We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Britannia Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$90
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sir William Fox Hotel(South Shields)
$91
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athol House(South Shields)(Great Value!)
$77
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little Haven Hotel(South Shields)
$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel(Tynemouth)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Chedburgh Hotel(Whitley Bay)
$63
$51
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
All Seasons(Douglas)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
31
15
0
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
15
0
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bguest housedouble bedfeel welcomeshowerparksbreakfastensuite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 49 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Unfortunately not a very warm welcome! Surly staff. Tiny double room with unusable hanging rail (no wardrobe), only a tiny chest of drawers. No room to unpack, but no room to put the suitcase anywhere either! Very basic, minimal bathroom consumables and tea tray. Poor quality quilt cover (no buttons to fasten the bottom of it). No bedside cabinet. Not sure how this can be a 4 star?

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsG0ggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Room 2 Executive Super King. I expect a Desk or Table - not in this room. The six foot bed leaves very little space for anything else. If the proprieters wished to split the bed to make twin beds the only easy chair would have to be taken out of the room. Only one reading lamp on a small corner shelf with a 12" gap between bed and window. The 32" LCD TV on the wall does allow passage. There is a pleasant breakfast room were they serve a good fresh meal.
No. 2 Bedroom is not really suitable for two people and the executive Tag should be replaced by the word Premier.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoyBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

From arriving to leaving, Gill made you feel welcome and wanted. She and her assistant gave you the impression that nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast filled you up for the day. Shops, parks, beach and the old Roman remains are all close by.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buntix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

My sister and I stayed overnight at the Britannia prior to a family funeral in the town. I had a double room and my sister a twin - both at the excellent signle occupancy rate.
The Britannia is immaculately clean and bright. Both of our rooms were comfortable with arm chairs for reading in and compact, but fully equipped and spotless en-suite shower-rooms.
Not knowing when I'd eat again, I had the full works of cereal and a full English breakfast with tea and orange juice. Bliss! The hotel is in a fabulous position near to the harbour and beaches and a perfect place to explore the Roman fort museum.
My sister is already planning a return trip to the Briannia and I'll certainly stay there the next time I'm in Shields.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StreathamCommoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

very family wecoming accomadation clean and lovely breakfast

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cat00789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews