We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“jules and andy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sir William Fox Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
kent
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“jules and andy”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

this is the second time we have stayed at this hotel,both times on the great north run weekend. both times had a lovely big room on the ground floor, staff were lovely and helpful, breakfast was great lots to choose from. Hopefully will get booked up again for next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pcjules281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    69
    32
    12
    10
See reviews for
35
71
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed for one night during the Great North Run weekend. Cost was £120 per room with breakfast which Is extortionate seeing that the stay is usually £65 per room but nearly double on this weekend date. We got a very small twin room with bathroom. Clean but drastically in need of updating (Which I think that the hotel are doing). Breakfast very average compared to other hotels or B&B's we have stayed in elsewhere. Nice location & staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSmashedGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I was going to a christening in the area and decided to stay in South shields the night before.
I had a single room which was clean and very comfortable.
The hotel owners were obviously in the process of updating the hotel and there was evidence of some unfinished jobs, particularly on the second floor where I stayed.
My room did not have a large mirror and when I mentioned this to the lady in reception she very kindly brought one upstairs.
The breakfast was really good and I do think that the rates are low for the comfort and service offered.
The only criticism I would have is that the en-suite was tiny, I'm a size 12 and just managed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

What a lovely small hotel. I found this hotel on line and as we didn't know the area we booked. Boy am I glad we did. The rooms are very comfortable, everywhere was spotlessly clean. The service is excellent and the staff are so helpful and friendly. Unfortunately we had to leave before breakfast, so can't comment on the food. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Not much to say really. Elegant hotel and room with excellent hosts with everything you could hope for in a small hotel . Oh and great rates as well. We happened across the hotel by chance and were a little aprehensive as we did not know South Shields or the hotel. We needn't have been as it was one of the best small hotels/guest houses we have tried. And did not cost much more (in some cases less) than a Travelodge which always leave you wishing you had not stayed although you can't put your finger on why you did!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauristonPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was our first visit to South Shields. We had been to Newcastle a couple of times but never stayed over, we decided to make this recent visit special as it was our daughter’s graduation from Northumbria University. We chose this hotel as a result of reading reviews on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. The hotel is small which makes it friendly and comfortable. Staff at the hotel are welcoming and friendly. We needed assistance a couple of times and nothing appeared too much trouble. The room was very clean and the supply of tea, coffee and milk was plentiful.
Our only complaint was
We have every confidence in recommending this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banjobob59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Smashing small hotel in westoe village which was perfect location for us visiting freinds
The staff were great and the breakfast was superb
Allthough a great little hotel we did run out of hot water on our last day .. but it would not put us off coming back

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Shields hotels
1.4 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
702 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
407 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#4 of 5 in South Shields
64 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clifton Guest House
Clifton Guest House
#1 of 25 in South Shields
163 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rosebank Guest House
Rosebank Guest House
#2 of 25 in South Shields
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir William Fox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir William Fox Hotel

Property: Sir William Fox Hotel
Address: 5 Westoe Village, South Shields NE33 3DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sir William Fox Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sir William Fox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir William Fox Hotel South Shields, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing