We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
South Shields Museum & Art Gallery
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great tea room

Very well done! Tea room was a surprise and crumpets with cheese was right up my street Very... read more

Reviewed September 12, 2018
Bryan D
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Fabulous Exhibition

The king coal exhibition is fabulous, the Bob Olley paintings have a real humour and a nobility... read more

Reviewed September 12, 2018
Peter A
,
South Shields, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 206 reviews
  
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveler rating
96
67
32
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
67
32
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews catherine cookson local history ship building well worth a visit small restaurant mining industry animal section first floor fabulous exhibition coal mining lego display tea room interesting exhibits home town trip down memory lane gift shop the ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've walked past this museum many times and thought it was time we visited. Glad we did - plenty of historical displays and an art gallery, the Victorian Pantry cafe and a gift shop. A worthwhile visit.

Thank Doug T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at South Shields Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to South Shields Museum & Art Gallery, I'm glad you eventually got to visit!

We do have an ever changing programme of exhibitions and events so I do hope you'll visit us again in the future.

Geoff Woodward
Museum Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018

Lots to learn about the area and they also hold special interest exhibitions from time to time. Fantastic olde worlde tea shoppe which is a must

Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at South Shields Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent visit to South Shields Museum & Art Gallery. The Victorian Pantry do make delicious cakes and scones, all on the premises too.

I do hope you'll visit again.

Geoff Woodward
Museum Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

We knew nothing of this museum, prior to finding it on a trip to South Shields, but it was certainly a memorable visit. The displays and paintings about the history of coal mining were very informative and interesting.

Thank Sham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at South Shields Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello

Thank you very much for your review of your visit to South Shields Museum & Art Gallery, I'm glad you enjoyed your visit - I do hope you will visit again as we have a changing exhibition programme.

Geoff Woodward
Museum Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

Very well done!
Tea room was a surprise and crumpets with cheese was right up my street
Very reasonable pricing in a free museum

Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at South Shields Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent visit to South Shields Museum & Art Gallery. The Victorian Pantry do a mean cream tea too!

I do hope you'll visit again - the museum exhibition programme changes regularly.

Geoff Woodward
Museum Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

The king coal exhibition is fabulous, the Bob Olley paintings have a real humour and a nobility about them, the artificacts on display give a genuine insight to a dead industry.
The rest of the museum harks back to a simpler age, with less bells buttons and whistles than a modern museum but well worth a visit nevertheless.

Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at South Shields Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello

Thank you very much for your review of your recent visit to South Shields Museum & Art Gallery. I'm glad you enjoyed the King Coal exhibition, they are powerful images - funny too!
I do hope you'll visit again - the museum exhibition programme changes regularly.

Geoff Woodward
Museum Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

What a great museum with a lot of interesting exhibits to have a look at. You can find out who invented the lifeboat which would right itself and about the dispute as to who exactly this was, and you can read about Catherine Cookson who sold millions of her books all over the World and which I used to read a lot and enjoyed televison adaptations. There are various items on display which will be very nostalgic for some people. You can see how someone was hanged in a metal cage and left for people to see him. It is interesting to be able to read about the history of the area from 4000 years ago and there is an exhibition about the mining industry with some great paintings. There were a few paintings in the Art Gallery. The museum is free with donations welcome.

Thank vivEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at South Shields Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent visit to South Shields Museum & Art Gallery.

I do hope you'll visit again - the museum exhibition programme changes regularly.

Geoff Woodward
Museum Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

I popped into the museum whilst in Tow to see the King Coal exhibition.

I thoroughly enjoyed it and found it very informative.

The rest of the museum is well worth a visit also.

Thank Paradise800238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at South Shields Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello

Thank you very much for your review of your recent visit to South Shields Museum & Art Gallery. I'm glad you enjoyed the King Coal exhibition.
I do hope you'll visit again - the museum exhibition programme changes regularly.

Geoff Woodward
Museum Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

Went specifically to view the King Coal exhibition by local artist Bob Olley. Had a good look around the rest of the exhibits and viewed the menu for the delicious Victorian Pantry ( had just eaten or would definitely sampled the menu).
The exhibition is on the first floor and it's well worth using the main stairs if you're able so you can view the amazing stained glass windows.
The exhibition itself is excellent. Many original tools and mementos from the local pits with amusing tales and wonderful artwork.
Staff in shop were friendly and the museum is free to use.

Thank juliewils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at South Shields Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello

Thank you very much for your review of your recent visit to South Shields Museum & Art Gallery. I'm glad you enjoyed the King Coal exhibition. I do hope you'll visit again - the museum exhibition programme changes regularly.

Geoff Woodward
Museum Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018

Great place to visit and free!
Really interesting museum and child friendly. Staff are very pleasant and helpful.
The coal exhibition that is on at the moment is excellent.
Plenty to see and interest both young and adults.

Thank tinkerpoppyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at South Shields Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Hi

Thank you for your wonderful review of South Shields Museum & Art Gallery. I'm glad you think so. I will pass your comments on to the team. I do hope you'll come again.

Geoff Woodward
Museum Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018

A nice tea room and museum. The food is very nice and reasonably priced and when you have finished you can walk around the museum and look at the history of days gone bye.

Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at South Shields Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

Hello Carol

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit to South Shields Museum & Art Gallery and Victorian Pantry cafe. I'll pass your comments on to the chef. I do hope you will visit the museum and cafe again.

Geoff Woodward
Museum Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews