We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Rooms need updating especially bathrooms. Rooms too hot. No air conditioning, so with windows open fair ground noise and traffic. Mattresses very old. All a bit shabby. Clean linen piled up in hallway not a good look, plus a WHS issue. Cooked breakfast very good. Overall poor standard very disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gildea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 436 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The hotel rooms are comfortable, clean and more than adequate for a trip to the coast. The bathrooms could do with decorating and tidying up. This pales into insignificance when you meet the team. The Manageress, her husband, the lovely lad who served our food, the staff on reception ..... all of them were brilliant.
I have never been anywhere, in any Country and been shown the level of customer care we were given. It was like visiting family. We had to be up and off early so they opened the kitchen early, for 12 of us! Even the dogs were made very, very welcome.
I cant say anymore really other than if you want a great trip, great service in a lovely atmosphere where even the locals treat you as friends, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the generators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Would highly recommend The Sea Hotel, Very friendly and helpful Staff,breakfast on a Sunday is between 8_10, we (12 in our party) had to leave the Hotel at 7.30am as we were going to an event , the staff came in early so we wouldn't miss out on our breakfast... Had evening meal and breakfast, food was fresh, tasty, and good value...rooms very clean and well equipped , beds comfy, Plenty of tea.coffee, milk etc which is always a plus for me.. i would certainly recommend this very friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juleslufcpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Marrieanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank lilatoff
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Shields
0.5 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
749 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
1 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 5 in South Shields
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#4 of 5 in South Shields
66 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
5.1 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sunderland
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Sea Hotel

Address: Sea Road, South Shields NE33 2LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Price Range: $64 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Sea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flat screen television. Freeview and terrestrial channels. Free High Speed Wi-Fi Internet connection. Direct dial telephone. Hairdryer. Trouser press. Tea & coffee making facilities. All come as standard in Best Western - The Sea Hotel bedrooms. Our hotel annex provides five extra bedrooms for disabled customers. Secured private car park. Friendly Pub. Private restaurant. Bar. Conference & Event rooms. We have everything you need for a relaxing enjoyable stay at the Sea Hotel in South Shields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western The Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Shields
South Shields Best Western
Best Western Newcastle Upon Tyne
Best Western The Sea Hotel South Shields, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing