We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

I Stop here often on business - the rooms are always very clean and tidy. The breakfast is always good, with a good variety of choice, the friendly staff make your stay very welcoming, from the reception staff to restaurant staff - and especially Andy behind the bar!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank anthonyf276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for the kind and generous feedback you shared here regarding your recent experience.

I was delighted to read what a great stay you had and will of course share your feedback with the team - especially with Andy.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 793 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Hotel was everything we needed - clean, good sized room with adequate bathroom, easy access from A1, plenty parking and reasonably close to Newcastle. Excellent value with Top Secret Hotel price of £40. Staff were great - very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Big thank you to Kathryn and Richard who sorted out our transport to Washington. Would certainly stay here again on our next visit to Newcastle area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HET802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your generous feedback regarding your recent stay.

It was great to read you had an enjoyable stay and I will certainly pass on your feedback to Kathryn and Richard - many thanks.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The staff are very friendly.Pity about the general appearance of the hotel.
The rooms and corridors are in need of refurbishment.The Bathrooms are not too bad though.
The breakfast was fine.
I was offered a tea or coffee as I was leaving, which I thought was nice touch.
The hotel is in a good location but the food and drink are overpriced.
If you are staying here and dont want to pay the Meal prices, try the Toby carvery 2 min walk away next to the Premier inn.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank falkirk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear falkirk2,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We regret to see you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel. We appreciate the high score for Service as well as your kind comments for our staff. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

On arrival, the hotel appeared tired and dated.
The corridors leading to the hotel rooms were very tatty and in need of redecorating.
My room was quite dirty and I will not return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Stay in the Premier in nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Paul F,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is a typical Holiday Inn except the staff, all of them, stand out. It made a huge difference. Would definitely stay there again. Breakfast was great helped by the cheerful staff, especially Ann, who was amazing. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MondeoMan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for the great feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I will certainly share your feedback with the team, and of course in particular with Ann.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Had booked a double but was told on arrival that we had been given a twin, after much effort a double was found but we were told someone else would then be inconvenienced later
Clean room on 5th floor but faulty extractor in bathroom & 2 lights not working - too far to go down to reception to complain
Expensive restaurant on site, only one other option nearby

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorfolkYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear NorfolkYorkie,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. We are sincerely sorry to read about your negative experience with the confusion on room assignments. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Rooms not too bad but food was shocking and the dinning room staff especially were rude and unhelpful. Was made to feel like Cattle!! With a school dinners like feel. Won't be going again and would highly recommend others to book with caution!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bettsybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Bettsybaby,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Washington A1M Southbound
2.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington

Address: Emerson Road, Washington NE37 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range: $66 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Washington is an ideally located hotel, just off the A1M junction 64. Centrally located between, Historic Durham, Sunderland and Newcastle City The hotel offers a 'Go Green' Environmental Room in association with Tree Appealplanting trees on site and across the UK. This is a well established, comfortable hotel, with free car parking, noted for its friendly staff. The Hotel has a Traders Restaurant a newly refurbished lounge and bar area.Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The hotel has 136 fully air conditioned bedrooms, including family and accessible rooms. Only a short drive from Europes largest Shopping Centre - the Metrocentre, Newcastle City Centre, the award winning Beamish Open Air Museum, Sunderland Glass Centre and Durham County Cricket Ground. The North East coastline and Angel of the North are also within close driving distance.*Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington Hotel Washington
Washington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing