We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pieros - fabulously delicious food with a lovely smile :-)”
Review of Pieros

Pieros
Ranked #53 of 195 Restaurants in South Shields
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
“Pieros - fabulously delicious food with a lovely smile :-)”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Well... just been for a lovely meal. My first time... and i have to admit..it was perfect. Delicious food, fantastic service and overall just lovely people. Very welcoming. The atmosphere was beautiful. Defo will recommend and dine there again very soon!! Thank you Pieros :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hijaabix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    24
    10
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wow, amazing food, best i've had”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We went here on a mid week night. 2 courses for £10. The food is excellent as was the service. I had the tomato and mozzarella starter then the chicken and the diane sauce. Both dishes were excellent. The main was one of the nicest I have ever had. Veg was cooked to prefection as was everyone elses on our table of 4. Everyone though this was exceptional. The atmosphere was great too, especially for a mid week (About 4 tables of similar size in).

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good Value Night Out”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Good value specials. Very nice restaurant with lovely friendly staff. Starter, main meal and coffee £7.95. Great food

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dufftown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere but very mediocre food”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Very English “Italian” food. Varied quality; some very average and some very good.

For example: I had a starter of prawns that were meant to be a twist on a prawn cocktail. This was on the specials menu. It was a pile of defrosted frozen prawns (the small ones) a serving of sauce and a small and uninteresting side salad. Nothing special at all.

The main course however, was tasty. Nice pieces of fillet steak with a rick tomato sauce. The separate side salad was also good. The rest of the family also had a good main course.

Deserts were all brought in except the cheesecake which was said to be. Nothing special.

The service was friendly and efficient. We were given a complimentary liquor.

So overall OK. I would probably go again but stick with pasta or pizza. Families with children would really like it. There are lots of places to choose from in the street. With plenty of Asian restaurants; so it is worth looking around. Don't rule this place out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauljohnson303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

In a sea of Indian restaurants on Ocean Road we decided on Pieros. The staff are friendly and welcoming, but the food is where it's at. All of the starters were great, but the main courses were fantastic. The pizzas were obviously made fresh on the premises, unlike Pizza Hut, and were delicious. I had pasta and the arrabiata sauce was amazing.
Probably the best Italian restaurant we have been to in a long while and fantastic value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davem90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pieros also viewed

South Shields, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Pieros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing