We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed !!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Wheatsheaf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wheatsheaf Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Virginia Water
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not impressed !!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Where to begin !!! Nobody seems to know how to run this hotel/ pub !! After checking in ( had to wait 15 mins for anybody to see to us ) we entered our room to find it dirty it hadn't even been cleaned. We were given a round of free drinks but with 2 kids just wanted to get in our room. Had dinner in the pub restaurant had to wait 45 mins then our mains turned up with our starters !!! The staff seem to forget what the menu says the meals had half the stated food missing when we questioned why we were told they had run out of a few things !!!! Our room ( 9 ) was very noisy from the road & the music was very loud coming from the pub. The toilet seat was falling off so was the curtains. Only 1 light in the bathroom was working. Looking for positives the breakfast was good & the surrounding area is lovely this could be a really good hotel it just needs someone to sort it out... Fast !!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 33loubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    72
    65
    61
    49
See reviews for
81
88
7
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here a couple of nights while my house was being worked on. Staff are really helpful and the rooms are clean, if a little small. Food was ok for a pub but the best thing is location so close to Windsor park which is lovely to walk around in the autumn.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jameshider675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed locally at Coworth Park and met up with our son for lunch. Arrived at 16.00 'ish so no trouble getting seated although still populated by families with young children. Interior has not changed for some time not and could be brighter inside. Service was good but when we ordered, no camembert starter, no chorizo chicken (why not, these are basic kitchen foods!), so had to settle for bangers and mash. Bit naff really. Should have stayed at Coworth and eaten in the Barn. The location at Virginia Water is excellent and the owners are spoilt by having so much trade from those Viking for walks etc so I think they only try as hard as they have to.

Room Tip: If you are out walking with the kids this is perfect for a pub scoff, if you prefer something that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swaylands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Virginia Water hotels

grubbos-revenge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The staff were sort of friendly, but could do with brushing up on their service skills. The standard double room I was very small, disappointingly. The place needs a bit of an updated refurb - it looks quite tired and could do with being a bit more modern or more classic. At the moment it's just neither and lacks any personality. Dinner was lovely, I recommend the food, but that's a general standard anyway with a chef and brewer. The outside could do with a lick of paint and being a bit brighter. It looks a bit old and tired again on approach.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grubbos-revenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here for several nights. It is very close to royal holloway university. Hotel is based 200 meters from Virginia water lake, and almost stays in Windsor great park.
Very friendly and welcome staff. Rooms are clean and quite big by English standards.
Hotel has very good restaurant. Good food and selection of wine
Would recommend for a stay if you are around

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexey2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night after visiting our daughter, it was good value for the price we paid. The staff were very welcoming and the room was nice, not much of a view though and a creaky floor. The bed was very big and comfortable, nice bath and excellent shower. We ate in the restaurant which was typical pub food but alright.
We decided to have breakfast and hoped it would keep us going on our long drive home, but were disappointed by the quantity and choice for the price, although the hot meal was freshly cooked, the coffee was much too strong to drink.
It was easy to find and good parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Room and bathroom very basic and in need of re decorating, air con leaking ,went to complain in morning and all doors locked only after hours night entrance open and that exit smelled terrible very disappointed and not worth the money

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walker13761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Wheatsheaf Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear walker13761, thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. Your comments were a concern to hear and I would like to investigate your visit further with the Management Team of the pub. I have sent you a direct message to discuss this further and look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind Regards, Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virginia Water
1.8 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Royal Berkshire Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sunninghill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Savannah Bed & Breakfast
Savannah Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Virginia Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
2.1 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
3.1 mi away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatsheaf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatsheaf Hotel

Property: Wheatsheaf Hotel
Address: London Road, Virginia Water GU25 4QF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Virginia Water
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Virginia Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wheatsheaf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wheatsheaf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatsheaf Hotel Virginia Water, UK - Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing