We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2014

A very good hotel and great location for visiting relatives and friends in this area,both my children and myself were very comfortable with the room,very clean and well equipt.A lovely member of staff greeted us and was very informative of our options during our stay,the Taybarns restaurant had a great choice of food for all and friendly staff,and we ate here for breakfast and dinner because of the convenience,and the close proximity to our room.By night the corridor and hotel area around us was extremely quiet,and true to that Premier inn caption"we did have a guaranteed good nights sleep".

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 476 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

This is very clean and had a very good shower, location spot on. Would definately stay here again. Attached Taybarns restaraunt was amazing what a choice of food ! Taxi into centre of town only 6 pounds .

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara_C187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Paid £120 for two night stay. Have stayed in lots of premier inns including a previous stay at this branch. However the room was very tired, stain on carpet, holes in wall and on furnishings, wood filler had been put on bathroom door and room door but hadn't been sanded or finished, bathroom door latch was permanently stuck inside door, toilet roll holder was hanging away from the mdf furnishing. Basically not the normal average standard you get from premier inn.. Also the mattress had a massive dip in it and you could feel the springs directly underneath. Lastly from about 0700 onwards kids were running up and down the corridor going to and from breakfast. If I paid £29 a night I wouldn't have cared but for near enough £60 a night i expected a slightly better standard. On positive side all the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanddancer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing. Your experience was far below our usual high standards, but please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Very warm welcome. Helpful staff. Rooms spotless! Very comfy beds. Plenty of space for a family of 4. Powerful shower. Definite value for money. About 10 minute drive to beach. Breakfasts are all you can eat and there's plenty to choose from plus kids eat free. We'll definitely be staying here again and would recommend other people to do so too :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chels8709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Very clean and tidy, everyone very helpful. Comfortable stay. Like the fact that it has a Taybarns connected to it, which makes it easier for feeding the family without having to go further afield to find somewhere to eat.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

The décor and room facilities are pretty much standard in premier inns and this one wasn't any different.
The staff were very friendly and helpful without being overbearing.
The rooms were quiet despite being near a busy road.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisewright8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Usual good standard, clean, modern and comfy with friendly staff.
A bit disappointed as I had a dripping tap in the bathroom that kept me awake for part of the night, silly little thing but it did spoil my sleep.
Wi-fi seemed to work quite well in this hotel.
I would definitely stay again - they assured me the tap would be fixed pronto.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronny48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Shields
2.3 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
418 reviews
2.4 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
731 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 5 in South Shields
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#4 of 5 in South Shields
64 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Boldon
Quality Hotel Boldon
#1 of 1 in West Boldon
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel

Address: 2 Hobsons Way, Newcastle Road, South Shields NE34 9PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Price Range: $59 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy fish and chips in Whitley Bay or head to Sunderland or Newcastle, all within 20 minutes' drive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn South Shields Hotel South Shields
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing