We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super place to stop for Newcastle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were due to pick up my stepdaughter from Newcastle University, tried to book a hotel room in Newcastle, Saturday night, way too busy everywhere. Booked up this Travelodge and we weren't disappointed, bit tricky to find on the way in, it's very well hidden by trees. On the inside it's great, very fresh, clean etc etc. Just what you'd expect and great value for money. The only down side was going to be our motorway service station evening meal, but here's a great tip, there's a pedestrian walkway to the "real world" and a very short walk away is the Tavistock Retro Restaurant, it's a nice pub with an attached Italian Restaurant. We had a brilliant time, lovely staff, good food, great value, recommended.

Room Tip: I'd say that most of the rooms will be well sheltered from motorway noise so no problem there, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 184 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel has just been refurbished so is very pleasant to stay in.
The beds are very comfortable. The room and bathroom were very clean.
There was plenty of hot water.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Spotless, modern, functional, comfy bed and pillows, white soft towels, tea, coffee, wi-fi, television, free car park and easy access to services for food and fuel,and whizzoff on the motorway,vrooom!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed at the Travelodge in Washington (A1 Nth) really convenient for our trip. Staff were really friendly and we chatted about local sights and things to do. We were fully appraised of dining options and we chose the nearby Italian (with Happy hour on food!!!) - great food and drink for little cost - bonus. Good nights sleep in comfortable beds then breakfast at Greggs set us up for the day. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed here on the drive back North and it was just what we needed. Nice comfy beds and the basics of tea and coffee provided. No, as previous reviews have noted it doesn't have a restaurant in it but there are a Costa, Greggs, and Burger King in the stations either side of the Motorway! For what you pay and what we required it was a comfortable and convenient nights stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mistyholly2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a noisy spot, but was close to where I needed to be. The booking site said it had been refurbished. I was pleasantly surprised. Although not my taste in colour scheme or the quality of lighting shades and art work it was a clean room with a comfy bed. The lighting was adequate to read. The reception and general cleanliness of the hotel was good and well maintained. We had this lovely room for £34, which is excellent value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Dorothy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

if you need to stay over in this area either come prepared, ie eat before you arrive and bring something for breakfast with you or stay else where. The hotel itself is really modern, clean, air con and very nice staff but the lack of services at this place would stop me from staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucaloo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#4 of 6 in Washington
808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
369 reviews
0 mi away
Travelodge Washington A1M Southbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
#1 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
101 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound

Address: A1 M | Portobello, Washington DH3 2SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range: $39 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Washington a1( m) Northbound Hotel Washington
Travel Lodge Washington
Washington Travelodge
Washington Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing