We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A lovely place to stay"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elmswood Guest House
Ranked #6 of 25 South Shields B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at this lovely guest house! Would recommend to anyone. Very clean and fresh room. A well cooked breakfast. A lovely and very friendly landlady who nothing seemed to much trouble. Very helpful! Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 110 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just spent a long weekend at this Guest House and will recommend it to everybody. The Guest House offers bed and breakfast. The breakfast is everything you could ask for from scrambled eggs to a full English. It is well cooked and presented and will set you up for the day. The rooms are large and have all the facilities you will need (Tea, Coffee etc. and free Wi-Fi which is a good speed). The Guest House is located in the centre of South Shields only a few minutes walk from the Metro station and the beach. There are also numerous restaurants and takeaways near the hotel if you do not feel like a lot of walking. The staff are very friendly and are always available if you need anything. Excellent

Room Tip: Speak to the owner direct by telephone and they request all your needs. They will do everything they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Beautifully modern decorated rooms, very clean, fresh laundry, really could not fault our room. Pleasantly surprised at the little extras, ie hairdryer and mini fridge. Our hosts looked after us very well even helping us to plan journeys via the local ferry. Breakfast was first class. My partner and I enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend to everybody

Room Tip: Rooms at front of guest house can be noisy in the summer with windows open at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deanna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just returned from a 1 night stay here in 2 rooms. Rooms were beautifully decorated and immaculate. Breakfast was fab and owners were really friendly, highly recommended!! They are currently in the middle of decorating the stairway but this does not impact the rooms.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of April, 2013 while visiting Shields, and it's the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed at. We didn't meet Brian but Nisha went out of her way to make us comfortable from the moment we stepped inside. It's very tastefully decorated and spotless. We were on the top floor and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was great! Nisha went above and beyond the call of duty when she offered to take my wife to the hospital in Jarrow, since she had been sick for a few days. Since I had a rental car, Nisha lent us her GPS to find our way to the hospital in Jarrow. We would highly recommend Elmswood Guest House and if we ever go back to Shields, we would definitely go back there. Thanks again Nisha for such great care! Hope to be back again one day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brenmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here on a Bank Holiday Monday night and we are glad we chose the Elmswood. It thoroughly deserves it's excellent rating. From the moment the door was opened to us to the minute we left everything was a joy. Rooms are exceptionally attractive, clean and well set out. Beds are almost too comfortable! The owners, Brian and Nisha, stop at nothing to ensure a pleasant stay and they are top notch people. Breakfast was delicious and we will be returning as soon as possible. Location is perfect, in the centre of Ocean Road, and the place has no faults! Well done and we look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: I am sure they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyV2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I were visiting Newcastle and needed somewhere to stay, the Elmswood guest house in nearby South Shields was highly rated by TripAdviser reviewers so we opted to stay there, what a good move, the room is tastefully decorated and the bed must rate amongst the most comfortably that we have ever slept in. The host was very helpfully and welcoming when we arrived and could not do enough for us. I am writing this whilst waiting to go down for breakfast but judged on other reviewers comments I will not be disappointed. All in all this place represents excellent value at £50, parking can be a bit of a problem, we had to park a couple of streets away but that is a small price to pay for staying in such a comfortably and pleasing place such as.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep with the window open choose a room at the rear as it is located on a busy road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dereck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Shields hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
422 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
0.5 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 5 in South Shields
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosebank Guest House
Rosebank Guest House
#2 of 25 in South Shields
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beechwood Guest House
Beechwood Guest House
#3 of 25 in South Shields
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmswood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmswood Guest House

Address: 77 Ocean Road, South Shields NE33 2JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in South Shields
Price Range: $65 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmswood Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a warm and friendly Guest house. We have 6 rooms mostly En-Suite and freshly decorated. TV's in all rooms and Free-View channels, Very central to all transport, Plenty restaurants and bars, beautiful beaches, something for all to see and do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Elmswood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmswood Guest House South Shields, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing