We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind assistance makes you inclined to give them business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Short day trip to South Shields with my 82 year old mother. We had fond memories of when I was young. Mam is not so mobile these days, and needed a toilet. Rather than using a public toilet which wasn't easy to park at, I pulled into a nearby disabled parking spot adjacent to the Sea Hotel, and asked if under the circumstances, we could use their facilities. The reception staff were first class, and bearing in mind we weren't staying at the hotel, couldn't have been more helpful. They allowed access to the hotel car park which was next to their disabled toilet facility. The hotel seemed very busy so is obviously a popular venue. We were very impressed with the help offered, and this certainly makes us more inclined to give them some business on our next visit with the family to South Shields. Much appreciated. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familydiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 436 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel was very nice, lovely bedroom and although it overlooked the fairground and the roundabout it was very quiet. Breakfast was served in a very nice area and was excellent. Another plus was plenty of parking. Other eating places and parks within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heaneyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My Wife and I have been to this Hotel on several occassions on Holiday. The Car Park is good because you don't have to pay any Extra's. Breakfast was very Good and the Staff-Including ''Chris'' who always had a Smile on his Face was a good Start to the Day. We had a Problem with the Television getting the right Channel but, we had a Word and it was soon sorted.Plenty of Sands and Parks at South Shields and they are Remodernizing the Town up bit-by-bit. The Fair Ground was very Quiet whether its the time of the Year I Don't Know.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a night and had no complaints. Very comfy bed, free Internet and secure car park. Reception helpful and only issue I had was with a window that wasn't sealed properly and as it seemed to be the windiest night it made a lot of noise. I let the hotel reception know and they said it would be sorted. Will use the hotel again when staying in the area for work.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnewsham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Me and my husband stayed for our wedding anniversary and it was amazing we will be back in the summer to stay longer the staff were great and we had a lovely walk along the pier and the beach we would recommend the hotel to our friends old and new xx

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brunoangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Sea Hotel is gradually being refurbished and our room was very nice. The only down side in the room was the Fan in the bathroom was extremley loud. The Restaurant was excellent and food was plentiful and good. Breakfast was also very good. The staff are all friendly and well versed in their jobs.
We also particularly liked the fact that the staff were locals, from South Shields. We will be going there again and in fact as we have relatives living nearby it will make a really good base for our visits.
On the down side there is no lift, so if you are disabled or elderly you will need help with your baggage.

Room Tip: Try to make sure you are in the main building and not the annex. You will have a choice of a Sea/Fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aitchraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Recent overnight stay after a wedding, pre booked online Last October!!!. Thought I'd got a good rate as using internet...Wrong, our Friends booked fairly recently and were £20,00 cheaper. Room on first floor overlooked the main road and the fun fair complex...I'd requested a room with sea views and fairly quiet. Room was VERY HOT, unable to alter the central heating, so had to take the cover off the heavy quilt and use that only and windows HAD to be opened all night. Shower was very fiddly, kept going into bath water, but the room was clean. Breakfast was excellent though, waiter very efficient and reception helpful, although even she was puzzled by my room rate and the general pricing of the rooms at certain times.
I was disappointed by this hotel, but if you want a seaside/funfair location for a night or two it is a reasonable choce. Beware no lifts, so lots of stairs

Room Tip: Believe the best view rooms on the 2nd floor, ensure ask for a room not facing the main road/funfair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geordiemac9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Shields
0.5 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
749 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
1 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 5 in South Shields
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#4 of 5 in South Shields
66 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
5.1 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sunderland
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Sea Hotel

Address: Sea Road, South Shields NE33 2LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Price Range: $63 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Sea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flat screen television. Freeview and terrestrial channels. Free High Speed Wi-Fi Internet connection. Direct dial telephone. Hairdryer. Trouser press. Tea & coffee making facilities. All come as standard in Best Western - The Sea Hotel bedrooms. Our hotel annex provides five extra bedrooms for disabled customers. Secured private car park. Friendly Pub. Private restaurant. Bar. Conference & Event rooms. We have everything you need for a relaxing enjoyable stay at the Sea Hotel in South Shields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western The Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Shields
South Shields Best Western
Best Western Newcastle Upon Tyne
Best Western The Sea Hotel South Shields, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing