We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic service...fantastic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spice garden

Spice garden
Ranked #3 of 195 Restaurants in South Shields
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Contemporary indian cuisine
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic service...fantastic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

After a few drinks we wondered up to Ocean rd more in hope that an Indian would be open at this time (11pm) and found ourselves in spice garden which is one of the only restaurants we haven't been to until now. The food was top notch, starters and mains, not your typical presentation either was really well done. Spice garden also offer a discounted set menu even on a Saturday night which none of the others do on ocean road from my experience.

A big thanks to the staff also who were superb right up until way passed mid night putting up with us all. Will be returning to spice garden very soon indeed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philsafc1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    69
    16
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best curry in South Shields”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I have been to spice garden a lot of times and every time it's gets better . out of every restraunt on ocean road spice garden is the best ! The food is fantastic and staff are super friendly and the atmosphere is great !

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BradNUFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A night enjoyed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have visited many of the other Indian restaurants on Ocean Road. Focusing purely on the food, this is not the best we've been to. Making up for this is the atmosphere which is loud and bustling, unlinke some of the other places in the area. This made us forget about the little niggles with the food and we left smiling. This place must be visited.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_bears897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Superb food and 1st Class service. Eat in this Establishment 5.30 on a Sunday night so it was fairly quiet but other diners were also there.
Were not rushed in any way. The waiters were very professional in their work and the food was plentiful and excellent in taste, thoroughly enjoyed the visit.
Would definitely recommend this Restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarryCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Unbelievably good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

This restaurant may not look as flashy as some of its neighbours but don't let that put you off! What you'll get inside is nice, clean surroundings, friendly, efficient staff, great value for money and some of the best indian food you are likely to taste...ever.
Thats high praise indeed coming from us as we are massive fans of indian cuisine (both in india itself and in the UK) and we do have pretty high standards! We live over in Whitley Bay but are more than happy to travel to Ocean Road to eat at Spice Garden - its that good!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Selina_J_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice garden also viewed

South Shields, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Spice garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing