We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Recent stay”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Have just spent 3 nights (2rooms) the hotel was ideally situated for us and the staff were friendly however, the hotel is at best mediocre. After check in found the phone did not work, reported to staff and was still not working when we left. No explanation of issue, shower was appalling, almost no pressure and flow rate. Bathroom door would not close, tv system remote not working, and just to top it all the room key card failed on 4 occasions which required the replacement/reprogramming of the card. This hotel is in great need of refurbishment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at Best Western The Sea Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to pass on your views. Firstly i hope you will accept my appologie, i spoke to you on your way out when you reported the phone, i promptly tried a brand new phone but unfortunatly this did not work, we have contacted our supplier to repair. I assume that the remote was working as you did not report this when reporting the phone, We use universal remotes on occasions they need to be reprogramed with a simple code to make them work it is working correctly now. I have asked maintenance to check the bathroom door and shower. it is unusual for the key cards to fail, we use a system designed for hotels, i will continue to monitor.
Regards
Alan Watson General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    109
    76
    40
    25
See reviews for
117
124
12
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tyne and Wear
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We decided to pop into the Sea Hotel for lunch as we had not been for a long time. The staff were very helpful and we were soon seated in the restaurant ordering drinks and with an extensive menu in front of us. There were lots of dishes to choose from.

We all had steak mince and leek pudding with lots of vegetables and lovely chips. The food was good and certainly filled us up! No room for pudding!

Both waiters were very friendly and helpful. Thank you we will definetely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanshort62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Friendly people and helpful service are a big plus point at this hotel.
There is good, secure private parking immediately adjacent to the hotel reserved for guests. Reception staff are helpful and efficient. The bar and restaurant areas are smart and comfortable and it was pleasing to see crisp white tablecloths and napkins in the main restaurant.
Our bedroom might be described as of adequate size and, overall, was reasonably comfortable, in keeping with a 3 star hotel. The en suite bathroom was clean but a little dated in appearance. There are special rooms for those with limited mobility, adjacent to the car park with good access to the main restaurant and ground floor of the hotel.
The hotel is directly opposite South Shields pier and there is an amusement area with rides etc that might be noisy in the summer high season - so do ask for a quiet room if visiting at this time. There was a wide choice of things for breakfast which is served in the main restaurant area. Service at breakfast was quick, efficient and friendly.
The main shopping streets of South Shields, including a Metro station, are within 10-15 minutes walk. There are also numerous small restaurants and curry houses in the area, as well as an award-winng fish & chip shop!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in high season - see review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We chose the Sea Hotel for a family meal to celebrate my mams 80th birthday - there were 24 of us including 3 young children. From making the original booking to the end of the evening the service we received was exceptional. We had a private area and the hotel had set out the table and decorated it lovely with personalised menus and tastefull balloons. Even though we had a full choice menu they offered to anything we wanted and without exception the meals were fantastic. We received personal service and everyone was friendly and couldn't do enough for us - everything we asked for was done with a smile. I would highly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2013

A friend recommended the Sea Hotel as the ideal place to celebrate my 60th birthday and, I have to say, it was a great choice. Gigantic cloth napkins. A baffling array of cutlery. A hovering waiter. Brisk and polite service. And then of course there was the food... It was like the restaurant scene in 'When Harry met Sally'. Oh YES! Oh YESSSSSS! I am always impressed when a crispy salmon fishcake is just that: a tasty light starter that leaves room for the main course. I had chicken in a glorious brandy sauce with vegetables that were just slightly crisp but still cooked: maybe not to everyone's taste, but healthy and contemporary. Our waiter, Chris, assured us that we could order softer veg if so desired. He also recommended a fresh young Pinot Grigio that slipped down a treat. I would have preferred a lighter dessert: creme brulee or panna cotta; however, the black cherry 'bomb' was certainly exploding with black cherries and the Irish coffee and mints that followed made a perfect end to the evening. When I logged in to Tripadvisor I was surprised to see that one of our guests had beaten me to it and had written a very positive review. In July our host for the evening will be celebrating his own 60th birthday, so we hope the Sea Hotel will give us the same warm welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Where to start. from arriving at the reception desk to paying our bill, a significantly high standard of customer service was received. Before dining, we had a drink in the bar area. spacious yet still warm and welcoming with friendly staff. The restaurant itself is totally first class. immaculate white table cloths and a really well presented table. relaxing music was played at low volume in the background. Our waiter 'Chris' was extremely helpful and always there when we needed something. He was able to join with the occasional conversation as he served us while still remaining extremely professional. He was able to recommend a delicious wine based on the food that we had ordered. The food itself was excellent in my book. It was well presented and absolutely delicious. also, the portion sizes were perfect for us. A satisfying quantity of food that didn't leave you feeling like you had overindulged. The Sea Hotel provides a warm and friendly atmosphere, while still providing that excellent standard of customer service. I must also mention that all of the staff were wearing tidy, well laundered uniforms. most professional. Everyone did all they could to make our visit enjoyable. We will certainly be returning in the future. Also, extremely good value for money. we all had a four course meal and we shared a bottle of wine. It came to less than £25 a head. I expected it to be rather pricey but was pleasantly surprised. Sea Hotel, Don't change a thing!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Where do I start? We held an 85th Party for my Dad in the Schooner Suite on 23rd February and booked accommodation for 20 plus of our Family and Friends. All I can say is WOW what a night. From first meeting with Alan Watson the Manager to plan the event right through to the end of the party everyting was first class.
The party itself has had comments including "Best Party Ever" and "When can we do it again".Everything was perfect and the staff were fab.
My family who stayed in the Hotel many of whom use major large hotel chains through their work passed comment on the Hospitality and friendlyness of Staff and everyone enjoyed their breakfasts the next morning - perfect hangover cure I think!!!
Could I take this opportunity to pass on all our sincere thanks to Alan Watson and his team for providing such a professional but extremely friendly service to all our family and friends and helping make my Dads 85th Birthday extra special.

This maybe a 3star Hotel but the Staff give 5star service

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Shields
0.5 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
698 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
1.0 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 5 in South Shields
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
669 reviews
0.7 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#4 of 5 in South Shields
64 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Sea Hotel

Property: Best Western The Sea Hotel
Address: Sea Road, South Shields NE33 2LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Sea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flat screen television. Freeview and terrestrial channels. Free High Speed Wi-Fi Internet connection. Direct dial telephone. Hairdryer. Trouser press. Tea & coffee making facilities. All come as standard in Best Western - The Sea Hotel bedrooms. Our hotel annex provides five extra bedrooms for disabled customers. Secured private car park. Friendly Pub. Private restaurant. Bar. Conference & Event rooms. We have everything you need for a relaxing enjoyable stay at the Sea Hotel in South Shields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Shields
South Shields Best Western
Best Western Newcastle Upon Tyne
Best Western The Sea Hotel South Shields, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing