We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but you get what you pay for”

OrangeGrass Thai Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 195 Restaurants in South Shields
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Durham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful but you get what you pay for”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Me and my partner came here about two weeks ago. The service was efficient and the staff were very attentive to our needs. The food was quite expensive to be honest in comparion to other thai restaurants ive been to but the food was beautiful and very well presented. I would suggest a set menu or a special night with discount would help this restaurant would still visit again!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Abbey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    64
    14
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have eaten at Orangegrass about 5 times. It has never disappointed. Lovely food, lovely staff. We have always had the set meals which are good value.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Radler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Exceptional food and service!”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have visited this restaurant numerous times and have been delighted everytime. The food is exceptional and I have only ever been to one other Thai restaurant that has been on par with Orangegrass. A must try is the stir fried black pepper beef and the Som Tam, which is carrot, tomato and cucumber salad with sweet chilli and peanut sauce...sounds bizarre but really flavoursome and quite spicy too, so stay away if you like milder food. My husbands favourite is the duck with tarmarind, which we advises is a must have. Great for kids too they do a Chinese bit on their menu for people who aren’t sure on Thai, and they do a buffet on a Sunday so gives the kids chance to try a few different things which is good. Deserrts are nice too, especially the coconut pancake things, lovely. Little hidden gem in South Shields, but worth a visit (or two).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic each visit”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This a lovely restaurant and the food is exceptional, I have eaten here a number of times over the past few years and never had a bad experience. I would highly recommened this restaurant!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juleskd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
“superb”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is easily my favourite restaurant in South Shields. The service is fantastic and the food is excellent quality. Great decor and a nice atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OrangeGrass Thai Restaurant also viewed

South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to OrangeGrass Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing