We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Guest House & Extremely Welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beechwood Guest House
Ranked #3 of 25 South Shields B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Guest House & Extremely Welcoming”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I booked this guest house for myself and my daughter to stay as whilst we were attending the North East Live Festival and this is the best guest house I have ever stayed at.

Rez was so welcoming and went out of his way to help in every way he could. The room was very clean, tidy, well decorated & well equipped with a full size fridge & kettle & well stocked with tea, coffee, hot choc and Biscuits. The beds were very comfortable.

You had a choice of time for breakfast, 8.30am or 9.30am and you had the choice from full English and cereals to a lighter breakfast of your choice & any requests were always fulfilled.

My Daughter and Son intend going to the Festival again next year and I will certainly be booking them into Beachwood Guest house for the weekend.

I couldn't fault this Guest House at all, it certainly lives up to the quote 'Home to home'.

Thank you so much Rez, your guest house and service is fantastic. I would recommend it 110% to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
63
35
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had a very good experience of staying in this hotel:
*) check-in & -out were very easy and smooth
*) the owener, Rez, is very friendly and went out of his way to prepare me an early breakfast on my date of departure when I had to catch an early train from central Newcastle
*) very clean & comfortable room with good double-glazing on the windows, if perhaps slightly small
*) breakfast tip-top
*) good location (quiet end of Ocean Road and very close to the sea side; good for walking / running to Souter Lighthouse for example or catching the ferry and visit Tynemouth Priory & Castle) -- though it is a 30min trip to Necastle / Gateshead, but when you book this, you are aware of that
*) I had been upgraded from single to single executive room at no extra cost
*) minor negative point: the walls between rooms are quite thin, so you can hear when people talk in the next room; on my stay this was not much of a problem as the people stayng in the adjecent room were fairly quiet

Well worth also to head over across the street and have one of the UK's best fish & chips at Colman's.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LemCaution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great place, spotlessly clean, lots of extra touches like fridge and a/c fan in every room. Excellent location! Very friendly owner Rez who cares about his guests and cooks a great breakfast, will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillonholsagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Would definitely recommend, as the room was clean, the owner was friendly, and a comfortable night was had. They upgraded us to a King-size room as well, which was very good and the cooked breakfast was tasty. The beach is only a 5 minute walk away, and several pubs and Indian restaurants's are across the road. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Clean, comfortable, well decorated. Friendly welcome. We had the family room which perfectly suited our brood, we have 2 girls aged 7 and 4. For constructive feedback it would have been nice to have filter coffee and bit more choice of cereals at breakfast, but the cooked breakfast was good. Would definitely stay again and recommend whole heartedly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrstuppin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for a few days and from the moment the door was opened to us, we were made to feel really welcome. After booking in, our heavy bags were carried up to our room which we thought was a nice gesture. The twin room we had was at the back of the guest house and was quite small but had everything we needed. It was absolutely spotless and not a speck of dust could be found anywhere! Breakfast each morning was lovely, nothing was too much trouble and again, the room, crockery etc were spotless. We are planning to return to South Shields again next year and would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back so no view but was very quiet. Request a room at the front or the twin room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayneS327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

stayed in this guest house 4th April 2013 for 3 nights. This guest house is spotless, our room was small but suited us, immaculate with plenty of tea and coffee. It was lovely and warm as the weather was quite cold it had a nice and cosy feel. Rez the owner was always happy to help with any requirements needed a very friendly person. The breakfasts where lovely and piping hot and nothing was too much trouble for him.
This guest house is in a brilliant location with plenty of bars, restaurants and shops nearby.
I would definately recommend this guest house to anyone and when we return to south shields we will, without a doubt book here again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Shields hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
702 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 5 in South Shields
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
0.0 mi away
Rosebank Guest House
Rosebank Guest House
#2 of 25 in South Shields
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clifton Guest House
Clifton Guest House
#1 of 25 in South Shields
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Guest House

Property: Beechwood Guest House
Address: 119 Ocean Road, South Shields NE33 2JL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beechwood Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Beechwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Guest House South Shields, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing