We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B with a host to match!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atlantis Guest House
Ranked #10 of 26 South Shields B&B and Inns
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Wonderful B&B with a host to match!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

Myself and my Mum stayed three nights at the Atlantis and had a wonderful stay.

From the outside it looks like your average B&B on Ocean Road, however Hani, the owner, has recently refurbished the interior to match that of a modern hotel.

The rooms were immaculate, the breakfast superb and Hani gave us some great tips on where to eat in South Shields.

A thoroughly pleasant stay that will not disappoint.

Darrin

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSMackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
23
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

Arrived to a very warm welcome from the owner. Facilities were absolutely immaculate,beautifully clean throughout and very tastefully decorated.
Enjoyed a hearty well-cooked english breakfast after a very comfortable nights sleep.
Would be delighted to stay here again if we were in the area.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank karate27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

The 'Executive' double bedroom was compact but adequate. The room was spotless and had been recently refurbished. Everything worked perfectly. The breakfast was good and was served promptly.
The Guest House is on a reasonably busy road with lots of small restaurants - mainly Indian. However good double glazing kept the noise out.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cover_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

We stayed at the Atlantis this weekend while visiting South Tyneside for a family party. It's conveniently located with the metro and the sea front both around 5 minutes walk and the legendary Colmans chippy 1min down the road. Rooms are spotlessly clean, simply and tastefully decorated with a very comfortable bed and good value for money at £45/double and £25/single. Breakfast is traditional fare: cereal, fry up, toast with plenty of fruit juice and tea/coffee.
The real winner here is the warm hospitality of owner Hani. We chose to stay in South Shields rather than the more convenient Premier Inn in order to support small business rather than a chain and we certainly found what we were looking for.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salieri_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Level Contributor
108 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2008

Great Stay!

I'm English but am married to an Italian, and live in Italy. I love visting the Newcastle area and find South Shields the perfect place to stay as the Metro takes you from the airport to South Shields amd accomodation is half the price it is in Newcastle itself. It is by the sea and has really good centre with all the high street shops so you can do your shopping and just keep popping back to the hotel with it. We had stayed in a Hotel at South Shields in November with another couple, it was OK but not worth staying there again so this time I looked at guest houses. I found the Atlantis Guest House on internet and I must say our stay could not have been better. We paid only £45 per night per couple, which we found very reasonable. Both we and our friends had a double room on the second floor with private bathroom. My friends' bathroom was a bit small but you have to remember it is a guest house not a hotel. That said, the whole place could not have been cleaner and the full English breakfast was fantastic.
The owner went out of his way to be helpful and pleasant and I am so pleased that we have found such a nice place to stay for when we return to South Shields again.

  • Liked — Friendly, clean, pleasant decor.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaitalyMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Shields hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
#3 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Guest House
Clifton Guest House
#1 of 26 in South Shields
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rosebank Guest House
Rosebank Guest House
#2 of 26 in South Shields
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beechwood Guest House
Beechwood Guest House
#3 of 26 in South Shields
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forest Guest House
Forest Guest House
#4 of 26 in South Shields
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Guest House

Property: Atlantis Guest House
Address: 55 Ocean Road, South Shields NE33 2JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 4 Stars from the Quality in Tourism board we offer an informal and friendly atmosphere at the Atlantis Guest House, centrally located in South Shields with good links to Newcastle and Gateshead. Atlantis operates a non smoking policy throughout, we welcome contractors but do not accept stag & hen coach parties or single sex groups. Rooms are furnished to a high standard offering quality accommodation at an affordable price. All rooms are En-suite in family, double, twin and single options. A full English breakfast is included in the bed and breakfast price. A diverse range of local restaurants, bars and cafes all within easy walking distance. The Atlantis Guest House in South Shields offers a friendly welcome and offers a high standard of accommodation and is located only a short walk from the South Shields sea front, and within easy access of public transport and the motorway to enjoy the many attractions that the region has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Atlantis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Guest House South Shields, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing