We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Facilities just as they say”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Britannia Guest House
Ranked #11 of 25 South Shields B&B and Inns
West Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Facilities just as they say”
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Room 2 Executive Super King. I expect a Desk or Table - not in this room. The six foot bed leaves very little space for anything else. If the proprieters wished to split the bed to make twin beds the only easy chair would have to be taken out of the room. Only one reading lamp on a small corner shelf with a 12" gap between bed and window. The 32" LCD TV on the wall does allow passage. There is a pleasant breakfast room were they serve a good fresh meal.
No. 2 Bedroom is not really suitable for two people and the executive Tag should be replaced by the word Premier.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoyBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    15
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
14
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ex-sanddancer
2 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2010

From arriving to leaving, Gill made you feel welcome and wanted. She and her assistant gave you the impression that nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast filled you up for the day. Shops, parks, beach and the old Roman remains are all close by.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buntix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2010

My sister and I stayed overnight at the Britannia prior to a family funeral in the town. I had a double room and my sister a twin - both at the excellent signle occupancy rate.
The Britannia is immaculately clean and bright. Both of our rooms were comfortable with arm chairs for reading in and compact, but fully equipped and spotless en-suite shower-rooms.
Not knowing when I'd eat again, I had the full works of cereal and a full English breakfast with tea and orange juice. Bliss! The hotel is in a fabulous position near to the harbour and beaches and a perfect place to explore the Roman fort museum.
My sister is already planning a return trip to the Briannia and I'll certainly stay there the next time I'm in Shields.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StreathamCommoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2010

very family wecoming accomadation clean and lovely breakfast

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cat00789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston Lancashire UK
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2010

Warm and friendly, most enjoyable family atmosphere.
Ask if you are unsure. Gill and Chris are helpful and enterprising.
Good information available in the room, and advice if requested about places to go.
Breakfast is a days meal in itself, with a good variety of 'English'
Appear very musical with piano playing in the early evening (not stuffy or snobby - piano practice, excellent and one evening of guitar practice - none of it early learning or amateurish)
Huge TV in the room as well as en-suite on level surface for me, not good with stairs.
Cleaning done to suit - within reason I would expect, the place is impeccable.
Don't miss the locality as I almost did, so much to see. Playground pleasure beach along the road for families and young folk, with wildlife amongst the sand dunes on the white sandy beaches. All lovely and clean. Quiet family pubs selling good food and drink. Just northerly from South Shields there are castles and large country houses, plus ruins and antiquities. Newcastle and Gateshead both excellent shopping places with easy to use local transport from the park and ride are within half an hour's drive.
I really feel there is something for anyone who wishes to try it out. Excellent base location with friendly welcoming atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berenicelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Clean, smart, pleasant rooms.
Friendly family/staff.
Fine breakfast with a wide choice.
Convenient for the Sea & Beach, the Roman Fort, South Shields Centre and the 'Road of Restaurants'.

I go to an event in South Shields each March and always stay at the Brittania Guest House.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nornb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

I stayed here with my sister, mother and aunt while visiting family in the area. The house was beautiful, gorgeous inside and out. Our rooms although one was a touch small, were extremely charming and just what I would have hoped for in an English B&B! The other room however, was quite a good size and had a lovely view and sitting area as well (Mum got that room!) The gentleman that met us was charming and had many helpful suggestions and also some very entertaining stories! Breakfast was fabulous and we were actually a bit sad to leave. By far the best B&B we stayed in during our two week trip across England!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Shields hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
712 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 5 in South Shields
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosebank Guest House
Rosebank Guest House
#2 of 25 in South Shields
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Crest Guesthouse
Sea Crest Guesthouse
#9 of 25 in South Shields
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Guest House

Property: The Britannia Guest House
Address: 56 Julian Avenue, South Shields NE33 2EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Britannia Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your The Britannia Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Britannia Guest House South Shields, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing