We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms small but everything else great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The place is very conveniently located next to the A1 motorway.

The place is spotlessly clean and well run by very friendly (genuinely friendly) staff.
I liked the fact that the windows opened for some fresh air; too often air conditioned hotels are a bit stuffy.

Breakfast was excellent with a full buffet and a massive choice from full English to things more healthy. The scrambled eggs were properly cooked too - not the usual undercooked slime and two types of breakfast sausage, including local Cumberland style.

The only drawback was that our room seemed small compared to other Holiday Inns we have visited.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Reviewer

We were delighted to see your recent review of your stay on TripAdvisor, and it was great to note your feedback about the friendliness of the team.

It's great to see that you enjoyed breakfast and noted the cleanliness of the hotel too.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (808)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

618 - 624 of 808 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

I booked this hotel together with a colleage who informed it was a tired old Post House...well the building maybe from the Seventies but it was a terrific hotel. The staff are so friendly and accomodating....we were so impressed. I will be staying here again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience of the hotel here on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to hear what a great stay you had and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Excellent stay.
Got upgraded to executive floor, nice view from 6th floor room
Free drink at the bar was a nice touch
rooms and interior of hotel were furnished to a high standard and very clean. Outside of the hotel looks very dated, But inside is top notch.
Very friendly and helpful staff especially those on reception.
Value of food very good , compared to other holiday inns, and the breakfast was excellent.
They are doing the right thing at this holiday inn, and will definetly use again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tris_tris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Reviewer

I was delighted to read what a great stay you had with us on your recent visit.

Thank you very much for your kind comments about the hotel, the team and of course your dining experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have stayed here for a minimum of one night per week for the last six months. My offices are only 5 minutes away so it is handy. The reception staff are always polite and friendly. A few nights a week they have theme nights in the restaraunt (e.g. Indian, Carvery etc). Food is general good but a bit pricey. Rooms are comfortable and spacey. All in all its not a five star hotel but they don't pretend to be.

Room Tip: There are 2 smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottHearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Mr Hearn

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experiences here on Trip Advisor. It is always great to hear from our regular guests and we look forward to continuing to look after you during your stays here in the North East moving forwards.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Holiday Inn is a decent hotel which seems to be chosen mainly by business travellers. The rooms are nice, but you should definitely insist on two things: getting a room facing away from the highway to avoid the noise and a non-smoking room (unless you plan to smoke yourself, of course).
The hotel also has a bar and a dinner restaurant, and you will not be disappointed - food and drink are of good quality and sensibly priced. The breakfast buffet is large and offers all the pleasures of a British "fully fried" breakfast. However, please avoid the scrambled egg, it seems to be made from some sort of concentrate and not real eggs.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the highway, and don't forget to ask for a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CasssandraCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Reviewer

I was delighted to read about your recent enjoyable stay. Thank you for sharing your kind comments about the team and of course your dining experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back if you are visitng the North East again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed here for one night, the room was comfortable and actually found it to be quiet considering the proximity of the A1. Breakfast was a surprise as it was as good as what we have had at the Marriott hotel. The staff were friendly and welcoming.

The down side was a group of Scottish men staying who were on a Stag party I think, they kept us awake all night with the noise they made running up and down the corridor and banging on doors, they also ruined the lovely breakfast with foul language and load bolshy behaviour, the poor waitress was a nervous wreck! When I complained I was told the night porters had been several times to try calm these guys down. I would say the management should have taken into account the other visitors staying with them and asked these louts to leave if they didn’t calm down, unfortunately this didn’t happen and our nights sleep was ruined. Won’t be back for a second visit at the risk of having a repeat performance.

Room Tip: Don't stay if you want a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silversurfer900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us, I was pleased to see that on the whole the hotel and our team were such a positive experience.

I was sorry to learn that there was a party of guests whose behaviour spoiled your stay - such incidents are not a regular occurence but your point about the management of them has been noted. It is a shame that some people are unable to respect other guests enjoyment and we do endeavour to deal with such issues diplomatically to avoid escalation that might cause more disruption.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights,staff were friendly and the hotel was nice and clean.comfortable bed and good pillows . We didn't have breakfast here as it was just to expensive. If breakfast was more affordable it would have been perfect break.
Our room had a bath and complimentary robe and slippers to use. There was also complimentary waters left in the fridge along with a mars bar.(abit random)
Location was good however close to busy road network and the traffic could be heard from the room,

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murcia23w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrWashington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Reviewer

I was delighted to hear what an enjoyable break you had and how friendly the team were.

Thanks for sharing your experience here on Trip Advisor, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future if you visit the North East again.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
369 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Travelodge Washington A1M Southbound
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound
2.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington

Address: Emerson Road, Washington NE37 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range: $65 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Washington is an ideally located hotel, just off the A1M junction 64. Centrally located between, Historic Durham, Sunderland and Newcastle City The hotel offers a 'Go Green' Environmental Room in association with Tree Appealplanting trees on site and across the UK. This is a well established, comfortable hotel, with free car parking, noted for its friendly staff. The Hotel has a Traders Restaurant a newly refurbished lounge and bar area.Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The hotel has 136 fully air conditioned bedrooms, including family and accessible rooms. Only a short drive from Europes largest Shopping Centre - the Metrocentre, Newcastle City Centre, the award winning Beamish Open Air Museum, Sunderland Glass Centre and Durham County Cricket Ground. The North East coastline and Angel of the North are also within close driving distance.*Terms & Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington Hotel Washington
Washington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing