We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beechwood Guest House
Ranked #3 of 25 South Shields B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great experience”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Perfectly positioned with great access to the town centre with access to buses and metro, and the coast line a short walk away. Host made me feel welcome and was very helpful if you have any queries. I enjoyed the amazing facilities, a very comfortable bed and pillows to suite most preferences of either soft or memory foam with en suite bathroom all cleaned to a high standard. Topped off with a good breakfast made to your preference. Overall a great stay and would recomend anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMeakin1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
63
35
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2014

It was our first time staying at this guest house, and it was a wonderful stay the host was excellent, he went out of his way to make me and my partner feel at home and welcomed. The breakfast was very delicious, it was made fresh every day and there was even a vegetarian choice for my partner. We stayed in the small double room, which had plenty of space for the both of us, there was and excellent on suite good size. I couldn't fault the cleanliness, everything was presented very well. I would definitely recommend this place to my friends and family and i would definitely be back soon. Thanks for a wonderful stay Rez hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbeyleix, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have stayed at the Beechwood Guest house numerous times over the last few years. My most recent stay was in November 2013. I always find the guest house to have a very pleasant atmosphere, very comfortable and fitted out bedrooms. Breakfast is of a high standard. I would recommend it to anybody wishing to stay in a bed and breakfast in South Shields.

Room Tip: Close to South shields beech and gymnasium which was opened by Prince William on November 22 2013
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wmcbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

2nd stay at this b&b and will continue to stay here when visiting family in the area, no other comes close and we have tried a few on ocean road over the years! A wonderful host, a wonderful room and a wonderful breakfast! Great facilities in the room and you will not find a speck of dust, cannot fault the cleanliness! He really is number 1 for a reason!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaurenC888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Ideally located on ocean road. Parking is ample around the surrounding area of the property. We received a very warm welcome when we arrived and this continued throughout our stay. The breakfasts are cooked as you request and always were to a high standard. The room we had was on the back so no noise from the road, it was clean and very comfortable. The room was cleaned every day whilst we were there and the tea and coffee topped up. Next to the guest house are two large parks and the beach is a five minute stroll. The rest of south shields is a short walk up the street with buses, the metro and the town centre. We would recommend this guest house to anyone. Fabulous and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SadlerGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A very warm welcome on arrival which continued thought out my stay – from a very friendly host . The breakfast are cooked to order and are wonderful.
The rooms and bathroom are all very clean and well supplied with tea / coffee and refrigerator , A/C fan / TV – and are idea.
The location is on the door step on the glorious Victorian park and a short stroll to the beach, and a short walk from the metro –and on a main bus route - all in all the guest house is easy to find

Very much recommend Beechwood Guest House

Room Tip: I called before to confirm my arrival and was given a nice room at the top , very quite facing the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 241Karl_A_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

A warm welcome on arrival. A small double room on top floor but well equipped with tea/coffe making facilities and even a fridge. Cosy and very comfortable. Breakfast excellent and plentiful. Parking on main road can be difficult at times. Well recommended

Room Tip: Small double is on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordie_Relic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Shields hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
716 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 5 in South Shields
181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosebank Guest House
Rosebank Guest House
#2 of 25 in South Shields
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clifton Guest House
Clifton Guest House
#1 of 25 in South Shields
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Guest House

Property: Beechwood Guest House
Address: 119 Ocean Road, South Shields NE33 2JL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beechwood Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Beechwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Guest House South Shields, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing