We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good. Apart from breakfast staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sir William Fox Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Shropshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not good. Apart from breakfast staff”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I had a single room. The furthest point away from the entrance. The en suite was tiny. Basin was the size of an egg cup. Couldn't even use the loo without bumping into the walls, the basin etc. TV didn't work. Wifi was touch and go. No bedside lamp or anywhere to put it. Tatty hand towel. The kettle was 3 times the size of the basin and had to fill it with the plastic cup from the 'bathroom'. Car park was a devil to get to. Tea/coffee facilities good although the cup and saucer were different colour/type. The room needed decorating badly. On the positive side. Bed linen was clean, fairly comfortable bed. The breakfast was very good. The staff at breakfast were pleasant and efficient.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    69
    32
    11
    10
See reviews for
34
71
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
clwyd
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

A very pleasant venue set in a historic enclave within a not too historic area. This hotel looks great at the front but you park and enter at the back - with a three minute drive via one way side streets and a back ally! However do not let this put you off. Good rooms in size and decoration with baths and welcome tray plus soaps etc. Good selection of evening meals - for £10.

Breakfast is first class both in content and standard set within a pleasant dinning room. No lift or lounge but for the price - worth a visit. A well priced bar or nearby shop for those who like a drink.

For the fussy - the kitchen smells do rise up through the building and there is no lift or a/c but a great place to stay for a night or two.

Room Tip: Car Park at back - sat nav will take you to front - three min drive around back streets and access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichardClwyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dudley
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night in the Sir William Fox and were not disappointed. On arrival at 11am our rooms were not ready as expected, but we intended to park the car and go meet friends. When asked if they could call us a taxi, we were promptly told "don't worry we will drop you" what can you say about service like that! Our room was ample size with a huge bed, tea, coffee & complimentary toiletries etc. The room had an iron and ironing board also & a large flat screen tv. The bathroom was a little dated but fully functional. Breakfast was great, help yourself to juice, cereal, yoghurt and croissants and served tea, coffee & toast along with a lovely freshly cooked full English, extra toast was no problem.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank dawn1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have never been to South Shields before so this was a new adventure for us. Yes we would almost definitely come back. Our stay at the Sir William Fox Hotel has to be one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at. They offer that extra special personal touch that makes you feel that you are not just a guest. Our room which was 21 was spacious, comfortable and well decorated. Low lights made it very relaxing. The bed was like floating on a cloud and has made me decide we need a new bed. I loved the deep bath and had a good long soak.
I wish we had taken up the option of having breakfast in our room as we did find the dinning room a bit cramped. The breakfast was good value for the money - but sorry the sausages were not the best, But that is just me I am very fussy when it comes to sausages. The hotel does need some updating in the main areas but that falls into insignificance when you are in your own room. I do have one other little thing, our room had a small window as a attic room you could not see out. It was ok for me for 1 night but any longer I would have had to move I just felt hemmed in. Again that is down to my claustrophobia and nothing else
We would definitely go back and would recommend this hotel to friends and family, Many other hotels could learn alot from the staff at this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 21 is large, comfortable and has fantastic lighting. The bed is extremely comfortable and I had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Sadly stayed for only one night, more would have been good. Bright and cheerful staff on arriving, small bar for a drink before dinner which offered a table d'hote menu which was delicious and had that home cooked appeal. The room was clean, albeit a tad small, but it was a single with ensuite facilities. Breakfast again cheerfully served by local girls was excellent. Private parking behind the hotel was a bit of a challenge to find, but safe and secure once located... and the Bill for Bed/Breakfast/3 course Evening Meal/3 Bottles of Peroni = £61. Cannot think of a better value small hotel - Brilliant. South Shields is a bit of an unpolished gem, but this hotel is located out of the centre in the best road in the town.

Room Tip: spend a bit extra if solo, and get a double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyandJoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I was impressed by the cleanliness of this hotel and the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff throughout my stay. My breakfast was cooked individually after placing my order and was delicious. Everything about my stay was at least as good as hotels where I have stayed costing 3 times as much. It is obvious that the owners are making every effort to please their guests and they deserve to succeed.
I was in a single room which was a little bit airless but I slept well nevertheless.
The location is surprisingly secluded and peaceful - not what you'd expect to find in the nearby area. I hope to stay again when I am next in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rneil_hodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I always try and stop when in the area, half the price of comparable hotels, just as good if not better than chain hotels. The only minor issue is that the restaurant has a limited menu, however there is an Italian, Chinese and Indian restaurant within 50 yards, plus 2 pubs one serving food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Busiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Shields
1.4 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
698 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
406 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#4 of 5 in South Shields
64 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Clifton Guest House
Clifton Guest House
#1 of 25 in South Shields
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir William Fox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir William Fox Hotel

Property: Sir William Fox Hotel
Address: 5 Westoe Village, South Shields NE33 3DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sir William Fox Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Sir William Fox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir William Fox Hotel South Shields, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing