We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveler rating
61
79
34
17
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
79
34
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one way system car park small hotel top floor breakfast included biscuits booked this hotel lovely hotel pleasant stay bed was very comfortable breakfast staff tea coffee short stay stayed nights one night stay would stay again excellent value for money
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 205 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2018

Though a little dated and needed a little tlc, our room was quite spacious , we had to wait while room was made up but both given an alcoholic drink while we waited. Staff seemed friendly, our room was at the front , very quiet road and trees outside. Can't remember the number. Breakfast was good too.

Room tip: I think room 15, anyway was at the front.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jaynewithay57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2018

The hotel from the front outside looks ok but inside it desperately needs bringing into the current century. The room we were given was the first room and was very old fashioned, and old furniture, walls with tea splattered up them, electric sockets in weird places, and a very low passage/corridor to the bathroom, If you are taller than 5’2” you will hit your head on the ceiling, and the bathroom leaves a lot to be desired. A double room but bed is two singles pushed together!! The two members of staff we saw were polite and friendly and the breakfast was good, but this hotel is overpriced for the quality of it.

Room tip: Not room 1
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank N T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2018

Stayed 2 nights, reading some previous reviews makes me think "what do you want for the money". This small hotel is situated about 15 minute walk from the town, okay, it needs a little TLC but my room was clean and well presented, the breakfast is excellent, the staff were polite and helpful. Would recommend "the County" pub, 5 minutes away for good value meals.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Danae47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2018

Situated in a very nice area. The building, from the outside, was grand. The inside was quaint. Bedroom 14 was very spacious (double) and I would recommend this room.. Bedroom 10,( a single), was minute. In the car park, there is an area of decking with seating which is pleasant, especially on sunny day. The staff were amazing especially Savine who could not do enough for you.. The breakfast staff were friendly and efficient and the breakfast was well cooked. Evening meal was also fine (£10.00 for main course). The staff are the making of the hotel. They were superb. There was an invisible manager or owner who could only be contacted by phone, I would stay there again if in South Shields

Room tip: room 14 (double) has sun during the afternoon and is spacious
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lunn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2018 via mobile

Well this was my third stay here and, as previously, very good value for money. The single rooms are small but more than adequate. The rooms do probably need a little tlc but the towels, bathroom and bed were all clean. Staff are helpful and friendly and cooked breakfast ensured I didn't need to eat until the evening.
Thanks for an enjoyable stay - I'm sure I'll come back again

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Jude1960_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews