We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angel View Inn(Gateshead)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (927)
Filter reviews
927 results
Traveler rating
300
287
193
84
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
287
193
84
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam roomfour poster beddriving rangesunday lunchgreat nightthe ground floorevening mealcouldn't faulttea and coffeeone night stayfull englishtreatmentfitchfacilitiescarterorangerywedding
Filter
Updating list...
763 - 768 of 927 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed at the hotel . On arrival we were greeted by a charming receptionist. Excellent food in the restaurant. The selection of wines were very good. Golf course is in stunning condition comparable to any championship course. We shall be back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Muzzy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Dear Muzzy 25

Many thanks for your kind review. I’m glad you were impressed all round with your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

I will pass your comments on to the whole team.

Kind regards

Neel Chawla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

After staying at The George Washington perviously for the Great North Run I must say I was very impressed with the overall standards of the hotel once again. Little problem with check in but nothing that could not be sorted efficiently. Room was spacious and modern with a comfortable giant bed. Had dinner in the brasserie first night and was excellent ( sweet potato soup was yum yum). There was a coach party of guests who we got chatting to in the bar and everyone gave this hotel the big thumbs up. Breakfast has a superb selection could not think of anything else people could possibly want. Will definitely be returning and would always use this hotel while in the area. Well done to all.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mini_dill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Dear mini_dill

I’m very glad you have repeatedly found the hotel to be impressive. I will certainly pass your comments regarding the spiced sweet potato soup to our head chef.

Hopefully we shall see you again in September for the next Great North Run.

Kind regards

Neel Chawla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed at the George Washington Hotel for a long weekend (Girls to enjoy the Spa and Guys to play Golf). This hotel delivered on so many levels! The hotel itself was great and the staff there were exceptional in their attitude to customer service and attention to detail. The girls were delighted with their Spa experience and we found the Golf facilities tremendous, especially the course which for this time of year was in the most spectacularlar condition. And as importantly, as anything the break overall was superb value for money. Will DEFINITELY visit again and would DEFINITELY reccomend.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Dear Richard P

I’m very glad you were extremely happy with your stay.

Our golf and beauty teams will be delighted by your remarks. We are also glad you found the hotel to be superb value for money; this is one of our key goals.

We look forward to seeing you in the not so distant future.

Kind regards

Neel Chawla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

If you are used to the usual excellent Mercure standards then this is not for you.

Nicely located adjacent to Golf Course in the quiet leafy village of Usworth midway between Newcastle & Sunderland. Stayed recently for 2 nights.We had a twin room which was clean tidy & adequate with a nice view of tall hedge approx 6 feet from the window which made room rather dark. Bathroom on the small side with toiletries limited to one small bottle of shampoo & one small bottle of shower gel for two people. Meal on first night was fine with good wholesome " no frills" food served.

On return to hotel at end of 2nd day we found we could not get into room. On returning to reception we were told that the room was showing as being vacated as system showed we had " checked out"!

Room key was subsequently updated and we got into our room.

Better was yet to come! We arrived at the Restaurant at our confirmed " pre booked" time of 7.30pm only to be advised that they did not have a record of our table reservation and that if we would like to take a seat in the bar they would call us in about 15 minutes. 15 minutes turned out to be 30 minutes & we were eventually seated and our order was taken. Then things got even better!

My starter of Prawn, Avocado & salmon arrived as a Prawn salad, which was also on the menu & which was very nice , but it was not what I ordered. However to his creditthe Waiter did offer a complimetary glass of wine as some recompense.

The hot breakfast on both mornings was a somewhat dried up unappetising affair.

I have been a Loyalty Card member of the Mercure Group of hotels for some years now & generally would not have any hesitation in recommending them as being reliable for good standards of Customer Service. This hotel based on our experience was not up to "Par".

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timetravellerOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglands, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Dear timetravellerOxford

Thank you for your review and I’m sorry to learn that your stay was not up to par.

I take on board your comments regarding the key card issues & dining experiences. This constructive feedback will be taken on board by the whole team.

I hope that this experience will not deter you from staying with us when you are next in the area.

Kind regards

Neel Chawla

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews