We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forest Guest House”
Review of Forest Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Forest Guest House
Ranked #4 of 25 South Shields B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Met at the door by Janet, who immediately made us feel welcome. We had a double,en-suite room, which, although a little small, was perfectly adequate for our needs. The room was well furnished and spotlessly clean. The delicious breakfast, that was cooked to order, set us up for the day. Ocean Road is famous for its restaurants, Curries, Italian or just a chippie, the choice is yours. The smells in the street were just amazing, but just as important, there was no hint of them when you were in the Hotel. I will definately be using this Hotel in the future and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inky497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 190 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed on Monday evening. Arrived after a very long drive late afternoon - Janet and Peter had taken the trouble to check my arrival time so they could be there to meet me - a very nice touch and greatly appreciated.

Immediately felt at home - they run a very slick, professional B&B with a great approach to guest welfare and comfort. Easy to find and parking no problem. I was given very good advice about eating out for supper and where to go for a quiet pint.

The room was very comfortable and very well-appointed. Good quality fittings and furniture, tasteful decoration, spotlessly clean and almost as individual as a small boutique hotel. In fact, I've stayed in (too) many hotels who could learn a great deal from this lovely and very attentive couple!

Breakfast was cooked individually and the small dining room is nicely laid out with plenty of space.

Full marks in every respect and outstanding value for money. Thank you both so much for making my short visit such a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I've stayed for 3 nights whilst visiting for Uni open days. I've been made to feel really welcome, the single room is ideal with TV and free Wi-Fi, and I've slept better here than I have in my own house! The breakfast is delicious and I haven't left still feeling hungry on any of the days I've been here. Both South Shields metro station and bus station are a really short 5 minute walk away which is ideal. If not staying with my friends, I shall definitely be staying here again next time I visit!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rory N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

South Shields!...was the place to be this summer when my fiance and I went up (from Portsmouth) to see our friends and attend the sister's graduation.
We stayed from the 8th till the 12th of July.
Great things:
- Very clean! Partner even did a "wipe" test for fun against the head board. No dust! :-D
- Super comfy bed. Fell right to sleep peacefully. Don't let it put you off if it is on a busy street! - you can't tell :)
- Extra milk provided as we like our coffee's milky. Thank you!
- Free choccy's left on the bed...always a pleasure ;)
- Power shower kept us feeling fighting fresh each morning.
- Janet was lovely~ She sure makes killer fried eggs! Soft yolk each time, Yum.

What more could you want from a B&B eh(?) ;)

[N.B: We can't really comment on the tourist aspect as I used to live in South Shields not too long ago. But the extra tidbits from Janet kept us amused!]

Room Tip: Nice views from the twin top room. Get to see the night time hustle and bustle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HoshihiMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Myself my wife and two friends have just stayed for two bites at this gem of a place. The room is superb king size bed beautiful bathroom excellent food. The location is perfect the hosts very welcoming. We will recommend the forest to everyone fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ernestdalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

From the efficient booking by phone/email to a warm welcome on arrival, a comfortable double king size bed and all mod cons it was obvious we had found a quality place to stay. A comprehensive breakfast selection set us up for the day and, should the weather not be good (it was fine the whole time for us!) their is an excellent DVD library. Janet was a mine of useful information and a great ambassador for South Shields.

Room Tip: Phone Janet and discuss your requirements and she will oblige if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Shields hotels
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
0.5 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
745 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 5 in South Shields
184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#4 of 5 in South Shields
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clifton Guest House
Clifton Guest House
#1 of 25 in South Shields
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Guest House

Address: 117 Ocean Road, South Shields NE33 2JL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in South Shields
Price Range: $62 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FOREST GUEST HOUSE. We are a 4 star silver accolade guest house and cater to those who like Quality, Comfort, Relaxed atmosphere and Hospitality at an affordable price in relation to all other guest houses in South Shields. All rooms have en-suite, well stocked hospitality tray, flat screen TV, sky, DVD library, hair dryer, safe, fridge. Arrive as a guest and leave as a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Forest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Guest House South Shields, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing