We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mercure Washington. Brilliant stays” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mercure Washington. Brilliant stays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Rooms here are wonderful, staff are courteous, friendly and efficient. Food in my opinion (and coach passengers) is excellent quality with great choice of menu. I would rate this hotel 5+
review on behalf of my dad, Dean who is a Shearings driver who uses this hotel every 2 weeks with passengers returning from Scotland. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for your review. I am glad you have had a good stay with us.

See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,

Martin Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    245
    169
    65
    54
See reviews for
153
213
47
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is my second time staying her in just over a year. I wrote a review last year in which I praised the hotel and thought it was ideal for golfers.

2nd time around however and standards have certainly slipped. My main gripe is with the food. Last year, there were around 15 of us staying at the weekend on a DB&B package which allowed us to order from the a la carte menu. The food was very good and served to us at our table. This year, we arrived to find that they have removed the a la carte menu at weekends, and instead we were offered a limited set meal menu, from which the main courses we were expected to go and get ourselves from a buffet!! The standard of food was poor to say the least. Breakfast on the first day wasnt any better, with soggy hash browns and taking 15 mins to replace the scrambled egg, which left around 15 people standing around. (it was better 2nd day, not sure if different chef)

i did try and resolve this with the manager and asked for a part refund of the money we paid, however this was ignored which again is very disappointing. The hotel did offer to treat us better if we come back again next year, but I really cant see that happening now - had they reflected our stay by discounting the bill then I would have been happy.

Other aspects of the hotel?
Rooms - No complaints - clean and fridge in the room was helpful.
Staff - Most very helpful and polite
Golf course - Condition wise, this has slipped a bit from last year too. Rough had been left to grow quite substantially which slowed up the round as a lot of people searched for their golf balls.
location - was only 10 mins or so in a taxi into newcastle town centre (£15 or so).

So to sum up, dont think ill be rushing back, which is a shame as the hotel does have positives but food and customer service has let it down.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markj186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Guest

I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay this year compared to last year.

I would like to assure you that improvements will be implemented from your comments. The gesture of goodwill I offered you and your party was made in a genuine attempt to restore your good faith and reward your loyalty to the hotel and the golf course. I do hope you re-consider as I would very much like to welcome you and your party back to the hotel in 2015.

Kind regards

Martin Hall
General Manager

nd regards, [General Manager Name]
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed here for wedding night and very disappointed. On check in there was a fire Alarm, the reception staff ran from the building and told us to wait a minute, they then went ahead and did there emergency escape plan while we waited at reception, luckily it was a false Alarm. The rio was large but had two beds pushed together which we kept falling down. The balcony outside of the room had bits missing and the wood was rotted so is a health and safety issue and after the cleaners had been there was hair in the bath and on toilet seat. Food was disgusting and staff need to be put on a customer course. Will never stay again and the best Part of this hotel is the road out unless you want a trip back to the early 80s

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allan666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest

I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating this matter. I will ensure improvements are implemented from your comments immediately.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Martin Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed overnight on a special deal with a treatment and meal and breakfast next day!!! Great value for money! Meal was absolutely enormous only managed 2 courses not a criticism mind!!! Staff were brilliant! Treatment was amazing well worth our money!! My only issue would be the jacuzzi needed a clean but we did not notice till it turned off and we could not turn back on!!! This was my second time and I will defo go back!!
Rooms were fab very clean indeed well done George Washington!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I will ensure the Spa Bath cleanliness is reviewed and improved for the future.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Martin Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

fantastic stay lovely spa pool. The room was lovely roomy and comfortable. Didn't have any food as it was a bit pricey and there were other pubs/takeaways nearby. The hot chocolate was lush. The staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Caron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Martin Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights last week and would highly recommend this hotel. From the outside it looks a bit tired and dated so I wasn't expecting too much but was pleasantly surprised.

My bedroom and en-suite was spotless. Even had a decent Iron and board in the ample wardrobe.The breakfast was really good and they fry the eggs to order which is great. The staff were all polite and efficient.

Special mention goes to Gary the duty Manager who never seems to stop but took time to recommend places of interest we may like to visit. Also, when houskeeping forgot to leave my daughter clean towels a quick call to reception saw Gary straight along with fresh towels. Excellent.

If we are ever in the area again we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jellycat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Martin Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Had a fantastic overnight stay over a weekend period. Sat/Sun. The receptionist upon arrival was pleasant and helpful. We had a well furnished room and on the Saturday evening enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant. Good food and excellent service by pleasant staff.
The breakfast the following morning was also very good..
There is a pleasant lounge area where you can sit and chat or watch the TV etc.
We have since returned on Saturday evenings just for a meal in the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Martin Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
3.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Boldon
Quality Hotel Boldon
#1 of 1 in West Boldon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#4 of 6 in Washington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
4.8 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
5.9 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa

Property: Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
Address: Stone Cellar Road | High Usworth, Washington NE37 1PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing