We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miles Better Than Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sir William Fox Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed one night in their Suite room, very clean, large and well appointed (with iron, tea, biscuits, big TV, comfy bed etc.). My trip was a bit of a last minute rush and there were very few rooms that night available in South Shields due to some sort of company function; this was the only room I could find on Late Rooms... therefore a surprise that it actually turned out to be a pleasant small hotel with a decent breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheZud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 184 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

this is the second time we have stayed at this hotel,both times on the great north run weekend. both times had a lovely big room on the ground floor, staff were lovely and helpful, breakfast was great lots to choose from. Hopefully will get booked up again for next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pcjules281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed for one night during the Great North Run weekend. Cost was £120 per room with breakfast which Is extortionate seeing that the stay is usually £65 per room but nearly double on this weekend date. We got a very small twin room with bathroom. Clean but drastically in need of updating (Which I think that the hotel are doing). Breakfast very average compared to other hotels or B&B's we have stayed in elsewhere. Nice location & staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheSmashedGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I was going to a christening in the area and decided to stay in South shields the night before.
I had a single room which was clean and very comfortable.
The hotel owners were obviously in the process of updating the hotel and there was evidence of some unfinished jobs, particularly on the second floor where I stayed.
My room did not have a large mirror and when I mentioned this to the lady in reception she very kindly brought one upstairs.
The breakfast was really good and I do think that the rates are low for the comfort and service offered.
The only criticism I would have is that the en-suite was tiny, I'm a size 12 and just managed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

What a lovely small hotel. I found this hotel on line and as we didn't know the area we booked. Boy am I glad we did. The rooms are very comfortable, everywhere was spotlessly clean. The service is excellent and the staff are so helpful and friendly. Unfortunately we had to leave before breakfast, so can't comment on the food. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Not much to say really. Elegant hotel and room with excellent hosts with everything you could hope for in a small hotel . Oh and great rates as well. We happened across the hotel by chance and were a little aprehensive as we did not know South Shields or the hotel. We needn't have been as it was one of the best small hotels/guest houses we have tried. And did not cost much more (in some cases less) than a Travelodge which always leave you wishing you had not stayed although you can't put your finger on why you did!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauristonPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was our first visit to South Shields. We had been to Newcastle a couple of times but never stayed over, we decided to make this recent visit special as it was our daughter’s graduation from Northumbria University. We chose this hotel as a result of reading reviews on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. The hotel is small which makes it friendly and comfortable. Staff at the hotel are welcoming and friendly. We needed assistance a couple of times and nothing appeared too much trouble. The room was very clean and the supply of tea, coffee and milk was plentiful.
Our only complaint was
We have every confidence in recommending this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank banjobob59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Shields
1.0 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
422 reviews
1.4 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
738 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#4 of 5 in South Shields
64 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Rosebank Guest House
Rosebank Guest House
#2 of 25 in South Shields
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir William Fox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir William Fox Hotel

Address: 5 Westoe Village, South Shields NE33 3DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Price Range: $71 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sir William Fox Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sir William Fox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir William Fox Hotel South Shields, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing