We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Masonic Ladies Night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Masonic Ladies Night”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

On Saturday 20th October the Hotel prepared the function room to an absolute dream, I spent a good three hours helping to prepare for the nights function, I left at approx 3pm being happy with what we had achieved. I returned at 18-30 hrs and the staff had transformed the room into a magic place where we went on to have a spledid evening, I would like to thank all the staff concerned especially June who led the team. I would highly recommend the Hotel to anyone wishing to use the facilities.
Thank you for a great night
Duncan Pentland

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at Best Western The Sea Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Many thanks for your comments; sounds like a great night was had by all. i will pass your comments onto June and the team.


Regards
Alan Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    109
    76
    40
    25
See reviews for
117
124
12
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Visited hotel for an organized function, from the decorated room to the end of the evening my wife and i had a memorable night. The service from the staff was first class and even though the catering was for a large number of people the choices and the meal itself were excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jawuudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at Best Western The Sea Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments, i will pass them onto the team.

Regards
Alan Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel is in a good location right on the sea front. I was visiting out of season so the hotel was not full. I am sure it is much busier during the summer months. There are plenty of comments about this being a tired hotel but I think much of this may be down to the fact it is an older building and as such it is difficult to change structure and existing style.

Certainly the room I had booked was clean and tidy and spacious enough. The quirky little switch for the TV by the bed was amusing having spending 2 minutes with the remote control wondering why the TV didn't work but then it was labelled clearly enough so my fault really.

The bed was comfortable being very similar to those at a Premier Inn. Everything worked and the room had all the usual creature comforts. Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful.

Parking at the hotel is ample with plenty of space and very secure. There is a barrier and you need a code to exit the car park. A main door from the hotel leads straight to the car park so access is easy too.

For the business traveller it is perfect except for the wi-fi which is intermittent and slow. Also a little frustrating that the hard wired computer provided in the reception area worked on a dongle and the internet access again was painfully slow to dead stop and therefore fairly useless but they did say this was being upgraded and at least they have thought of providing a computer.

Breakfast consists of choices of cereal and bread and cakes or a full English. There is also a good choice of alternative breakfast menu so there is something for everyone. The food is well presentated and tasty.The staff in the restaurant are good at what they do and fast and efficient on service.

I would certainly recommend this hotel and I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAVAKLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at Best Western The Sea Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Many thanks for your comments, two points of interest that you made i found very interesting. Firstly your reference to other comments about the hotel being tired, you are correct in your review, the hotel was built in 1935, we have added to the building to provide facilities expected by todays traveller free WIFI flat screen tv's i pod / phone docks and the like. we will continue to improve with day curtains and two more bedrooms having a total makeover this year.

The second point was WIFI, i am having a meeting at 4pm on Monday 22nd Oct 2012 with a new IT solutions company presenting a new system for the hotel, which if correct for the business i will commission. we realise the importance for a good internet service and although the service works well it has had some drop outs needing a reboot. The reception computer for guest use will be hard wired to improve connection.

Finally thank you for your review and many positive comments.

Regards
Alan Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I should point out that I've never "stayed" at this hotel but have dined in its restaurant on many occasions and have attended many functions here. My most recent experience here was attending a function a couple of weeks ago in the Schooner Suite. When we arrived, the room looked stunning, beautifully decorated and very well laid out. Although this was a pre-arranged function, they were still able to offer each individual a varied menu from which to choose a 3-course meal and the food itself was very nice indeed. The staff were friendly and courteous throughout the night and always willing to help with any queries. I've been coming here for more years than I care to remember and look forward to continuing to do so. Well done Sea Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at Best Western The Sea Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments, i will pass them on to the team.

Regards
Alan Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

After a one night stay at this hotel I would say it is great value for money. The room was small but how long do you spend in it? Clean and quiet it suited the two of us. No problem with the wi fi or TV. The breakfast was great with plenty of choice and very well cooked. Staff were friendly and helpfull. A great base to use as a base to visit the many places like Hadrians wall. Lots of Roman ruins and places of interest. If you want five star then go somewhere else and pay the price. Well done Best Western a great Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the sea. Great to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charity12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at Best Western The Sea Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thanks for your comments and advise for other travellers. We have sea and park view rooms, the room you stayed in was one of two small doubles that we have, all the others offer more space. we have ground floor annexe, first and second floor rooms so please ask when booking if you have a preference. I will pass your kind comments about the friendly and helpful service along with the well cooked breakfast on to the staff concerned.

Regards
Alan Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Clean room but rather dated.

It is in a good location close to the sea

One of the small bars was frequented by a group who found it acceptable sitting at the bar using foul language - with no challenge from the staff (who appeared to know the group).

Stayed for a business meeting and the people helping were friendly when asked for assistance, however, one young gentleman serving in the hotel restaurant the evening before was extremely patronising (not sure if he understands how he comes across but perhaps need a little coaching).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikie346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at Best Western The Sea Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to pass your comments. Firstly please accept my apologies for the unacceptable behaviour by customers in the bar, i will try to identify who they are and if they are known by a member of bar staff. I have issued a memo and will see all bar staff detailing actions to take if any customer uses foul language in the future. IT WILL NOT BE TOLORATED.
I was suprised to read your comment about a waiter, however again please accept my apologie and assurance that i will see all male staff to give that little extra coaching. i must add that the restaurant staff have received many compliments recently.
Thank you for your kind comments about the friendly staff serving the meeting and our location.

Alan Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay in this hotel. (7 adults, 2 children). I do agree this is not a five star hotel but we did not pay five star prices. The rooms were comfortable, clean and airy and the location was ideal.
The breakfast was more than enough, variety, hot and quick. the car park facilities were safe and secure and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and we would all stay there again, next time we need to visit south shields.

Room Tip: Ask for ground or first floor if travelling with pensioners or children as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at Best Western The Sea Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write your review, your right to point out that we are not a five star hotel, we have been rated by the AA as a three star hotel. your kind comments on the comfortable, clean and airy rooms, the breakfast Variety, our approach to safety and security and the very friendly helpful staff are very much appreciated.

Regards
Alan Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Shields
0.5 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
697 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
1.0 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 5 in South Shields
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
669 reviews
0.7 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#4 of 5 in South Shields
64 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Sea Hotel

Property: Best Western The Sea Hotel
Address: Sea Road, South Shields NE33 2LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Sea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flat screen television. Freeview and terrestrial channels. Free High Speed Wi-Fi Internet connection. Direct dial telephone. Hairdryer. Trouser press. Tea & coffee making facilities. All come as standard in Best Western - The Sea Hotel bedrooms. Our hotel annex provides five extra bedrooms for disabled customers. Secured private car park. Friendly Pub. Private restaurant. Bar. Conference & Event rooms. We have everything you need for a relaxing enjoyable stay at the Sea Hotel in South Shields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Shields
South Shields Best Western
Best Western Newcastle Upon Tyne
Best Western The Sea Hotel South Shields, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing