We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Britannia Guest House(South Shields)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Clifton Guest House(South Shields)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantis Guest House(South Shields)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athol House(South Shields)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sir William Fox Hotel(South Shields)
$72
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsmere Guest House(South Shields)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Shore Guest House(South Shields)(Great Value!)
$76
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Annie's Guest House(South Shields)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little Haven Hotel(South Shields)
$72
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elmswood Guest House(South Shields)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveler rating
179
125
86
42
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
179
125
86
42
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftbit datedmain restaurantwedding receptioncourse mealfor sunday lunchmy dadfull englishtea and coffeestaff were brilliantchecking outnight staybirthday partycomfortable roomfamily roombiscuitsexcellent value for money
Filter
Updating list...
359 - 364 of 459 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Me and my husband stayed for our wedding anniversary and it was amazing we will be back in the summer to stay longer the staff were great and we had a lovely walk along the pier and the beach we would recommend the hotel to our friends old and new xx

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brunoangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Sea Hotel is gradually being refurbished and our room was very nice. The only down side in the room was the Fan in the bathroom was extremley loud. The Restaurant was excellent and food was plentiful and good. Breakfast was also very good. The staff are all friendly and well versed in their jobs.
We also particularly liked the fact that the staff were locals, from South Shields. We will be going there again and in fact as we have relatives living nearby it will make a really good base for our visits.
On the down side there is no lift, so if you are disabled or elderly you will need help with your baggage.

Room Tip: Try to make sure you are in the main building and not the annex. You will have a choice of a Sea/Fun Fair view, or a Park veiw. Both are very pleasant.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aitchraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Recent overnight stay after a wedding, pre booked online Last October!!!. Thought I'd got a good rate as using internet...Wrong, our Friends booked fairly recently and were £20,00 cheaper. Room on first floor overlooked the main road and the fun fair complex...I'd requested a room with sea views and fairly quiet. Room was VERY HOT, unable to alter the central heating, so had to take the cover off the heavy quilt and use that only and windows HAD to be opened all night. Shower was very fiddly, kept going into bath water, but the room was clean. Breakfast was excellent though, waiter very efficient and reception helpful, although even she was puzzled by my room rate and the general pricing of the rooms at certain times.
I was disappointed by this hotel, but if you want a seaside/funfair location for a night or two it is a reasonable choce. Beware no lifts, so lots of stairs

Room Tip: Believe the best view rooms on the 2nd floor, ensure ask for a room not facing the main road/funfair if you want peace from noise
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geordiemac9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Hotel reception staff no very helpful, difficult to get sandwiches mid afternoon, staff not overly willing to serve.
Rooms clean shower water pressure poor and hot water only tepid
Cleaners start early and are very loud
Although an excellent location the hotel is in need of some interior decoration would only stay if no other accommodation available .
Hotel is not what it used to be "the best in town" now it is only average at best

Room Tip: Go to an other hotel
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Have just spent 3 nights (2rooms) the hotel was ideally situated for us and the staff were friendly however, the hotel is at best mediocre. After check in found the phone did not work, reported to staff and was still not working when we left. No explanation of issue, shower was appalling, almost no pressure and flow rate. Bathroom door would not close, tv system remote not working, and just to top it all the room key card failed on 4 occasions which required the replacement/reprogramming of the card. This hotel is in great need of refurbishment.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at Best Western The Sea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to pass on your views. Firstly i hope you will accept my appologie, i spoke to you on your way out when you reported the phone, i promptly tried a brand new phone but unfortunatly this did not work, we have contacted our supplier to repair. I assume that the remote was working as you did not report this when reporting the phone, We use universal remotes on occasions they need to be reprogramed with a simple code to make them work it is working correctly now. I have asked maintenance to check the bathroom door and shower. it is unusual for the key cards to fail, we use a system designed for hotels, i will continue to monitor.
Regards
Alan Watson General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews