We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous weekend visiting family and friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“fabulous weekend visiting family and friends”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend in south Shields.Our stay at the Sea Hotel was excellant wonderful friendly staff clean and comfortable hotel very good room 113 clean with a comfortable bed bathroom very good and clean lovely shower with plenty of hot water.Tea,coffee,hot chocolate and biscuits.Breakfast was truly excellant and well cooked once again served with the usual south shields friendliness.The hotel has a brilliant location either overlooking the beach or boating lake in the park.I lived in South Shields nearly all my life but now live near Peterborough so it was great to come home.Dont hesitate book this hotel we certainly will for any future visits.THANKS FOR A LOVELY STAY

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimandmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at Best Western The Sea Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments.
Regards
Alan Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    107
    75
    40
    22
See reviews for
115
117
12
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband & I stayed for 1 night 24.11.2012. We were going to Sunderland greyhounds for the night. We arrived at 2pm and checked in, the 2 female staff on the desk at reception were extremely welcoming and very helpful with questions we had. We went up to the room, 115 on the 1st floor (no lift). It was a very pleasant room, a kettle & a selection of teas and coffees were on a small table along with 2 packets of biscuits. The room was certainly more than adequate for us. A double bed with a side table for each of us and a side light each, at the foot of the bed there was a tv mounted on the wall.There was a trouser press and a full length mirror neear the window and on the opposite wall was a dressing table with a mirror. As we entered the room there was a wardrobe behind the door and a bathroom opposite the room door. There was a lockable door to the bathroom. The shower is not the most powerful, but it was more than adequate, at least the bathroom was spotless with white towels & some toiletries supplied. We unpacked & went into the town for a wander, when we returned we stopped off at the hotel bar, we were welcomed by the bar manager, Mark. Wonderful service and made conversation with us as if we were regulars at the bar. we mentioned we would need a taxi for later on, he booked it for us with a reputable taxi company.
We arrived back late that night and were greeted by the night staff. We were certainly mane very welcome by all the staff. Going for breakfast in the morning a couple of the staff asked if we had a good night at the race track, it was nice to know they remembered what we were staying there for and there were quite a lot of people at breakfast so we were not just 2 of very few people staying there that night.
A good selection of cold breakfast items and then we were asked what we would like to order for a cooked breakfast. A full English was supplied with a pot of tea and a pot of coffee with some slices of toast.
`We would both recommend this hotel, very clean and friendly, good sized room and a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at Best Western The Sea Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments.
Regards
Alan Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We recently held our annual club dinner in The Schooner Suite. It was absolutely fantastic. The whole team could not have done any more for us on the night. For guests to be able to choose from a menu on the night is great, and once again, the food was superb. A great night had by all. Can't wait to arrange next year's event!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at Best Western The Sea Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments.

Regards
Alan Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Decided to eat at the hotel for our 22nd wedding anniversary, we actually had our wedding reception there all those years ago. The staff were friendly and welcoming, had drinks in The Schooner Bar, very cosy and comfortable. The menu in the restaurant was good quality and value for money. The meal itself was beautiful, every thing cooked and presented beautifully. The service was spot on, relaxed and friendly but not too friendly. Would I go back ... oh yes. Looking forward to our next meal there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBionicMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at Best Western The Sea Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments

Regards
Alan Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We attended for the 70's /80's party night and for what we paid we cannot complain. Although the room was busy and it took time to order meals and have them served the food was lovely, hot and well cooked. The entertainment was great and everyone enjoyed the singing and dancing. we will book again. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reddon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at Best Western The Sea Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. The party nights are very popular and usually events are full, we tend to wait for all customers to arrive before starting, sorry if this caused any delays for your table. sounds like you had a good night we hope to see you at one of our future events.

Regards
Alan Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We held our parents Golden Wedding here 13/10/12 which turned out to be the most magical evening with memories made, never to be forgotton! The staff were second to none not only for their service during the evening which proved to be excellent but also for their patience with myself and sisters in the preparatory days and hours prior as great attention was paid to every minute detail.
The food was as described, both hot and cold buffet, with nothing being a problem to provide.
The sparkling toast was as expected and provided timely for the speech.
The music had been requested from a specific year and again provided without any problems with the added extra of an exceptional presenter.
What a fabulous experienced team across the board from Manager downwards!
Thankyou to Mr Watson and his fantastic team!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at Best Western The Sea Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, i will pass them on to the staff involved.

Regards
Alan Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We recently held the post funeral reception for my mother-in-law here . It was mid morning and so rather than the usual cold buffet, the hotel laid on traditional english breakfast / hot sandwiches / danish pastries and croissants etc as well as tea and coffee. The room also had a bar. I have to say that the whole experience was excellent, from the food, to the service and the table settings. I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a similar function. My grateful thanks to all the staff involved

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank malnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at Best Western The Sea Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments, i will pass your comments onto the staff involved.

Regards
Alan Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Shields
0.5 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#4 of 5 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#5 of 5 in South Shields
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Sea Hotel

Property: Best Western The Sea Hotel
Address: Sea Road, South Shields NE33 2LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Sea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flat screen television. Freeview and terrestrial channels. Free High Speed Wi-Fi Internet connection. Direct dial telephone. Hairdryer. Trouser press. Tea & coffee making facilities. All come as standard in Best Western - The Sea Hotel bedrooms. Our hotel annex provides five extra bedrooms for disabled customers. Secured private car park. Friendly Pub. Private restaurant. Bar. Conference & Event rooms. We have everything you need for a relaxing enjoyable stay at the Sea Hotel in South Shields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Shields
South Shields Best Western
Best Western Newcastle Upon Tyne
Best Western The Sea Hotel South Shields, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing