception as when leaving there was a 5-deep queue for the 1 receptionist. It would have helped if she had apologised (which she didn't) for the waiting time - possibly because she is so used to customers waiting!

Got a free Crunchie on departure which I thought was a nice/slightly weird touch

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonkeyPebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your recent experience of the hotel here on TripAdvisor.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your dining experience at the hotel. I was sorry to hear that you were unable to regulate the temperature, all of the radiators are fitted with Thermostatic Control Valves so I apologise if this wasn't clear.

I was also sorry to hear that you queued to check-out, the receptionist should have acknowledged and apologised for your wait and I will certainly follow this up with the Reception Manager to both review staffing levels and also ensure a higher recognition level.

We give out Crunchies on Friday morning check-outs as a little extra to celebrate 'That Friday feeling'.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    253
    178
    68
    37
See reviews for
128
200
51
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
322 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed here for a saturday evening when at a function locally. Excellent. Good location and easy to find. Helpful and friendly staff with quick check in. Good clean room. Bar is nice and bar staff helpful. Breakfast was good. Overall good place to stay - very economical too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drpeterr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of the hotel here on TripAdvisor.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My husband & I have stayed here as a stop over before & have never been disappointed Staff at the reception desk are all friendly & informative. The rooms are clean & comfortable - and housekeeping staff are efficient & helpful (Didn't dine here on this occasion) It's good that this hotel & the service here can be relied upon

Room Tip: Executive rooms are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank looby1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer

It's great to read that you find the hotel to a be a welcome stopover for your journeys and that you can always rely on the team.

We hope to be of service to you again in the near future. Thank you for your generous feedback.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

I Stop here often on business - the rooms are always very clean and tidy. The breakfast is always good, with a good variety of choice, the friendly staff make your stay very welcoming, from the reception staff to restaurant staff - and especially Andy behind the bar!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for the kind and generous feedback you shared here regarding your recent experience.

I was delighted to read what a great stay you had and will of course share your feedback with the team - especially with Andy.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Hotel was everything we needed - clean, good sized room with adequate bathroom, easy access from A1, plenty parking and reasonably close to Newcastle. Excellent value with Top Secret Hotel price of £40. Staff were great - very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Big thank you to Kathryn and Richard who sorted out our transport to Washington. Would certainly stay here again on our next visit to Newcastle area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HET802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your generous feedback regarding your recent stay.

It was great to read you had an enjoyable stay and I will certainly pass on your feedback to Kathryn and Richard - many thanks.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The staff are very friendly.Pity about the general appearance of the hotel.
The rooms and corridors are in need of refurbishment.The Bathrooms are not too bad though.
The breakfast was fine.
I was offered a tea or coffee as I was leaving, which I thought was nice touch.
The hotel is in a good location but the food and drink are overpriced.
If you are staying here and dont want to pay the Meal prices, try the Toby carvery 2 min walk away next to the Premier inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank falkirk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear falkirk2,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We regret to see you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel. We appreciate the high score for Service as well as your kind comments for our staff. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

On arrival, the hotel appeared tired and dated.
The corridors leading to the hotel rooms were very tatty and in need of redecorating.
My room was quite dirty and I will not return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Stay in the Premier in nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Paul F,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
324 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,975 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Boldon
Quality Hotel Boldon
#1 of 1 in West Boldon
417 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington

Property: Holiday Inn Washington
Address: Emerson Road, Washington NE37 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Washington is an ideally located hotel, just off the A1M junction 64. Centrally located between, Historic Durham, Sunderland and Newcastle City The hotel offers a 'Go Green' Environmental Room in association with Tree Appealplanting trees on site and across the UK. This is a well established, comfortable hotel, with free car parking, noted for its friendly staff. The Hotel has a Traders Restaurant a newly refurbished lounge and bar area.Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The hotel has 136 fully air conditioned bedrooms, including family and accessible rooms. Only a short drive from Europes largest Shopping Centre - the Metrocentre, Newcastle City Centre, the award winning Beamish Open Air Museum, Sunderland Glass Centre and Durham County Cricket Ground. The North East coastline and Angel of the North are also within close driving distance.*Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington Hotel Washington
Washington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing