We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated, over priced”
Review of Little Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Little Haven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We woudl strongly recommend people NOT to stay atthis hotel.
We overheard at the reception desk hat the previous occupants had been physically sick and left a mess. When we got to the room it was as if they had tipped a gallon of air freshener and the odour was over powering......awful !
We had troube sleeping as there was incessant yapping from dogs in the room opposite. When we complained they said it was the owners dogs and that their policy allowed pets in the hotel.
The room heating didnt work though to be fair they were quick to provide additional mobile heaters.
The restaurant was not open in the evening. The only food available was sandwishes, but you had to order these before 4pm.
Certainly not worth the £122 per night and certainly not value for money when compared to Travel Lodges and Premier Inns who have accommodation which is far superior.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RJFHighWycombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graham2009, Manager at Little Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

In response to the reveiw from RJF High Wycombe.

According to our records there is no evidence of room allocated had being soiled in any way and our Company Policy for such incidents is to put the room Out of Service until a deep clean has taken place. We cannot explain why the guest would have allegedly over heard such a conversation. The Hotel often uses plug ins in our rooms to enhance the guests experience, we are sorry that the guest felt that the room odour was over powering.

We were alerted to dogs yapping in a room at 2-30pm and immediately contacted the guest to ask if they could remove the dogs as a guest in an adjacent room was trying to have an afternoon nap, the dogs were removed within less than 5 minutes.

On arrival the guest was informed of the Catering arrangements and informed the receptionist that it was fine as they were eating out. A false objection me thinks.

The guest was asked by a senior manager if everything had been to their satisfaction on departure and this was confirmed.

We were somewhat suprised by the comments as the only issue raised during their stay was the disturbance by the dogs, which was rectified almost immediately.

Graham Davidson

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 749 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

Located at the mouth of the Tyne giving marvelous views. Next to the Little Haven Beach and nearby parks. Miles of coastal walks.Restruant looks out over the Tyne estuary with ships passing. Very good buffet breakfast.Very friendly staff.Nice rooms with views.Plenty of parking space. Within walking distance of the Metro to Newcastle.

Room Tip: Ask for a river or sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Having stayed at the Little Haven on a number of occasions for both business and pleasure I am delighted to say that i have always had a 100% excellent experience with the Little Haven Hotel.
The staff are friendly and accomodating. Polite and courteous. Nothing is too much trouble.
The food is excellent and the location is amazing. Having stayed in standard rooms Junior suites and on occasions the Penthouse Suite I would state that the rooms and service are of excellent quality and the prices are very reasonable. I have tried breakfasts both in the Boardwalk and via room service and "sumptious" is the word that springs to mind. Plenty of choice for all palates. In the evening the menus are varied and again reasonably priced. A choice of Table D'hote or A La carte - last visit we tried the Friday Steak Night which was great.
For anybody searching Trip Advisor with a view to staying at the Little Haven I would say - Go and see for yourself - you'll be pleasantly suprised.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We paid £125 for a suite which was just a large family room and was similar to what you would expect if you had paid to stay in a travel lodge or premier inn, if not worse! To add insult to injury the hotel then charged us an extra £50 as they claimed we had smoked in the room, and neither myself or my partner smoke. After calling the hotel I was told they would ask someone in accounts to call me back and this was weeks ago and I am still waiting. If you like paying over the odds for what I would rate as a two star hotel then make this your 1st choice, otherwise please find a budget hotel and save your money. One final note the hotel has lots of parties and the noise is terrible, you can also hear everything from the adjoining rooms, I could not get to sleep until 2.30am

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

South Shields is a town at the north part of England....It is surrounded by the river Tyne and the sea....which makes its landscsape so beautiful. The Little Haven Hotel is located in front of the sea and by the side of the river. At night we can see the lighthouse from the room and it propitiates a magical atmosphere. It is nice to stay at the restaurant (covered by glass), so we can see the ships passing away while we have breakfast, lunch or dinner.... It is a charming hotel, with tools to make your own tea at the room, eating nice biscuits. The bed is comfortable and the bathroom (with a bath) is clean. And of course the british staff is very polite...

Room Tip: It is important to ask for a room with view to the sea and preferently at the first floor. Thats wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoselyMaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times over recent years. However, on this visit we found the sheets were still dirty (cleaned but dirt marks had not come off), the number of towels was wrong (one set for 2 people booked) and problems with a light fitting made the whole room feel a bit shoddy. We did get a new set of towels (still a bit wet) and the electrician said it wasn't the bulb and someone would come back to fix the fitting. Still a convenient hotel in a nice location but the management should keep on top of things.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KegsPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graham2009, General Manager at Little Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

We thank you for your constructive comments.

A thorough investigation has been carried out and action taken. The light fittings in all the rooms have been checked and a higher quality bulb is now being used. We have spoken with the Laundry Company and the room maids regarding attention to detail The room should have contained two towel bales and please accept our apologies for this oversight.

Graham Davidson


General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed at this Hotel for three nights in October of this year - found the hotel to be very clean and comfortable and the staff helpful and very friendly - the hotel provides an excellent choice at breakfast - very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SE64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Shields
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
436 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 5 in South Shields
185 reviews
0.9 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#4 of 5 in South Shields
66 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sunderland
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Haven Hotel

Address: River Drive, South Shields NE33 1LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Price Range: $90 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Little Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Your Hotel Little Haven
Little Haven Hotel South Shields, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing