We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, slow service, poor attitude”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Lasun

Lasun
Ranked #28 of 195 Restaurants in South Shields
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, slow service, poor attitude”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Booked a table of 10 for a birthday, arrived promptly on a Friday night and no table was ready to accommodate 10 people. Fortunately we had 3 drop outs so a table for 7 was hastily prepared (adding a seat to a table for 6) we waited at least 15 minutes before someone was available to take our drinks order.

Food orders were taken 5 minutes after and complimentary poppadums were provided. Starters were not served for a further 50 mins after placing the order!! Although the front of house service were very polite, I felt we were getting fobbed off whenever we inquired about our food. Don't get me wrong the starters were lovely, our complaint was the time it took for the food to be served.


As soon as we finished our starters, we were already inquiring about our main course. This is when things took a turn for the worse! We were considering paying for our drinks and starters and heading out of the door. We asked one last time about our main course and were insulted by the man who appeared to be in charge who decided that he would insult one of his customers by saying that his attitude was terrible. To be fair he had waited 1 hour 30 minutes for is main course to arrive, he did have a point!!

The guy in charge said that for good, fresh food we would have to wait! I'm sorry but that doesn't fly with me! The International Indian restaurant on Ocean Road has double the amount of tables Lasun has, and still provides fresh food within a reasonable timeframe at good prices.

Overall we were insulted and waited 90 mins for our main course! Heaven help us if 10 people did turn up! I'd probably still be there now! I'm sure during the week when it's quiet the experience is good. At peak times and with limited space and tables, they really should be doing better!

This has left a sour taste in the mouth and we will not be attending again, nor shall we recommend it!!

We'll stick to ocean road from now on!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    36
    17
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Shields
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Lush food great friendly service a one to visit could not fault a thing and a good price for what we had well done La Sun

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glyni50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Always Great Food”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Paid another visit to Lasun for a birthday celebration. Restaurant was quite busy for a weekday, always a good sign when we have so many places to choose from. Staff are attentive but not 'over the top' and are happy to change any dish to suit you. One request for something highly spiced and authentic, resulted in a huge, spicy lamb shank. I did't try it but those who did assured me it was delicious. Chef even came out to make sure it was okay and went on to tell us what went into it. Personal favourite is the Crab Lasun and Tandoori Prawns with extra green chilli.
Good atmosphere, friendly staff and fantastic food. Can't ask for more!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank juliewils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Popped in Thursday and had a lovely meal with my partner only £32.00 for us both and a nice bottle of wine bargain

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philc504186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Strange reviews”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Odd how a restaurant is number one on Tripadvisor and then you suddenly get two bad reviews with identical, mis-spelt, titles and it falls down the rankings - unfairly so.
Don't be put off, this is still one of the best curry houses in South Shields. To be fair though, there's not a great deal of difference in food between the better ones and don't expect something radical or amazing (you won't get that in Shields), it's just nicely made and presented curry-house fare of the mid-low price bracket. Certainly way better than the cheapo places like Spice Garden or Momotaj and as good as Monsoon or Zeera. Not in the same league as Satchins in Newcastle though (but much cheaper, hence 5 stars for what you pay).

I've never had a bad meal yet and I've been loads of times. Perhaps they're a victim of their own success as it can get VERY busy and the service can be slow sometimes. Staff are generally great and very friendly.
It's about time they added some new stuff to the menu for the regulars though. The fish courses could be a little better too (can be rather dry). If you're a spicy obsessive then I'd request they make it extra hot, as even the vindaloo is mild compared with some other curry houses (although the quality is very good).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogan_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lasun also viewed

South Shields, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Lasun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing