We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark and Dingy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Standard Guest House
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We were attending a wedding in the Great Fosters Hotel so this was an ideal location. However, I was really disappointed with the guesthouse overall. Our room was dark, dingy and small and everyting looked old! We also had numerous small insects who decided to share the room with us. The photos on the web look nothing look the room we stayed in.
When we came back from the wedding late at night we had to use the side entrance, this would have been fine if there had been an outside light. Also the room our relatives stayed in had no heating whatsoever, and as it has been the coldest November on record this clearly wasn't acceptable. Very disappointing!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hillsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 43 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2010

We were attending a wedding at Great Fosters and this B&B is a perfect location for this. Staff very helpful and let us check in early. Room huge- plenty of space- does need a lick of paint but did not spoil our stay by any means. Breakfast lovely and staff very friendly. I would definately recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LK17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2008

Bad points first. The bathroom was tiny. When I stood in front of the sink my butt was touching the inside of the bathroom door. And I'm no J-Lo. The bed was uncomfortable, and I wish people would push the vacuum cleaner right up to the walls in some of these rooms when they are cleaning up. The furniture in the room looked like it had just come from a charity shop. No offence to charity shops intended. Even the tables in the breakfast room had white scorch rings on them, which made them look really shabby. A simple table cloth would at least cover them up. You can also clearly hear conversation in adjoining rooms. Now good points. Davinder, the guv'nor, is one of the nicest people you could wish to meet. Polite and friendly, and always ready to help. The shower was good and hot, and the full English breakfast was great. And £83 for a double room, plenty of parking space, and set in a lovely location, it kind of evens out. If you turn right out of the place, and walk up the hill into the town, there is a wine bar next to the train station serving excellent nosh and chilled beer, but it is a bit pricey. The missus highly recommends the pecan pie with vanilla ice cream for dessert.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank MitchamboyManty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

I recently stayed at the royal standard guest house in june - i attended the royal ascot meeting - i was a solo traveller.
My stay at the royal standard was a very pleasing one - i was in a the single room - there was enough space for 1 person, with ensuite, televsion, no probs with the viewing. there was also tea nd coffee making facilties in the room, these were added each day, so you never ran out - inc milk - sugars. Whilst i was there the owner showed me a double room - which was spacious - very clean as was my room. this double room had a flat screen tv in..mine didn't - not compalining as i was hardly in my room. i have read a few reports that people wouldnt go back as this place is dirty, i wouldnt say that, it just need a lick of paint, the owners are very busy withing this hotel, i spoke in lenght one morning, he's a very confident ambtious guy, im sure they will get there sooner rather than later....For the money and value i would not put anyone off from staying here at all!!. if you want 5 star accomadation you pay for it. . The breakfast is lovely!! ..its served from 7am until 8.30 am. you have a choice of cereals..think it was around 7 differnet choice's - a variety of fuits to choose from. includind tea and coffee and fresh orange juice that you can help your self too - like i did as i was so very thirsty after a day and night at the races at ascot. The cooked breakfast was very very nice - 2 rashes of bacon - 1 sausage - ash brown - egg - beans - fresh tomatoe - toast. The gardens that the royal standard guest house are huge! great views - i read my paper outside most mornings whilst i smoked, as you cant smoke inside, but you can in the gardens, which was great for me been a smoker. virgina water is only a very small place - there is limited places to drink - alcohol, there is a fine restaurant not too far from the train station, for which is a 10 minute stroll from the royal standard guest house. there is a public house caled the rose and crown which is a 20 min walk from the royal standard, which serves lovely food. The royal standard guest house was in great position for me - easy walking distance to the shops, train station which i used ever day to attend the royal meeting, it only took 14 mins from virginia water to ascot - which was excellent. The owners are very freindly - i would definatly be going back again for the royal ascot meeting in 2009!!. One thing they really need to do...is provide internet access in all rooms - hope they can arrange this for the next time i arrive. see you both next year! Mark Davies - from west yorkshire.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Markyd_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

We have just returned from a stay at Royal Standard B & B, we booked direct and was very please with the accomodation. We was attending Royal Ascot. The rooms were very clean and well appointed. Breakfast was excellent if a little early for a leisure visit. 8.30 am latest

Would return

Stayed: June 2008
Thank eventattender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2008

This is a great B&B in a great location, and great value. Unless of course you book through a website and it puts your booking through twice.

I arrived last thing at night and the owner asked if I had two rooms, they were on two seperate bookings made simultaneously. I said I hadn't, and he would check with the website concerned.

in the morning the owner's wife told me that I 'had' booked two rooms - excuse me, no I didn't! It was obviously an IT error, and it wasn't full so they hadn't lost out.

I asked how to get my money back and she offered to refund me all but £9.50 as they would be charged commission by the booking website. I took the refund - and I will never go back.

If £9.50 is so important to their business that they have to take it from me rather than follow it up with the booking website - fine. I would've probably stayed there half a doezn times this year - but not now. All they had to do was contact the webiste that supposed to help them by booking online. When that systems makes a mistake it shouldnt be the customer carrying the can.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank thecone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
Thank Greta76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virginia Water
0.5 mi away
Savannah Bed & Breakfast
Savannah Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Virginia Water
87 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wheatsheaf Hotel
Wheatsheaf Hotel
#2 of 2 in Virginia Water
351 reviews
1.0 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 3 in Egham
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Egham
Travelodge Egham
#3 of 3 in Egham
268 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
2.5 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Standard Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Standard Guest House

Address: Stroude Road, Virginia Water GU25 4BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Virginia Water
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Virginia Water
Price Range: $94 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Standard Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run bed & breakfast, a home away from home. - Rooms from £65 - Free WIFI - Ample Free Parking - All En-Suite Rooms - Tea & coffee making facilities And more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Standard Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Standard Guest House Virginia Water, UK - Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing